The library subscribes to many dental, medical, clinical, scientific journals. These are offered as an extensive online journal service for staff, as well as having many other organisations journals, newsletters and information packages in electronic and hard copy format.
The library also maintains sets of reference works (dictionaries, yearbooks and atlas) and a collection of reports from WA and Commonwealth Government health agencies. In general, reference works are not available for loan but may be consulted in the library.
The library has space for private research and a small number of computers set up for word processing and internet browsing, head-sets are available. A photocopier, scanner, DVD player and laser printer are also available.
My healthy teeth by
Introducing a beautifully presented new big book on oral health, written from a new empowering angle. Promoting healthy habits in early childhood such as good oral health is essential in establishing lifelong routines and wellbeing. Early education on food, drinks, hygiene and habits can continue long into adulthood, creating autonomy and achieving developmental goals during early childhood. In this book we explore what it means to be healthy inside and out and what we can do to promote health teeth in early childhood.
Chase's Loose Tooth! (PAW Patrol) by
Visit the dentist with Nickelodeon's PAW Patrol in this full-color storybook. Chase and Alex need to go to the dentist, but they're both a little worried. What will happen? Will it hurt? Join them and the rest of Nickelodeon's PAW Patrol as they visit the dentist and discover there's nothing to fear. This full-color storybook is perfect for girls and boys ages 3 to 7. Get on the case with the PAW Patrol! Chase, Marshall, Rubble, Skye, and the rest of the puppy heroes are on a mission to save their friends and protect the community of Adventure Bay using their paw-some vehicles, tools, and teamwork.
Law & ethics for health practitioners by
This text provides clear and succinct information that demystifies legal, ethical and regulatory principles and their implications for clinical practice. Accessible and easy to follow, the book provides a clear and concise introduction to the Australian legal and health systems, discussion of legal rules and regulations that govern health practice, and a guide to ethical principles, theories and approaches to support health practitioner decision making and practice. It is an essential resource presenting well-researched information in an easy-to-understand way, and practical guidance for health practitioners to apply the concepts discussed to their daily work. This book is ideal for students undertaking a law and ethics unit in any health or medical course, as well as being an excellent resource for health practitioners practising in areas ranging from medicine to nursing, dentistry, occupational therapy, physiotherapy, podiatry, psychology or any other allied health profession.
Stories in health communication: reflection.inquiry.action by
Effective communication is a prerequisite for safe and high-quality health care. Stories in Health Communication consists of a series of videos and accompanying text designed to support readers to develop their communication skills to pass their assessments and to communicate more effectively in practice. The Stories book includes 12 short videos demonstrating effective and ineffective interactions between health practitioners and individuals. Students are encouraged to first watch each video, then complete the related activities to develop their own understanding and competence. This book will help students critique different communication interactions, reflect on their own habits, consider new skills for communicating more effectively to different people in different settings, and then apply what they learn to practice.
Let's feed the family : practical nutrition information to learn how to plan, manage, select, prepare and eat healthy food, and make mealtimes stress-free by
A nutrition education book designed especially for parents or carers of young children aged 0-5 years. Not only does this booklet provide the ‘what’ to feed your children, it provides the ‘how’ including how to: introduce solids & teach children to eat create stress-free mealtimes
safely take food on the move read food labels and feed the whole family healthy food on a budget. It also contains practical ideas for snacks, lunchboxes and handy recipe builders to help you pull together a meal when you just don’t know where to start! Recommended for parents or carers of young children aged 0-5 years.
Anterior direct restorations by
This book about direct adhesive restorations of the anterior teeth is enriched with diagrams and drawings as teaching aids to simplify the clinical techniques described and guide the reader in applying them. The book explores the concepts essential for understanding shape, emphasizing its fundamental role in achieving esthetic success. Also covered are concepts related to colour, including materials with colour adjustment potential, and the necessary tools and instruments such as shade guides, methods of isolating the surgical field, and photographic equipment, to ensure the pre-dictable execution of esthetic restorations.
In addition, the diagnosis and treatment of white lesions (white spots), fragment reattachment procedures, anterior interproximal lesions, cervical lesions, and direct restorations on endodontically treated teeth (including whitening techniques) are included. Chapters focus on key concepts such as the reconstruction of the incisal edge, shape modification, direct veneering, and orthodontic techniques to achieve optimal results. The book concludes with a chapter on finishing and polishing techniques, fundamental procedures for enhancing restorative work.
Rapport by
'Laurence Alison is one of my academic heroes. He does what every writer longs to do. He makes the difficult clear - without losing his rigour.' Malcolm Gladwell 'They are quietly revolutionising the study and practice of interrogation... Their findings are changing the way law enforcement and security agencies approach the delicate and vital task of gathering human intelligence.' Guardian Get what you want from even the most difficult characters All of us have to deal with difficult people. Whether we're asking our neighbour to move a fence or our boss for a pay rise, we can struggle to avoid arguments and get what we want. Laurence and Emily Alison are world leaders in forensic psychology, and they specialise in the most difficult interactions imaginable- criminal interrogations. They advise and train the police, security agencies, the FBI and the CIA on how to deal with extremely dangerous suspects when the stakes are high. After 30 years' work - and unprecedented access to 2,000 hours of terrorist interrogations - they have developed a ground-breaking model of interpersonal communication. This deceptively simple approach to handling any encounter works as well for teenagers as it does for terrorists. Now it's time to share it with the world. Rapport reveals that every interaction follows four styles- Control (the lion), Capitulate (the mouse), Confront (the Tyrannosaur) and Co-operate (the monkey). As soon as you understand these styles and your own goals you can shape any conversation at will. And you'll be closer to the real secret- how to create instant rapport.
Oral anatomy, histology and embryology by
This popular textbook is designed to help students develop a deep understanding of these subjects to support their study and future clinical careers. Learning is made easy with clear diagrams, photographs and explanations. Now in its sixth edition, the book has been fully updated to incorporate latest developments in the field. It provides full coverage of topics including tooth morphology, functional anatomy, oro-dental histology, craniofacial and oral development and clinical considerations.
New to this edition
• New chapter on reparative and regenerative dentistry
• Memory maps to support learning
Head, neck, and orofacial infections: an interdisciplinary approach by
Providing full-colour coverage of best practices, this book, 2nd Edition, is an authoritative resource offering in-depth guidelines to the diagnosis and management of pathology due to severe infections. Comprehensive, evidence-based coverage presents both cutting-edge and time-tested approaches to recognizing and handling infections. From well-known academia and clinical educator James Hupp and accomplished surgeon Elie Ferneini, with chapters authored by expert contributors, this book is ideal for use as a clinical resource for a wide array of healthcare providers, as well as to prepare for licensure examination and board certification.
Ten cate's oral histology: development, structure, and function by
Gain a solid foundation in the structure and function of oral tissues with the definitive text in oral histology! This text, 10th Edition covers the latest research and thinking on general embryology, the development of the head (especially the structures in and around the mouth), oral anatomy, the structure of the tooth, salivary glands, the temporomandibular joint, and more. Clear explanations and full-colour photos, micrographs, drawings, and charts help you better understand even the most complex topics. Edited by noted educator Dr. Antonio Nanci and written with the collaboration of some notable experts, this renowned text also provides excellent preparation for the histology content in the INDBE exam.
Dentistry for kids by 
Library Administration Officer
Sophie Cartmall
Street Address
43 Mt Henry Road
SALTER POINT WA 6152
Postal Address
Locked Bag 15
BENTLEY DELIVERY CENTRE WA 6983
PH: +61 (08) 9313 0610
Opening hours: Monday, Wednesday & Friday 7.30-4.00
Email: DHS.Library@health.wa.gov.au
Becoming Bulletproof by
Former Secret Service agent and star of Bravo's Spy Games Evy Poumpouras shares lessons learned from protecting presidents, as well insights and skills from the oldest and most elite security force in the world to help you prepare for stressful situations, instantly read people, influence how you are perceived, and live a more fearless life. Becoming Bulletproof means transforming yourself into a stronger, more confident, and more powerful person. Evy Poumpouras--former Secret Service agent to three presidents and one of only five women to receive the Medal of Valor--demonstrates how we can overcome our everyday fears, have difficult conversations, know who to trust and who might not have our best interests at heart, influence situations, and prepare for the unexpected. When you have become bulletproof, you are your best, most courageous, and most powerful version of you. Poumpouras shows us that ultimately true strength is found in the mind, not the body. Courage involves facing our fears, but it is also about resilience, grit, and having a built-in BS detector and knowing how to use it. In Becoming Bulletproof, Poumpouras demonstrates how to heighten our natural instincts to employ all these qualities and move from fear to fearlessness.
Practical Periodontal Diagnosis and Treatment Planning by
Practical Periodontal Diagnosis and Treatment Planning Understand periodontal diseases and their treatment with this practical guide Practical Periodontal Diagnosis and Treatment Planning, Second Edition provides a fully up-to-date guide to the latest techniques, both surgical and non-invasive, for minimizing the impact of periodontal conditions. The Second Edition has been updated to reflect the new periodontal disease classification, thoroughly explaining the staging and grading system, comparing the new system to previous system, and discussing how to use the classification in everyday clinical practice. This essential step-by-step guide to integrating digital technologies in surgical implant therapy and prosthetic rehabilitations offers a thorough understanding of the concept of facial sculpture to complement and enhance intra-oral rehabilitation. The book takes an evidence-based approach to diagnosis and treatment, incorporating significant research and clinical experience to best reflect the needs of both patients and clinicians. Lavishly illustrated and including three new chapters covering novel disease classifications and cutting-edge treatments, this updated reference helps to develop clinical skills. Practical Periodontal Diagnosis and Treatment Planning includes: Complete information on the new periodontal disease classification A digital workflow for a smooth intraoral rehabilitation Practical instructions for periodontal procedures such as osseous resective surgery, regenerative and supportive periodontal therapy, dental implant complication management, and more Analysis of the use of Botox and dermal fillers as an alternative to surgical treatment and enhancement of appearance concomitant with dental treatments Discussion of periodontal disease presentations including occlusion, scaling, and root planing Practical Periodontal Diagnosis and Treatment Planning, Second Edition is an essential guide for periodontists, oral surgeons, and advanced students in dentistry, periodontics, and oral hygiene.