Discovery Search from Ovid Discovery is a one-stop tool that searches across most of the DoH Library's online resources including journal articles, e-books, and evidence based medicine resources such as Cochrane and TRIP. Note that there are still some refinements to be made, and some minor glitches, but nothing that would effect its use. More information can be found here
Search for books, e-books & print & electronic journal titles
The Data Warehouse Lifecycle Toolkit by 
Evidence-Based Public Health by
The acclaimed textbook for navigating the practice and challenges of public health, now updated and completely revised.The practice of public health would be easier if all the decisions could just be based on science. The reality, of course, is that many choices have to account for short-term demands, meaning that some policies and programs are rooted in anecdotal evidence or limited resources. In these circumstances, an evidence-based approach - emphasizing available data and analytics while leveragingindividual skills and an optimized organizational climate - is a public health practitioner's best tool for effective decision making. This fully revised and updated edition Evidence-Based Public Health offers an essential primer on how to choose, carry out, and evaluate evidence-based programs and policies in public health settings. It addresses not only how to locate and utilize scientific evidence, but also how to implement andevaluate interventions in a way that generates new evidence. Practical topics covered in this light include:* conducting community assessment* developing an initial statement of issue (and quantifying it)* using scientific literature and systematic reviews* creating an action plan and implementing interventions* evaluating programs and policies An indispensable volume for professionals, students, and researchers in the public health sciences and preventive medicine, this newly updated edition of the classic textbook empowers readers to identify and apply the most compelling evidence available.
New Health Technologies : Managing Access, Value and Sustainability
The Palgrave International Handbook of Healthcare Policy and Governance by Please browse the Library's subscription e-book collections below. You can also search for e-book titles using the Library Catalogue or Ebooks A-Z
This link opens in a new windowBelow are some open access e-book collections available to browse
Social, Indigenous and Cultural Perspectives in Health Care: NNT1107 is a custom publication that has been created specifically for students in the School of Nursing and Midwifery, studying NNT1107: Social, Indigenous and Cultural Perspectives in Health Care at Edith Cowan University.
This book studies the sociology of health and medicine across three different countries, the USA, UK and Australia, examining the nature of disciplines and their specialties and posing sociological questions about the formation of intellectual fields and their social relations.
The Australian Health Care System 5th edition is a comprehensive and forward-looking overview of the structure and operation of health systems and services in Australia. It analyses how the inputs of Australian health services, such as finances, the health workforce, and the roles of state and federal government influence the outcomes, which range from consumer confidence to policy changes.
Public health in the early 21st century increasingly considers how social inequalities impact on individual health, moving away from the focus on how disease relates to the individual person. This 'new public health' identifies how social, economic and political factors affect the level and distribution of individual health, through their effects on individual behaviours, the social groups people belong to, the character of relationships to others and the characteristics of the societies in which people live.
5th ed.
Provides a highly-illustrated, visual introduction to the key concepts of population-level disease prevention. Accessible, double-page spreads help you understand and appreciate the determinants of health which impact on healthcare services and their effectiveness. Public Health and Epidemiology at a Glance features high-yield information on all the topics covered at medical school, including: Measurement of population health Epidemiological concepts of cause and association, surveillance, and risk Use of epidemiology in clinical decision-making Epidemiology of major health problems such as cardiovascular disease and cancer Health promotion Basics of health economics Basics of health policy, needs assessment, and evaluation
Epidemiology 2nd edition is a methodological and practical guide to conducting evidence-based quantitative research in all health sciences. With a multidisciplinary focus, it integrates a wealth of case studies and examples to demonstrate the application of theory to real-life research and draws from a broad spectrum of health disciplines.The book follows a two level 'methods based' approach which clearly differentiates between introductory knowledge that all students of epidemiology should be familiar with and "beyond the basics" information for the interested or more advanced reader.
Australian Anti-infection Handbook (AAH) presents a comprehensive view on various infectious diseases and provides a compact guide for the management of infections. To find an infection or a pathogen, to know what tests are needed for diagnosis or what antimicrobials should be chosen for the treatment - all at the finger tips.
Communicable diseases are major global health concerns that can devastate whole populations. This revised and updated textbook examines communicable diseases at the community level from an epidemiological perspective, covering both theory and practice in a systematic and globally comprehensive overview of communicable diseases and their control. It includes expanded coverage of epidemiology and clinical aspects, many summary tables and coverage of both developed and developing countries from tuberculosis and malaria to bioterrorism and hospital infections, drawing on the author's personal experience of working in many global locations.
In this third edition of Manual of Travel Medicine, Australasian healthcare professionals will continue to find the information and advice they need to care for travellers.
The Manual is structured as follows:
principles of pre-travel healthcare; immunisation; prevention and management of malaria; prevention and management of travellers’ diarrhoea; specific infectious and non-infectious conditions; travellers with specific needs; and health issues in returned travellers.
A unique practical guide to the practice of public health on a day-to-day basis. A simple, easy accessible book on basic public health skills. The book is a first resort for all those in training. Relevant to a graduate level public health professional in training working in an organisation which has responsibility for the health of a defined population.
This book identifies key social policy concepts and explores their relevance for health and welfare policy, and for the practice of professionals such as nurses and social workers who are involved in the delivery of services and provision. The text adopts an ideologies of welfare approach using examples of recent policy shifts to illustrate theoretical and political tensions. This shift in emphasis away from the traditional approach of documenting policy areas is an important feature of the book.
Managing Change is about implementing health care reforms, policies and programs into everyday practices. The aim of the contributed chapters are two-fold; firstly to explore organizational change in health care as influenced by contemporary policy and management concepts, and secondly to present and apply theoretical perspectives that create new insights into implementation processes, and the hard work of managing change.
Featuring new expert contributing authors from across the country, this timely revision addresses all the important topics in the effective management of public health departments and agencies. Using a practical, nontheoretical approach, the book is ideal for the hands-on management of these complex organizations and their daily operations.
There is a secret inside healthcare, and it's this: We can do healthcare for a lot less money. The only way to do that is to do it a lot better. We know it's possible because it is happening now. In pockets and branches across healthcare, people are receiving better healthcare for a lot less. Some employers, states, tribes, and health systems are doing healthcare a little differently. Healthcare Beyond Reform: Doing It Right for Half the Cost explains how this new kind of healthcare is not about rationing and cutbacks. It's not about getting less, it's about getting more. Getting better and friendlier healthcare, where you need it, when you need it.
A fully updated edition of this practical guide to managing projects from start to finish in the health and community services environments.
2nd ed. Provides an essential introduction for students and professionals who wish to understand the basic concept of evaluation which is essential to health promotion study and practice. A practical guide for different research designs and evaluation methods, offering critical assessment of the strengths and weaknesses of each.
Monday - Friday 8.00am - 4.00pm (excluding public holidays) (08) 9222 4352 doh.library@health.wa.gov.au
