Department of Health Library: Where to Search

A comprehensive full-text database covering all aspects of health policy and related issues, useful for those staff involved in the creation, implementation, or study of health policy and health care systems.

MEDLINE is the U.S. National Library of Medicine® (NLM) premier bibliographic database that contains more than 22 million references to journal articles in life sciences with a concentration on biomedicine

Australian, New Zealand & Asia Pacific focus. Searches across these databases: AMI (Aust. Medical Index), APAIS-Health, ATSIhealth (Aboriginal & Torres Strait Islander), AusportMed, CINCH-Health (Criminial Justice), Drug, HIVA (HIV/AIDS), Health & Society, Health Collection, RURAL (Rural & Remote)

Citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books as well as citations for In-process and ahead of print articles. This link uses the Library's PubMed filter. It will link you to the full-text of items if available via the Library's journal subscriptions

This database offers reliable, comprehensive full-text coverage of the fields of nursing and allied health including journals, clinical training videos, dissertations, reference books and evidence-based resources. Content from CultureGrams World and Province Editions provide cultural reports that lead to a better understanding of diverse patients.

MEDLINE is the U.S. National Library of Medicine® (NLM) premier bibliographic database that contains more than 22 million references to journal articles in life sciences with a concentration on biomedicine

Australian, New Zealand & Asia Pacific focus. Searches across these databases: AMI (Aust. Medical Index), APAIS-Health, ATSIhealth (Aboriginal & Torres Strait Islander), AusportMed, CINCH-Health (Criminial Justice), Drug, HIVA (HIV/AIDS), Health & Society, Health Collection, RURAL (Rural & Remote)

Citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books as well as citations for In-process and ahead of print articles. This link uses the Library's PubMed filter. It will link you to the full-text of items if available via the Library's journal subscriptions

Covers all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. GreenFILE covers the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology.

A major biomedical and pharmaceutical database. Fields covered include drug research, pharmacology, toxicology, clinical & experimental human medicine. More than 6 million records and indexes 2,900 journals NOT covered in MEDLINE

MEDLINE is the U.S. National Library of Medicine® (NLM) premier bibliographic database that contains more than 22 million references to journal articles in life sciences with a concentration on biomedicine

Poisons information database containing current, concise and reliable recommendations on the management of poisoning from over 190,000 listed chemical products, pharmaceuticals, plants and hazardous creatures. This resource is continually reviewed and rapidly expanding to accommodate more information.

A resource from Safe Work Australia, an Australian Government statutory agency. The database contains GHS (Globally Harmonised System of Classification and Labelling of Chemicals) classifications for over 4,500 chemicals as well as a comprehensive database of Australian workplace exposure standards

This resource from the US government agency ATSDR provides An A-Z listing of specific substances, toxicological information by health effect or chemical class

The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making, both clinical and economic

PDQ (“pretty darn quick”)-Evidence facilitates rapid access to the best available evidence for decisions about health systems. It includes systematic reviews, broad syntheses of reviews (including evidence-based policy briefs), primary studies included in systematic reviews and structured summaries of that evidence.
The archive version of PDQ-Evidence will remain available until at least December 2024.
New systematic reviews records relevant to decisions about health systems continue to be added to the Epistemonikos Database

Search our 10,008 quality-rated systematic reviews evaluating the effectiveness and cost-effectiveness of public health interventions. Developed and maintained by the National Collaborating Centre for Methods and Tools (NCCMT), and McMaster University, Ontario, Canada.

Community Preventive Services Task Force, CDC, US Govt. Systematic reviews are used to answer these questions. :
Which program and policy interventions have been proven effective?
Are there effective interventions that are right for my community?
What might effective interventions cost; what is the likely return on investment?

In an effort to consolidate similar resources and make information easier to find, the National Library of Medicine retired its PubMed Health website on October 31, 2018. It continues to provide the same or similar content through more widely used NLM resources, namely PubMed, MedlinePlus, and Bookshelf.

PubMed Health content falls into two general categories: consumer health resources and systematic reviews/comparative effectiveness research (CER). A similar range of consumer health information to that in PubMed Health is available from NLM’s MedlinePlus, while the systematic reviews and CER in PubMed Health are searchable through PubMed, which links to the full text (when available) in Bookshelf, journals, and/or PubMed Central.

Allows you to conduct a scoped PubMed search limiting results to clinical study, systematic reviews or medical genetics

Combines the best of Evidence-Based Health Care, information technologies and a network of experts to provide a unique tool for people making decisions concerning clinical or health-policy questions.

Physiotherapy Evidence Database. PEDro has been informing physiotherapy practice for over 25 years. It is a free database of over 62,000 trials, reviews and guidelines evaluating physiotherapy interventions.

OTseeker is a database that contains abstracts of systematic reviews, randomised controlled trials and other resources relevant to occupational therapy interventions. Most trials have been critically appraised for their validity and interpretability.

Developed by The Lowitja Institute, this filter provides a scoped PubMed database search on Australian Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander health

Trip is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care . Searches across a wide range of evidence-based services such as PubMed, premier on-line journals such as BMJ & JAMA, Cochrane, Clinical Guideline portals, DynaMed & more

A 'one-stop info-shop' that aims to contribute to 'closing the gap' in health between Indigenous and other Australians by providing the evidence base to inform practice and policy in Indigenous health. Kurongkurl Katitjin, Centre for Indigenous Australian Education and Research, Edith Cowan University

The Closing the Gap allows you to search for a community (or other location) and access regional level statistics on and related to the Closing the Gap targets. You can use the dashboard to compare regions and look at trends over time, where possible. Provided by AIHW.

From the US National Rehabilitation Information Center. NB: This searches US rehab information only. For international (non-US) material please use CIRRIE's Database of International Rehabilitation Research.

CareSearch is an online resource designed to help those needing relevant and trustworthy information and resources about palliative care

An open access international tertiary education research database relating to workforce needs, skills development and social inclusion. VOCEDplus is produced by the National Centre for Vocational Education Research (NCVER), based in Adelaide, Australia. VOCEDplus is funded by Australian Commonwealth, State and Territory Governments and is endorsed by the UNESCO-UNEVOC International Centre in Bonn, Germany.

Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) is a comprehensive, easy-to-use, searchable, Internet-based bibliographic and full-text database of education research and information. It is sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences within the U.S. Department of Education.