Behavior Management in Dentistry for Children by
Guiding patient behavior is as important as ever for the practicing dentist, and the behavior of pediatric patients is perhaps the most challenging to manage. Drs. Wright and Kupietzky here update Dr. Wright's classic work on managing pediatric dental patients. Behavior Management in Dentistry for Children,2nd Edition, has been entirely rewritten and includes the latest and most effective management strategies from an international team of experts in the field. The book addresses the influence of family and parenting styles on children's behavior and the factors that determine how children behave in the dental office. Pharmacological and non-pharmacological management techniques are described in depth, as are techniques for dealing with special needs patients. Clinical scenarios are described throughout the book, with practical application of the taught principles. The final part of the book covers the dental environment-training office personnel to manage children's behavior, practical considerations for behavior guidance, and the effects of the physical dental office environment. Behavior Management in Dentistry for Children,2nd Edition, is ideal for pediatric residents, dental students, and practicing dentists who see children on a regular basis.
Dental Fear and Anxiety in Pediatric Patients by
This book is a comprehensive guide to pediatric dental fear/anxiety (DFA) and phobia that will provide practitioners with a full understanding of the etiology, prevalence, assessment, and management of these conditions. The coping styles of children when under stress are explored, with discussion of their relevance to the assessment visit and treatment allocation. Practical treatment techniques are comprehensively covered, from non-pharmacological behavioral strategies relevant for children with no or mild DFA to those approaches more appropriate for children with severe DFA/phobia. The importance of the use of language and communication skills to build rapport and allay anxiety is explored. Relaxation and hypnosis techniques are described, with guidance on how to introduce these to patients and their parents/carers. Techniques that help children cope when receiving injections are detailed, including systematic needle desensitization ; these provide practitioners with options to help resolve DFA and phobia regarding needles. Intravenous sedation, including the challenge of cannulation, is covered comprehensively. Furthermore, cognitive behavioral therapy is presented, with suggestion of practical self-help material when appropriate. The closing chapter looks to the future, discussing the barriers to and the changes required for the creation of more child-centered DFA services.
Oral Pathology in the Pediatric Patient by
This book is a practical, user-friendly guide to the clinical diagnosis and treatment of the oral mucosal lesions most frequently encountered in pediatric patients. For each entity, a characteristic clinical photograph is provided, the clinical appearance is concisely described, and guidance is offered on differential diagnosis and treatment options. Oral indications of systemic diseases are addressed in a separate section, and mucosal indicators of drug use, sexual abuse, and eating disorders are also identified. Oral lesions are a relatively common occurrence in the pediatric population. Fortunately, most of these lesions are transient and can be diagnosed clinically; examples include aphthous ulcers, traumatic ulcers, and lesions of infectious etiology such as viral lesions and candidiasis. There are also a number of mucosal lesions, such as mucoceles and viral papillomas, that require biopsy for diagnosis and/or surgical excision for treatment. This book will assist the practitioner in diagnosing and treating both transient and persistent mucosal lesions.
Pedriatric Dentistry by
Pediatric Dentistry: A Clinical Approach, Third Edition provides a uniquely clear, comprehensive, and clinical approach to the dental treatment of children and adolescents. Offers systematic coverage of all clinical, scientific and social topics relating to pediatric dentistry Thoroughly revised and updated new edition, with an increased focus on evidence based care Includes three new chapters on genetics, child abuse and neglected children, and ethics Pedodontic endodontics is now covered by two chapters - one on primary teeth and one on young permanent teeth Features a companion website with interactive self-assessment questions
Primary Tooth Development in Infancy by
Primary Tooth Development in Infancy: A Text and Atlas describes the initial phase of human dentition. It includes more than 1,500 photographs of fetal and infant teeth up to the age of one year. The book presents each step in the developmental phases in photographs accompanied by concise explanatory text. The teeth are photographed from six differ
Anomalies of the Developing Dentition by
This book is an up-to-date, succinct, and easily accessible reference on the diverse anomalies that may arise in the developing dentition, including those relating to crown size and shape, tooth formation, tooth eruption, tooth number, and enamel and dentin formation. For each anomaly, information is provided on clinical and radiographic features, etiology, and management. Attention is also drawn to clinically relevant associations among anomalies. The inclusion of numerous high-quality photographs and images will assist the practitioner in establishing the correct diagnosis in each patient and in understanding the rationale for specific interventions. The book will also facilitate discussion of the anomaly with the caregiver or patient, including with respect to genetic and other implications and the appropriate treatment path. Anomalies of the Developing Dentition is an excellent clinical guide to the subject that will aid in timely identification and appropriate management. It will meet the needs of students and practitioners in multiple disciplines of both medicine and dentistry.
McDonald and Avery's Dentistry for the Child and Adolescent by
You can count on McDonald: the go-to source for expert, complete coverage of oral care for infants, children, and teenagers for over half a century. McDonald and Avery’s Dentistry for the Child and Adolescent, 10th Edition discusses pediatric examination, development, morphology, eruption of the teeth, and dental caries in depth — and emphasizes prevention and the treatment of the medically compromised patient. Boasting a new design and handy Evolve site, this new edition by Jeffrey A. Dean equips you with the latest diagnostic and treatment recommendations in the fast-growing field of pediatric dentistry.
Pediatric Dentistry: Infancy through Adolescence by
Provide superior oral and dental care to children of all ages! Pediatric Dentistry: Infancy through Adolescence Expert Consult, 6th Edition provides comprehensive coverage of oral care for infants, children, teenagers, and medically compromised pediatric patients. Organized by age group, the text covers examination, diagnosis, and treatment planning, as well as topics such as the prevention of dental disease, traumatic injuries, orthodontics, and restorative dentistry. From a team of accomplished authors and contributors led by Arthur J. Nowak, this edition includes a new Expert Consult website featuring case studies and procedural videos along with a fully searchable version of the text.
Clinical Cases in Pediatric Dentistry by 
Contemporary treatment techniques in Pediatric Dentistry by 
Dentistry for Kids by
"This book offers professional and practical tips on communicating with parents and sets out to illustrate the responsibility involved in treating children"--
Handbook of Pediatric Dentistry E-Book by
The new edition of this internationally recognised text offers comprehensive guidance on the successful management of the child in the dental setting. Prepared by authors of international renown, the Handbook of Paediatric Dentistry presents a volume that takes the reader far beyond the technical skills that are needed to treat disorders of the childhood dentition and instead delivers a whole philosophy of integrative patient care. Richly illustrated and in full colour throughout, the Handbook of Paediatric Dentistry is written in a friendly 'how to' manner and contains useful 'pull out' boxes to act as useful aide-mémoires. Exploring a variety of topics, the book includes discussion of child development, practical communication skills and advice on how to deal with behavioural problems. Clinical topics include the management of caries, fluoridation, restorative dentistry, pulp therapy, trauma management, oral medicine and pathology, dental anomalies, and the treatment of medically compromised children. Chapters also explore the use of orthodontics, the management of cleft lip and palate and speech, language and swallowing. The Handbook of Paediatric Dentistry has become an essential chairside and bedside companion for all practitioners caring for children and is suitable for undergraduate dental students, general dental practitioners, specialist paediatric dentists, orthodontists and paediatricians. Established as the foremost available comprehensive handbook on paediatric dentistry Prepared in an 'easy-to-digest' fashion - which allows for quick reference and easy reading Contains over 550 full colour line artworks, photographs and tables together with 'Clinical Hints' boxes to act as useful aide-mémoires Sets out the essentials for managing conditions such as clefting disorders, haematological and endocrine disorders, congenital cardiac disease, disorders of metabolism, organ transplantation and cancer in children as well as more familiar presentations such as dental trauma, oral infections and caries Detailed appendices provide the reader with information that is often difficult to find and which may be overlooked Designed specifically to give all practitioners confidence when managing children Convenient handbook size ensures that the book can be easily referred to in the clinical setting Endorsed by the Australasian Academy of Paediatric Dentistry ~ Improved layout and completely new colour illustrations Expanded section on sedation and use of nitrous oxide Includes details from the most recent international guidelines Cases expanded to show 20 year follow-up Includes the latest research findings in orthodontics Fully updated section on clefting problems
PAEDIATRIC DENTISTRY FOR THE GENERAL DENTAL PRACTITIONER by
This book is a practical, comprehensive guide to the management of children and adolescents in general dental practice. A logical, evidence-based approach to oral health is adopted throughout. The commonly encountered oral and dental problems and their diagnosis and treatment are covered in detail, with particular attention to dental caries, dental trauma, developmental anomalies, periodontal problems, and soft tissue conditions. Up-to-date guidance is provided on history taking, dental examination, preventive strategies and advanced behaviour management. In addition the relevance of common medical conditions to dental management is discussed. The book is divided into four sections, each of which focusses on a specific age group, helping the reader to relate clinical issues to the different dental developmental stages. The readily understandable text is supported by many informative colour illustrations and diagrams.
Handbook of Clinical Techniques in Pediatric Dentistry by
The Second Edition of the Handbook of Clinical Techniques in Pediatric Dentistry features updated and expanded information on pediatric clinical dentistry, including eight new chapters written by educators with special interest in each topic. Since publication of the first edition, non-invasive treatment is at the forefront of pediatric dental care, and the new edition reflects this, with multiple options and techniques for non-invasive treatment. The book is filled with photographs for improved understanding and guidance through the procedures described. The book is an easy-to-read guide to clinical pediatric dentistry with practical evidence-based information for dental students, assistants, hygienists, residents in both general dentistry and specialty training, and general and pediatric dentists. Handbook of Clinical Techniques in Pediatric Dentistry is a valuable resource for assuring excellence in care for our youngest patients. Key Features Presents step-by-step clinical instruction for pediatric procedures Features eight new chapters, including non-invasive clinical techniques, trauma to primary incisors, caries-risk assessment, oral pathology, interceptive orthodontics, esthetics, sleep disordered breathing, infant examination, and treating the special needs patient Offers more than 600 clinical and radiographic photographs Provides practical information and guidance for clinical practice in pediatrics
PEDIATRIC DENTISTRY by
This textbook provides dental practitioners and students with all the knowledge required in order to treat optimally the oral conditions encountered in children and adolescents and to offer appropriate guidance on subsequent oral health self-care. The opening chapters are designed to assist readers in providing empathic care on the basis of a sound understanding of the processes of physical and psychological maturation. The use of sedation and anesthesia is then discussed, followed by detailed information on such key topics as tooth eruption and shedding, preventive and interceptive orthodontics, and control of dental caries. Restoration procedures and pulp treatment necessitated by dental caries, trauma and/or developmental anomalies are clearly described, with reference to relevant advances in dental technology and materials. Subsequent chapters focus on conditions compromising dental or general oral health in the pediatric age group, such as periodontal diseases, dental wear, dental anomalies, TMJ disorders, and soft tissue lesions. The book concludes by examining treatment approaches in children and adolescents with disabilities, syndromes, chronic diseases, craniofacial abnormalities, and generally advocating children centered dentistry as it affects their quality of life.
CONTEMPORARY ENDODONTICS FOR CHILDREN AND ADOLESCENTS by
This book equips dental practitioners with all the information required in order to ensure successful endodontic treatment of children and adolescents. It describes pulp therapy from a holistic approach that highlights new developments in the field. Readers will find updates on the formation, structure and function of the dental pulp revealed by the latest single-cell technologies, and discussions on carious lesions and their impact on the pulp. The book examines clinical considerations in the decision to perform pulp treatment and emphasizes the need to integrate pupal diagnostics with patient-dependent factors such as behavior management and pulpal pain mechanisms. The second part of the book includes comprehensive descriptions of current treatments for each type of caries-inflicted tooth damage, from selective caries removal through direct pulp capping, pulpotomy, pulpectomy and root canal therapy for primary dentition to direct pulp capping and endodontic treatment of young permanent teeth. Traditional and new pulp-treatment materials are described as are the techniques and materials used to restore both primary and young permanent teeth. The book summarizes innovative biological approaches for pulp regeneration such as the use of stem cells. It is a must have for dental students, endodontists, pediatric dentists and general dentists with an interest in the subject.
ORAL AND MAXILLOFACIAL SURGERY IN CHILDREN by
Surgery is always planned in three dimensions, but for pediatric patients, the fourth dimension—growth—is instrumental in proper treatment planning. In this book, experts in the fields of pediatric oral and maxillofacial surgery describe how to perform operations with this parameter in mind. The book covers congenital and syndromic facial deformities as well as acquired conditions, benign and malignant tumors, and trauma. All ages from neonates to adolescents are included, with a special focus on appropriate timing for surgery, taking into consideration anatomical functionality and the psychosocial well-being of the patient. Intrasurgical photographs and detailed illustrations complement the text, showing procedures step by step and providing long-term follow-up for actual cases. Anatomical areas include not only the oral cavity, mandible, and midface but the ears, eyes, TMJs, and skull, and additional locations for bone and tissue graft harvesting are also discussed. This text will be an indispensable guide for anyone who performs oral and maxillofacial surgery on growing individuals.
Restorative techniques in paediatric dentistry: an illustrated guide to conventional and contemporary approaches by
One of the first books on the market to illustrate the various clinical techniques for restoration, this revised and updated new edition offers new material on treatment planning, local analgesia, biomaterials, biological and contemporary approaches, and aesthetic crowns. The book addresses the specific needs of the paediatric patient and helps the clinician manage the restoration with those needs in mind. As a classic volume, it is essential for every dentist working with children and adolescent patients.
The Pediatric Chairside Instructor by
The Pediatric Chairside Instructor: A Visual Guide to Children's Oral Health walks caregivers through the basics of what they need to know to keep their little ones' mouths healthy. Using a variety of clinical images, illustrations, and infographics, this book is easy to read and understand and can be used to explain a range of conditions and treatments to patients and their caregivers. It includes 29 topics that cover tooth development, prevention and diagnosis, dental conditions and treatments, oral health, and orthodontics. It can also be used to teach dental hygiene or dental assisting students to identify signs and symptoms and discuss treatment options with patients. Includes: 80 photos, illustrations, and infographics for easy understanding 29 topics, including tooth development, teething, fluoride, sealants, treating cavities in baby teeth, children's airways, and vaping Laminated pages for wipe-clean care
Dental Emergencies by
Dental emergencies are common and require rapid response. Order today and keep readily accessible in your dental practice! Filled with clinical examples and step-by-step procedures, Dental Emergencies covers the full range of both common and complex traumatic injuries, pain, and oral lesions. From clinical examination and assessment of potential complications to key considerations in pain management, acute oral medical and surgical conditions, restorative emergencies, treating special needs patients, and beyond, you get a comprehensive reference that: distills essential information on dental emergencies offers succinct, practical instruction for immediate treatment highlights conditions for referral and much more!
Diagnosing Dental and Orofacial Pain by
Diagnosing Dental and Orofacial Pain: A Clinical Manual approaches a complex topic in a uniquely practical way. This text offers valuable advice on ways to observe and communicate effectively with patients in pain, how to analyze a patients' pain descriptions, and how to provide a proper diagnosis of orofacial pain problems that can arise from a myriad of sources--anywhere from teeth, joint and muscle pain, and paranasal sinuses to cluster headaches, neuralgias, neuropathic pain and viral infections. Helps the student and practitioner understand the diagnostic process by addressing the exact questions that need to be asked and then analyzing verbal and non-verbal responses to these Edited by experts with decades of clinical and teaching experience, and with contributions from international specialists Companion website provides additional learning materials including videos, case studies and further practical tips for examination and diagnosis Includes numerous color photographs and illustrations throughout to enhance text clarity
Traumatic Dental Injuries by
The third edition of Traumatic Dental Injuries: A Manual builds on the widespread success of the previous two editions. The ultimate guide to dental trauma, the manual preserves its uniquely usable and reader-friendly format, demonstrating step-by-step treatment protocols for commonly occurring traumatic injuries. Several new sections have been added to expand the number of clinical scenarios, describing soft tissue injuries associated with dental trauma, showing how decoronation of ankylosed anterior teeth in adolescents can preserve the alveolar process for later implant placement, and identifying predictors for pulpal and periodontal ligament healing complications as well as for tooth loss. A unique feature of the new edition is the accompanying DVD which presents computer animations of all trauma scenarios, as well as links to the internet-based interactive Dental Trauma Guide to predict healing complication for individual trauma scenarios. This title is also available as a mobile App from MedHand Mobile Libraries. Buy it now from Google Play or the MedHand Store.
Management of Dental Emergencies in Children and Adolescents by
A unique, multidisciplinary manual for the treatment of pediatric dental emergencies for general practitioners and non-pediatric specialists Management of Dental Emergencies in Children and Adolescents presents the diagnostic skills, treatment options, and management strategies necessary to provide effective and appropriate dental care for children and adolescents. This authoritative manual helps dental practitioners manage potentially stressful situations with children and adolescents while improving their competence in a wide range of urgent pediatric situations. An emphasis on managing the therapeutic demands of both younger patients and their parents enables readers to have greater confidence in handling demanding emergency situations in daily practice. An expert team of contributors explain how to manage tooth substance loss, endodontic problems in deciduous teeth, the long‐term consequences of early tooth loss, the dental issues related to oral health, and more. Guiding practitioners through the unique challenges of pediatric dental emergencies, this book: Explains the differences in treating and managing dental emergencies in children compared to adults Covers all types of pediatric dental emergencies including open pulp in permanent and deciduous teeth, missing teeth, and non-infective dental conditions Offers clinical vignettes and photographs to highlight clinical relevance Includes chapters by experts in multiple disciplines such as endodontics, restorative dentistry, pediatric dentistry, prosthodontics, and orthodontics The first textbook to focus exclusively on young patients in need of acute dental care, Management of Dental Emergencies in Children and Adolescents is a much-needed resource for general and specialist dentists as well as trainee and specialist pediatric dentists.
Traumatic Dental Injuries in Children: A clinical guide to management and prevention by
This book is a clinical guide to the prevention and management of traumatic dental injuries, including crown and root fractures and luxation injuries, in children of all ages. Readers will find clear descriptions of the challenges posed by the pediatric population, the evaluation of injuries, diagnosis, management, and follow-up. Whenever available, evidence-based guidelines are used to inform clinicians of the most appropriate care for each type of injury. A holistic approach is adopted, taking into account the child's developmental stage and ability to tolerate the proposed treatment. When indicated, more advanced forms of behavior guidance are discussed to enable the delivery of safe and effective care that will allow the best outcome to be achieved. Often, traumatic dental injuries result in sequelae that compromise the health of the developing permanent teeth. These sequelae and appropriate treatment options are described along with innovative approaches designed to preserve bone and maximize future treatment possibilities. The book will be a valuable asset for both pediatric and general dentists.
Temporomandibular Disorders by
A valuable resource on how to diagnose and treat temporomandibular disorders (TMD) The newly and thoroughly revised 2nd Edition of Temporomandibular Disorders: A Problem-Based Approach delivers a systematic and logical approach to diagnosing and treating temporomandibular disorders. Using a case-based approach to assist readers with understanding and retention, the book discusses the practical realities of managing patients and promoting effective treatment of temporomandibular disorders. Containing full colour clinical images and diagrams throughout, the chapters include practical guides on how to make splints and samples of patient information sheets which can be used as templates. Readers will get access to topics such as: The clinical aspects of anatomy, function, pathology, and classification Differential diagnosis of temporomandibular joint problems Clicking joint problems and the use of preliminary investigation in disc displacement Temporomandibular joint locking diagnosis and treatment, including final treatment plans Facial pain examinations, differential diagnosis, and questions to ask patients regarding pain in general Headaches, worn teeth, dislocated jaws, and more issues that arise in the treatment of temporomandibular joint problems Perfect for undergraduate dental students and general dental practitioners, the new edition of Temporomandibular Disorders is also useful to postgraduate dental students, academics, and researchers.
DRUG-INDUCED OSTEONECROSIS OF THE JAWS: HOW TO DIAGNOSE, PREVENT, AND TREAT IT. by
Drug-induced osteonecrosis of the jaws (DIONJ) is something oral surgeons are all too familiar with. For decades Dr Marx has been advocating for drug holidays and other clinical tactics that can help mitigate the effects of bisphosphonates and other DIONJ-causing agents, particularly in patients being treated for osteoporosis or cancer. Now his goal is to equip doctors and surgeons to treat it effectively and prevent it whenever possible, and this book compiles all of his strategies and guidelines to do just that. The first chapter explains the mechanism of action of DIONJ as well as its risk factors and staging, and the following chapters outline how to diagnose, treat, and even prevent DIONJ in patients with osteoporosis and cancer. Twenty cases are included to show how DIONJ presents clinically and what to do in each situation based on severity and patient condition. After all, runaway cancer is life-threatening, so simply avoiding DIONJ-causing drugs is not always feasible. That is why Dr Marx gives clear and practical information on how best to handle each situation, so oral surgeons and other clinicians can craft the best possible treatment plans for their patients.
OCCLUSAL SPLINTS FOR PAINFUL CRANIOMANDIBULAR DYSFUNCTION. by
Therapy for painful craniomandibular dysfunction (CMD) is a field of dentistry that is quite different from traditional subjects in dental medicine (eg, periodontics, restorative dentistry, or oral surgery). In these subject areas, innovation essentially means adapting clinical procedures to new technologies, such as the use of digital resources. However, better basic treatment of CMD cases cannot be achieved simply by better technique but by a new way of thinking that emphasizes patients, their suffering, and what they tell their dentists. Therefore, this book offers a clear guide to help practitioners address the issue of CMD in theory and practice and provide their CMD patients with the best possible treatment. The book is split into two parts: first a practical guide to the basic treatment of CMD patients, followed by chapters that build on that basic knowledge by exploring scientific and theoretical principles in more depth. The two parts complement each other to form a rounded and complete picture. A series of detailed charts, diagrams, and sample forms are included to supplement the important history-taking section, and chapters on splint fabrication and rehabilitation include step-by-step photographs. The book concludes with chapters on neurobiology to discuss CMDs and their treatment at an anatomical level for a more thorough understanding.
Optimal pain management for the dental team by
This book is a concise guide to the correct diagnosis and management of dental pain and anxiety. It covers psychology theories about pain, dentine sensitivity, hypersensitivity and cracked tooth syndrome. Chronic pain, temporomandibular disorders and local anesthesia are discussed, and optimal medical and perioperative pain management explained. The book is written by leading experts in the field and provides an up to date, pragmatic perspective on optimizing pain and anxiety management in the dental patient. It includes an overview of differential diagnoses of non-odontogenic orofacial pain. As well as meeting the needs of dentists, the book will be a “must read” for whole dental team.
Dental trauma: a practical guide to diagnosis and management by
Practical guidance on assessment, diagnosis and management of traumatic dental injuries. Each topic features a clinical case example highlighting salient points. Includes more than 400 clinical photographs and explanatory diagrams. Recognised author from King's College Hospital Dental Institute, London.
OROFACIAL PAIN: GUIDELINES FOR ASSESSMENT, DIAGNOSIS, AND MANAGEMENT by
This new edition is the first to be released since orofacial pain was recognized as the 12th dental specialty by the American Dental Association. Although the structure resembles previous editions, significant changes have been made. The most recent International Classification of Diseases, Eleventh Edition (ICD-11) classification system is used throughout, featuring new diagnostic codes and tables mapping differences between ICD-10 and ICD-11. Other revisions are inclusion of cervical spinal disorders and associated headaches as well as extracranial and systemic causes of orofacial pain, greater emphasis on headache pathophysiology and updates to management including new pharmacologic agents, and sections on "newer trends" related to electronic cigarettes/vaping and the SARS-CoV-2 global pandemic. Out with the old, in with the new. This text delivers the evidence-based assessment, diagnosis, and management of orofacial pain conditions to keep you up to date about this emerging and expanding field.
Clinical Outline of Oral Pathology by
Clinical Outline of Oral Pathology, 4th Edition with full color images, integrates the clinical approaches to basic oral pathology, oral radiology, and oral medicine with a primary objective of providing students with a protocol for developing differential diagnoses. The text guides students through the process of evaluating patient responses and clinical signs so as to limit the differential and ultimately arrive at a definitive diagnosis, and developing appropriate management and treatment. Diseases of the oral cavity are categorized according to presenting signs and symptoms.
Clinical Oral Medicine and Pathology by
Following on the favorable reception of the first edition, the authors have thoroughly revised and updated the second edition of this resourceful clinical handbook. The book has been well received internationally by a wide audience of clinicians, including general dentists, oral surgeons, otolaryngologists, primary care physicians, nurse practitioners, dental hygienists, physician assistants, and dermatologists, and sales have been strong among students and post-graduate residents training in medical, dental, and allied health fields, supporting the versatility of this work and serving as testimony to its value in both the academic and private practice arenas. Several key updates and improvements have been made to the second edition. All informational content has been updated to ensure accuracy and relevance, particularly in the rapidly evolving fields of oncology and pharmacology. A new chapter has been added entitled "Oral Sequelae of Cancer and Cancer Therapy" which better organizes and consolidates previous content while expanding on topics such as targeted therapies and hematopoietic stem cell transplantation. Additional clinical images have been included throughout the book so that the full clinical spectrum of any given condition is well-represented. Furthermore, the print quality, as well as the positioning and layout of the clinical images has been improved for optimal utility. Lastly, the summary boxes that follow each condition have been reconfigured with color-coded icons for improved definition, ease of use and cross-referencing. Clinical Oral Medicine and Pathology, Second Edition will continue to serve as an authoritative contemporary resource for clinicians seeking guidance in the diagnosis and management of oral diseases.
Essentials of Human Disease in Dentistry by
A comprehensive guide to providing effective dental treatment and care to patients affected by diseases Essentials of Human Disease in Dentistry, Second Edition takes an integrated approach to dentistry and how it relates to general medicine, surgery, pharmacology, therapeutics, pathology and microbiology. Building on the success of the Textbook of Human Disease in Dentistry, this new edition has been updated with a new layout, featuring key topics, learning objectives and practical clinical advice in each chapter. This accessible guide is structured around the systems of the body and covers all major diseases and conditions with their aetiology, symptoms, and treatments. The focus is on the relevance of particular diseases and their drug treatment in relation to dentistry and patient dental management. This vital resource: Promotes a better understanding of how to provide effective dental treatment to patients affected by diseases Presents illustrative examples and helpful clinical photographs throughout Includes a new chapter on the importance of understanding shock Features self-assessment questions at the end of each chapter, and a companion website hosting downloadable images from the book Essentials of Human Disease in Dentistry, Second Edition is an invaluable resource for undergraduate dentistry students as well as newly qualified dentists preparing for the MFDS exam.
ORAL PATHOLOGY IN THE PEDIATRIC PATIENT: A CLINICAL GUIDE TO THE DIAGNOSIS AND TREATMENT... OF MUCOSAL AND INTRAOSSEOUS LESIONS by
This book, now in an extensively revised second edition, is a practical, user-friendly guide to the clinical diagnosis and treatment of the oral mucosal and intraosseous lesions most frequently encountered in pediatric patients. For each entity, a characteristic clinical photograph is provided, the clinical appearance is concisely described, and guidance is offered on differential diagnosis and treatment options. Oral indications of systemic diseases are addressed in a separate section, and mucosal indicators of drug use, sexual abuse, and eating disorders are also identified. The book includes new chapters on cysts and psuedocysts, odontogenic tumors, non-odontogenic lesions and osseous manifestations of systemic diseases.
Clinical oral pathology: kochaji's guide to oral lesions and biopsies by
his book equips dental care providers with a thorough understanding of oral maxillofacial pathology and the clinical management of oral lesions and oral biopsies. Readers will learn about the scientific basis of oral maxillofacial pathology, different types of biopsies, when to perfom a biopsy and how to handle it in the dental practice. The book focuses on clinical and radiographical features of oral diseases and guides the practitioner to differential diagnosis using an algorithm that leads to the best treatment for the patient.
Emphasis is placed on the successful interdisciplinary work with oral maxillofacial pathologists, the importance of histological descriptions, and explanation on how to read pathological reports is provided. Differential diagnosis of a unilocular radiolucent, multilocular radiolucent lesion and radiopaque lesion in the jaws are discussed for vital teeth, non-vital teeth and the edentulous area.
This book will help dentists to deepen their knowledge in oral maxillofacial pathology and guide them through the clinical application of diagnosis algorithms and biopsies in the dental care setting.
