Dept of Health Library: Department of Health Library: Journals & Articles

Library subscription databases & journal collections

ABI/Inform Collection This link opens in a new window
Business, Management and Trade - scholarly and trade journal articles, dissertations, market reports, industry reports, business cases and global and trade news.
The most comprehensive ABI/INFORM™ database, this comprises ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline. The database features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as the Economist, country-and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.
AUSThealth This link opens in a new window
Australian, New Zealand & Asia Pacific focus. Searches across these databases: AMI (Aust. Medical Index), APAIS-Health, ATSIhealth (Aboriginal & Torres Strait Islander), AusportMed, CINCH-Health (Criminial Justice), Drug, HIVA (HIV/AIDS), Health & Society, Health Collection, RURAL (Rural & Remote)
Coronavirus Research Database This link opens in a new window Including coverage of the COVID-19 outbreak, this database curates openly available content related to coronaviruses. It includes thousands of open-access articles from the world’s leading publishers as well as current research from pre-print repositories such as arXiv and will continue to grow and evolve as more is learned about the pandemic.
EMBASE This link opens in a new window
A major biomedical and pharmaceutical database. Fields covered include drug research, pharmacology, toxicology, clinical & experimental human medicine. More than 6 million records and indexes 2,900 journals NOT covered in MEDLINE
Emcare This link opens in a new window
Emcare covers all nursing specialties and nursing healthcare professions. It includes international coverage of allied health, education and training, development and management, midwifery, health and healthcare economics, clinical medical and healthcare social work, psychiatry and mental health, and traumatology, emergency and critical-care medicine.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Covers all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. GreenFILE covers the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology.
Health Collection This link opens in a new window
Supporting the professional practice of evidence-based treatment, Informit provides full-text access to Journals and books and reports covering key disciplines relevant to nursing, general, specialist and allied health. Australasian focus.
Health Policy Reference Center This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive full-text database covering all aspects of health policy and related issues, useful for those staff involved in the creation, implementation, or study of health policy and health care systems.
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts This link opens in a new window
This research database provides indexing and abstracting for key library and information science journals, books, research reports and more.
Indexes more than 600 core journals and more than 120 selective and priority journals. Coverage extends as far back as 1960.
Medline This link opens in a new window
MEDLINE is the U.S. National Library of Medicine® (NLM) premier bibliographic database that contains more than 22 million references to journal articles in life sciences with a concentration on biomedicine
Nursing & Allied Health Database This link opens in a new window
This database offers reliable, comprehensive full-text coverage of the fields of nursing and allied health including journals, clinical training videos, dissertations, reference books and evidence-based resources. Content from CultureGrams World and Province Editions provide cultural reports that lead to a better understanding of diverse patients.
Ovid Journals This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from a selection of Lippincott journals covering anesthesiology, cardiology, infectious disease, neurology, nursing, pathology and radiology.
APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
With more than 4 million bibliographic records centered on psychology and the behavioral and social sciences, the interdisciplinary content in APA PsycInfo® makes it one of the most highly utilized databases by students, researchers, educators, and practitioners worldwide.
Public Health Database This link opens in a new window
Designed to be the ideal starting point for public health information. It delivers core public health literature with centralized access to over 800 publications with over 500 in full-text contained in journals, news, trade publications, reports and 9,000 full-text dissertations cover important scholarly topics such as biostatistics, environmental health sciences, epidemiology, health services administration, international public health, maternal & child health, and occupational safety & health.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
The world's leading database of peer-reviewed, full-text scientific, technical and health literature. Physical Sciences, Life Sciences, Health Sciences, Social Sciences and Humanities. Limited full-text access to content available; it is dependent upon current Library subscriptions.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Discover and access the most comprehensive and trusted scientific data and insights with Web of Science, the world's leading platform for research and citation. It provides reference and citation data from peer-reviewed academic journals, conference proceedings, books and other documents in various academic disciplines including sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities.

Article lookup

BrowZine

BrowZine allows you to browse, read and follow thousands of the library’s scholarly journals available at browzine.com or from your Android and iOS mobile devices.

Built to compliment your searching needs, BrowZine provides a mechanism to keep track of your favorite journals and to learn about the new developments in your field. It also can allow you to easily see similar titles to the ones you are familiar with in order to broaden your knowledge of related scholarly literature.

Some useful subject areas to start with:

You can use BrowZine for journal content alerts on your desktop and Apple or Android device

To create a BrowZine Web account:

Go to BrowZine Web
Select My Bookshelf and create your own personal account

To add your favourite journals to My Bookshelf, use the search box or browse by subject (eg. Biomedical & Health Sciences)

To setup the BrowZine app:

Download the app from the iTunes Store or Google Play
Select WA Department of Health Library - Corporate Library from the list of Institutions
Login with your HE number and network password
Tap My Bookshelf and login to your personal account created on BrowZine Web

My Bookshelf will synchronise to your BrowZine Web account. Any changes you make will be synchronised to your bookshelf across the web and mobile devices

PubMed

PubMed This link opens in a new window
Citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books as well as citations for In-process and ahead of print articles. This link uses the Library's PubMed filter. It will link you to the full-text of items if available via the Library's journal subscriptions
PubMed Central (PMC) This link opens in a new window
A subset of the PubMed database that contains only full-text articles
PubMed Clinical Queries This link opens in a new window
Allows you to conduct a scoped PubMed search limiting results to clinical study, systematic reviews or medical genetics
Lit Search: a PubMed Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Search Filter This link opens in a new window
Developed by The Lowitja Institute, this filter provides a scoped PubMed database search on Australian Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander health
PHC Search Filter This link opens in a new window
A PubMed search filter which focuses on primary health care research and evidence, developed by the Primary Health Care Research Information Service, based at Flinders University, Adelaide

Google Scholar

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Using the Library's Google Scholar filter. This will link you to the full-text of items if available via the Library's journal subscriptions

Subject portals & databases

A selection of open access subject databases to assist you in your research. Not all content will be available in full-text, so please use the copy request form if required.

Australian Indigenous HealthInfoNet This link opens in a new window
A 'one-stop info-shop' that aims to contribute to 'closing the gap' in health between Indigenous and other Australians by providing the evidence base to inform practice and policy in Indigenous health. Kurongkurl Katitjin, Centre for Indigenous Australian Education and Research, Edith Cowan University
CareSearch (Aus) This link opens in a new window
CareSearch is an online resource designed to help those needing relevant and trustworthy information and resources about palliative care
Closing the Gap (Aus) This link opens in a new window
The Closing the Gap allows you to search for a community (or other location) and access regional level statistics on and related to the Closing the Gap targets. You can use the dashboard to compare regions and look at trends over time, where possible. Provided by AIHW.
Cost-Effectiveness Analysis (CEA) Registry This link opens in a new window
The Tufts Medical Center Cost-Effectiveness Analysis (CEA) Registry is a comprehensive database containing detailed information on over 10,000 cost-effectiveness analyses (CEA) that quantify health benefits in terms of quality-adjusted life-years (QALYs) or disability-adjusted life-years (DALYs).
ERIC This link opens in a new window
Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) is a comprehensive, easy-to-use, searchable, Internet-based bibliographic and full-text database of education research and information. It is sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences within the U.S. Department of Education.
LactMed This link opens in a new window
Contains information on drugs and other chemicals to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed. It includes information on the levels of such substances in breast milk and infant blood, and the possible adverse effects in the nursing infant.
NeuroBITE (Previously PsycBITE (Aus)) This link opens in a new window
NeuroBITE (previously PsycBITE) is a database that catalogues studies of cognitive, behavioural and other treatments for psychological problems and issues occurring as a consequence of acquired brain impairment (ABI). These studies are rated for their methodological quality, evaluating various aspects of scientific rigour.

The website gives clinicians, students and researchers free access to the NeuroBITE database, thus enabling you to search for articles which might be relevant for your clinical practice or your research in a time-efficient way.
Pulse+IT This link opens in a new window
Pulse+IT is Australasia’s leading voice in digital health news.
Launched in 2006 to assist GPs and Specialists to better understand the technology they confront in their practices, Pulse+IT now features an editorial platform and digital circulation that reflects the importance of holistic and comprehensive Health IT education and reporting.
RehabData This link opens in a new window
From the US National Rehabilitation Information Center. NB: This searches US rehab information only. For international (non-US) material please use CIRRIE's Database of International Rehabilitation Research.
TOXNET This link opens in a new window

Toxnet has moved
TOXNET was a suite of databases, produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM), covering toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health and toxic releases
As part of a broader NLM reorganization, most of NLM's toxicology information services have been integrated into other NLM products and services.. This link will take you to a guide to where the information can now be found.
VOCEDplus This link opens in a new window
An open access international tertiary education research database relating to workforce needs, skills development and social inclusion. VOCEDplus is produced by the National Centre for Vocational Education Research (NCVER), based in Adelaide, Australia. VOCEDplus is funded by Australian Commonwealth, State and Territory Governments and is endorsed by the UNESCO-UNEVOC International Centre in Bonn, Germany.

More databases & journal collections

A selection of commercial and open access databases to assist you in your research.

BioMed Central This link opens in a new window
A science, technology & medicine publisher with a large portfolio of open access journals. Original research titles are free access, review titles require a subscription
Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to thousands of high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.
**Now includes the Public Library of Science (PLOS)**
Open i This link opens in a new window
Open Access Biomedical Image Search Engine

There is limited full text access to the databases listed below, however individual articles can be requested using the Copy Request Form.

BMJ Journals Online This link opens in a new window
This collection provides high quality content for health professionals and researchers. It has some open access content.
HighWire Press This link opens in a new window
Free online full-text articles. Open access limited to journals published online with the assistance of HighWire press
JAMA Network This link opens in a new window
The JAMA Network brings JAMA together with the eleven JAMA specialty journals to offer enhanced access to the research, reviews, and perspectives shaping the future of medicine. See also "Collections" which contains an alpha list of collections of articles by topic
Taylor & Francis Online This link opens in a new window
A commercial journal platform with some open access content
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
A commercial publisher with some open access content

Finding peer reviewed articles

Health Policy Reference Center
Under 'Search Options' select 'Scholarly (Peer Reviewed) Journals'

Individual articles have a red 'Peer Reviewed' indicator, beneath the cover picture, on the left handside of the screen.

PsychInfo
Under 'Publication Type', limit to Peer-Reviewed Journal

Medline
MESH subject heading: Peer Review

Embase
MESH subject heading: Peer Review

Emcare
MESH subject heading: Peer Review

In both the basic and advanced search, tick the box next to the option 'Peer reviewed'.

Department of Health Library: Journals & Articles

Select a tab to perform a search

Library Catalogue

Full Text e-Journal Titles