Dept of Health Library: Department of Health Library: Online database tutorials

PubMed search

Mostly text-based, but with some video tutorials

Ovid Searching

Includes:

Medline
Embase
PsycInfo
Ovid Emcare
Ovid Journals
Ovid Discovery search function

You may not be able to view these videos using the version of Chrome on DoH workstations. If you have any trouble, try using Internet Explorer.

Ovid Basic Search
This class covers all aspects of the Basic Search Mode in Ovid. A series of examples are used to demonstrate the effectiveness of the Basic Search function (this is not just for beginners but also for more advanced users). Natural Language, Related Terms and Relevancy are discussed in detail during this session.
Introduction to Medline on Ovid
The course will highlight the unique structure of this database (including MeSH and the Tree) and includes a detailed review of specific limits, fields and search tips for this resource.
Special Techniques in Medline on Ovid
Learn more about searching using the NLM’s Medical Subject Headings (MeSH), floating subheadings, and implementing specific limits such as clinical queries, MEDLINE, Publication types and Limits.
Introduction to EMBASE on Ovid
Course highlights the unique structure of this database (including Emtree and the Thesaurus) and includes a detailed review of specific limits, fields and search tips for this resource.
EMBASE Advanced Techniques on Ovid
Learn more about searching using Emtree, floating subheadings, and implementing specific limits such as clinical queries, MEDLINE, Publication types and conference materials.
PsychInfo on Ovid
This class highlights the unique structure of this database and includes a detailed review of specific limits, fields and search tips for this resource.
Introduction to Journals@Ovid
This course provides a detailed demonstration of Browsing and Searching Your Journals or All Ovid Journals, viewing HTML & PDF Full Text, working with graphics, and linking to resources.
Introduction to OVID TermFinder
Enhanced access to MESH, EMTREE and APA Thesaurus terms and keywords for in-depth research.
OVID Discovery Quick Reference Card
Quick tips on how to use OVID Discovery to search for articles or subjects.

ProQuest search

Elsevier Science Direct search

EBSCOhost search 2025

Includes

Health Policy Reference Center
GreenFILE
EJS (EBSCOhost Journals Service)

The 2025 EBSCOhost user interface features many improvements including personalized dashboards, modern result lists, enhanced displays, greater citing and sharing options, and enhanced detailed record and viewer experiences.

Watch the video below to find out more.

Department of Health Library: Online database tutorials

Overview

PubMed search

Ovid Searching

ProQuest search

Elsevier Science Direct search

EBSCOhost search 2025

Contact Us