Dept of Health Library: Department of Health Library: Medication resources

Core Medication Resources

AusDI
In 2024, the WA Health state-wide subscription to MIMS has been replaced by a subscription to AusDI. Includes Don't Rush to Crush.

AusDI is an independent source of drug and therapeutic information (Information) developed for Australian medical practitioners, pharmacists, nurses and other health care professionals. AusDI includes Complementary medicines and integrative therapies modules.
AHFS Drug Information
AHFS Drug Information® (AHFS® DI™) is a collection of drug monographs on virtually every single-drug entity available in the United States; information on various trademarked preparations and brands of a drug are contained in a single monograph.
Australian Immunisation Handbook
Provides clinical advice for health professionals on the safest and most effective use of vaccines in their practice. These recommendations are developed by Australian Technical Advisory Group on Immunisation (ATAGI) and approved by the National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC)
Australian Injectable Drugs Handbook (9th Edition)
Any updates to the physical Handbook will be included in the Publications Section of the SHPA website at www.shpa.org.au. To load screen ensure pop-ups, cookies and Java script are enabled. Use most current version of web browser.
Australian Medicines Handbook (AMH)
Australia's National Formulary. Includes AMH Children's Dosing Companion.
AMH Children's Dosing Companion
Updated electronically every six months, it contains over 200 drug monographs with evidence-based doses for children up to 18 years of age.
Australian Pharmaceutical Formulary and Handbook
The Australian Pharmaceutical Formulary and Handbook is a resource for pharmacists working in all practice settings, including community, hospital, embedded and consultant pharmacy roles. It is also a teaching tool and guide for pharmacy students, providing key information on many of the activities performed by pharmacists in daily practice. It supports the role of pharmacists in achieving medicine safety and contains practical, current and evidence-based information and guidance on a wide range of medicine- and pharmacy-specific topics, including dispensing, compounding, therapeutic management, and providing health information. 26th ed.
Choice and Medication© Printable Leaflets
The purpose of this webpage is to provide information about psychotropic medications to consumers and their carers and families who are receiving healthcare provided by the Health Services that are part of the WA Department of Health.
DRUGPOINTS® SYSTEM
Formulary One (internal access)
Western Australia’s Statewide Medicines Formulary. Use this link to connect from inside the WA Health network
Formulary One (remote access)
Western Australia’s Statewide Medicines Formulary. Use this link to connect from outside the WA Health network
Martindale: The Complete Drug Reference
Micromedex
Micromedex provides a range of comprehensive, evidence-based clinical decision support to enhance patient safety.
NPS MedicineWise
NPS MedicineWise is the steward for quality use of medicines and medical tests (generally abbreviated as QUM) in Australia and delivers on the QUM objectives of Australia’s National Medicines Policy.
As of 1 January 2023, the Australian Commission on Safety and Quality in Health Care (the Commission) is now responsible for several Quality Use of Medicines functions that were formerly delivered by NPS MedicineWise.
Pharmaceutical Benefits Scheme (PBS)
This website contains information on the Pharmaceutical Benefits Scheme including details of the medicines subsidised by the Australian Government as well as information for consumers, carers, health professionals and the pharmaceutical industry. The PBS is part of Australia’s broader National Medicines Policy.
Stockley's Drug Interactions
Therapeutic Guidelines
Refresh your page to ensure you have access to all the updates.

Toxicology

TOXINZ
Poisons information database containing current, concise and reliable recommendations on the management of poisoning from over 190,000 listed chemical products, pharmaceuticals, plants and hazardous creatures. This resource is continually reviewed and rapidly expanding to accommodate more information.
TOXNET

Toxnet has moved
TOXNET was a suite of databases, produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM), covering toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health and toxic releases
As part of a broader NLM reorganization, most of NLM's toxicology information services have been integrated into other NLM products and services.. This link will take you to a guide to where the information can now be found.
LactMed
Contains information on drugs and other chemicals to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed. It includes information on the levels of such substances in breast milk and infant blood, and the possible adverse effects in the nursing infant.
Clinicians Guide to Australian Venomous Bites & Stings
The purpose of this handbook is to educate and assist clinicians in the emergency management of cases of envenoming and in the appropriate use of antivenom therapy when clinically indicated.
This 2013 guide is an updated, comprehensive and practical handbook that presents current best practice in the management of envenoming in Australia.
Hazardous Substances Information System (HSIS) (Aus)
A resource from Safe Work Australia, an Australian Government statutory agency. The database contains GHS (Globally Harmonised System of Classification and Labelling of Chemicals) classifications for over 4,500 chemicals as well as a comprehensive database of Australian workplace exposure standards
Agency for Toxic Substances & Disease Registry (ATSDR) (US)
This resource from the US government agency ATSDR provides An A-Z listing of specific substances, toxicological information by health effect or chemical class
Livertox
LIVERTOX is a freely available website that provides up-to-date, comprehensive and unbiased information about drug induced liver injury caused by prescription and nonprescription drugs, herbals and dietary supplements. Content produced by the NIDDK and NLM in the USA.

Complementary & Alternative Medicine - Open Access

Medline Plus: Drugs, Herbs & Supplements
Browse dietary supplements and herbal remedies to learn about their effectiveness, usual dosage, and drug interactions.
About Herbs, Botanicals & Other Products
Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center’s About Herbs database, a tool for the public as well as healthcare professionals, can help you figure out the value of using common herbs and other dietary supplements.
National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health
The National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health (NCCIH) part of the National Institutes of Health, is the USA Federal Government’s lead agency for scientific research on the diverse medical and health care systems, practices, and products that are not generally considered part of conventional medicine. NCCIH was formerly known as the National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine.

Department of Health Library: Medication resources

Announcements

MIMS was Replaced by AusDI on January 1 2024

Core Medication Resources

Toxicology

Complementary & Alternative Medicine - Open Access

Contact Us