Dept of Health Library: Department of Health Library: General Reference

Dictionaries

National Health Data Dictionary 2015
The National Health Data Dictionary (NHDD), provides national standards for the broader health sector. This version (Version 16.2) reflects changes to data standards between July 2013 and June 2014.

Macquarie Dictionary and Thesaurus This link opens in a new window
The Macquarie Dictionary Online is updated annually, making it the most up-to-date Australian dictionary and thesaurus available.

Western Australian Legislation
Acts and subsidiary legislation of Western Australia

WA Health Regulations
Federal Register of Legislation
The Federal Register of Legislation (the Legislation Register) is the authorised whole-of-government website for Commonwealth legislation and related documents.
Australasian Legal Information Institute (Austlii)
Austlii publishes public legal information -- primary legal materials (legislation, treaties and decisions of courts and tribunals); and secondary legal materials created by public bodies for purposes of public access (law reform and royal commission reports for example) and a substantial collection of law journals.

Stedman's Medical Dictionary
ISBN: 9780781733908
Publication Date: 2016
28th Edition

i2i Standards This link opens in a new window
This is the new standards site from SAI Global. New users will need to register. Please select “Health Department of WA” from the top two drop-downs on the second tab.
IMPORTANT: Usage is restricted to one concurrent user when viewing or downloading standards. If you cannot view or download a standard, please try again later.

Australasian Health Facility Guidelines
The Australasian Health Facility Guidelines (AusHFG) provide information to assist health services and design teams to plan and design health facilities.
more...less...
The AusHFG are an initiative of the Australasian Health Infrastructure Alliance (AHIA). The AusHFG enable planners and designers of health facilities throughout Australasia to use a common set of guidelines and specifications for the base elements of health facilities. The use of the AusHFG offers the following benefits:
• Australasian best-practice approach to health facility planning;
• access to standard spatial components; and
• a flexible tool responsive to changes in the delivery of health care.
National Construction Code of Australia
The National Construction Code (NCC) sets out the requirements for the design and construction of a building in Australia, including plumbing and drainage. It sets the minimum required level for the safety, health, amenity, accessibility and sustainability of certain buildings. It can be read online (free registration required) or downloaded as PDFs
more...less...
Note: NCC 2022 is the current edition. It was adopted by States and Territories from 1 May 2023.

West Australian
The Library does not subscribe to The West Australian newspaper.
You can register with Communications to receive daily media alerts.
The Communications Directorate monitors WA Health and health-related coverage in the mainstream media, including television, radio and newspapers.

Visit the Communications HealthPoint site (internal link only) to access current newspaper
clippings, or request a media search.