Ergonomics in the Dental Office by
Helps everyone on the dental team work in a more comfortable and less painful way Dental health providers commonly struggle with chronic back pain, carpal tunnel syndrome, muscle tension, strained eyes, and other work-related musculoskeletal problems. Ergonomics in the Dental Office provides clear guidance on alleviating or eliminating the pain and discomfort caused by strains put on the body in daily practice. This easy-to-read book explains the principles of ergonomics, identifies specific causes of musculoskeletal problems, and presents simple--yet effective--techniques to address the physical stresses that might be occurring in the dental office. Concise, highly visual chapters demonstrate correct postures, clock positions, instrument transfer, head and neck placement, instrumentation techniques, office design, and more. The author emphasizes the importance of daily exercises, rest breaks, and disciplines that relieve both physical and emotional stress such as yoga and Tai Chi. Topics include occupational health issues and research, treating disabled patients, developing ergonomic awareness, seat positioning for tall and short operators, integrated intervention planning, and signs and symptoms of musculoskeletal disorders. Presents ways to improve body positioning and instrumentation techniques, including basic ergonomic principles of proper four-handed dentistry Discusses exercises to reduce stress and reduce muscle fatigue, such as Pilates, free weights, and aquatic activities Covers all key aspects of ideal dental office ergonomics, including furniture, equipment, office layout and design, and practice assessment Designed to address a problem all dental professionals face, Ergonomics in the Dental Office is an invaluable book for dentists, dental hygienists, dental assistants, and dental students and trainees.
ERGONOMICS APPLIED TO DENTAL PRACTICE by
Musculoskeletal disorders are extremely prevalent among dentists due to sustained poor postures that cause muscle fatigue. This book teaches dental professionals how to prevent these disorders by adopting the four principles of dental ergonomics: knowledge of body biomechanics, using an ergonomic stool, implementing four-handed dentistry, and working with a surgical microscope. These principles aim to keep the body in a comfortable neutral posture throughout the working day, enabling dentists to work and live pain-free.
ORAL DIAGNOSIS: MINIMALLY INVASIVE IMAGING APPROACHES by
The overall goal of this book is to provide the reader with an understanding of the new minimally invasive techniques that are available for the purpose of diagnostic imaging in dentistry and to explain their impact on clinical practice. The book concentrates very much on those techniques that are clinically applicable and useful to dentists NOW, although it also provides a fascinating view to the future. The chapters are divided according to the major clinical topics in dentistry. Each chapter provides considerable visual content, including flow charts, schematics, and photographs. The principles of the technologies presented are discussed in an overview format, with greater detail and focus on the ensuing clinical application techniques and the data that they can generate. The strengths and limitations of the novel modalities are highlighted. Finally, the interface between the data and their capacity for improving clinical outcomes through better diagnosis is discussed. All of the authors have been selected on the basis of their pre-eminence in the field.
Diagnosis and treatment planning in dentistry by
Enhance your skills in patient assessment, oral diagnosis, and treatment planning! A full-color, all-in-one reference, Diagnosis and Treatment Planning in Dentistry, 4th Edition helps you create person-centered dental treatment plans for adolescent and adult patients. Using evidence-based research, this text shows how risk assessment, prognosis, and expected treatment outcomes factor into the planning process. Detailed coverage guides you through each phase of the treatment plan. New to this edition are chapters covering digital tools used in treatment planning and revised content in all chapters. The book renews a core section that describes how to plan and provide optimal oral health care for unique patient populations. Written by noted dentistry educators Stephen Stefanac and Samuel Nesbit, this must-have resource includes a fully searchable eBook version free with each print purchase.
Fluoride and the Oral Environment by
This volume brings together current concepts relating to the use of fluoride in dentistry. In contributions written by expert authors, data from this large and complex field have been assembled into a clear sequence and presented in a lucid fashion. The first section deals with the sources of fluoride intake and its metabolism, in order to fully understand fluoride toxicity and the importance of monitoring intake. The second section focuses in more detail on modes of fluoride application and the mechanisms by which this ion interacts with the oral environment to cause a remarkable reduction in dental caries. The role of fluoride in the prevention of dental erosion is also elucidated. The complex mechanisms by which fluoride exerts its effects are described with clarity and the entire text is accompanied by particularly useful illustrations. As a clear up-to-date summary of current thinking in the field, this book will be essential reading for research workers and postgraduate students. Established researchers and teachers in both clinical and basic sciences will find it to be a valuable addition to their libraries, and clinicians will be able to better evaluate the current scientific evidence on the advantages as well as the hazards of fluoride in dentistry.
Bitemark Evidence by
Experts in the field of bitemark evidence confront complexities ranging from the identification and collection of evidence, to microscopic analysis, to legal implications and courtroom admissibility. Now in its second edition, Bitemark Evidence reflects the knowledge, training, experience, opinions, and research of 27 authors from around the world to present an atlas with coverage from a range of disciplines. This comprehensive text details the protocols for photography, collection, preservation, and analysis of bitemarks and examines everything from the history of bitemark evidence, to diagnostic considerations, to expert witnesses and testimony. New in the Second Edition: A historical perspective, beginning with the earliest known bitemark references from the Bible and the Kama Sutra,up to the modern development of forensic organizations around the world Updated chapter on digital photography Practical tips on forensic bitemark photography Processing and analysis of digital images for evidentiary purposes The rationale, use, materials, and methods employed for confocal laser microscopy (CLM) and the scanning electron microscope (SEM) Current issues in bitemark analysis and research, emerging technologies, and recent developments Completely revamped section on research with hundreds of accompanying color photographs Experimental bitemarks and histology, with data on the microscopic examination of bitemarks on fresh and frozen piglet skin and the microscopic examination of human bitemarks Updated information on genotypic comparison of oral bacteria isolated from bitemarks and teeth Proper steps in forming a contract with an expert witness Erroneous bitemark opinions and wrongful convictions overturned by DNA evidence Capturing the contemporary scientific understanding in the field and enhanced with more than 1,300 color photos, this atlas is the definitive guide to one of the most fascinating evidentiary domains in the forensic world.
Forensic Dental Evidence by
Forensic Dental Evidence: An Investigators Handbook highlights the discussion regarding unjust convictions caused by inaccurate bitemark opinions. The book focuses on cases that use forensic techniques, emphasizing modern methods and protocols. Through this book, the latest information available is offered to the forensic community. This book demonstrates expertise in forensic dentistry by presenting chapters on human identification in domestic and international situations; investigations on missing person and violent crimes against persons; mass-disaster planning and disaster response; and new threats from terrorist attacks on urban centers. Furthermore, it discusses topics regarding bitemark evidence, such as forensic photography, analysis and legal issues. The book also presents two chapters on new scientific topics: The Next Level in Victim Identification: Materials Properties as an Aid in Victim Identification; and DNA for First Responders: Recognizing, Collecting, and Analyzing Biological Evidence Related to Dentistry (chapters 3 and 8, respectively). This book is suited to anyone seeking knowledge on forensic dentistry; it will be of great value to investigators, lawyers, medical examiners, nurses, and dentists with an interest in forensic dental cases. Contributions by internationally recognized and experienced forensic experts cover missing persons cases and mass disaster cases from around the world Contains over 200 full-color photographs of crime scene evidence, human identification cases and bitemark details Includes many new exoneration cases derived from the Editor's work with the Innocence Project
Forensic Odontology by
Forensic Odontology: Principles and Practice details the aspects necessary to become an accomplished forensic odontologist, including an illustration of the skills necessary to become an expert witness. The book is ideal for both the experienced and novice forensic odontologist, covering many fields of expertise, including civil and criminal matters. The civil side involves standard of care and personal injury matters, while the criminal side involves not only dental identification, but management of mass fatality incidents, age assessment, child and elder abuse, and bitemark analysis.
Dental Image Processing for Human Identification by
This book presents an approach to postmortem human identification using dental image processing based on dental features and characteristics, and provides information on various identification systems based on dental features using image processing operations. The book also provides information on a novel human identification approach that uses Infinite Symmetric Exponential Filter (ISEF) based edge detection and contouring algorithms. Provides complete details on dental imaging; Discusses the important features of a human identification approach and presents a brief review on DICOM standard for dental imaging; Presents human identification approach based on dental features.
The Pocket Guide to Mouth and Dental Hygiene in Dementia Care by
The dental needs of people living with dementia are often overlooked, particularly in the care home and hospital community. It is challenging to maintain good standards of oral care with people living with dementia, and poor care can increase the fear and anxiety levels of those living with dementia. Very few dentists have the training that equips them with the specialist knowledge necessary to work with this population. This pocket guide sets out tailored advice for supporting the oral and dental needs of people living with dementia. It sets out straightforward models on providing effective preventative mouth care, spotting symptoms and what to do when problems occur. This concise handbook will help any dentists, care home staff, nurses and other health professionals working day to day with people with dementia.
ORAL HEALTH AND AGING by
This book provides a comprehensive review of the assessment and management of older people’s oral health care needs. Discussing recent initiatives to emphasize oral health promotion and prevention, the book describes improvements in pharmacological and non-pharmacological approaches for special populations in geriatrics and illuminates the role of barriers to oral health care for older people. Divided into three sections, the book first explores aging and oral health, including age-related changes, epidemiology, nutrition, dysphagia, aspiration pneumonia, xerostomia and hyposalivation, management of periodontal disease and caries, systemic diseases that influence oral health, and considerations for chronic orofacial pain. The second section illuminates the ways in which frailty and other geriatric syndromes influence oral health care in older adults with a special focus on frailty, dementia, delirium and depression, and the delivery of oral health care to vulnerable geriatric populations in long-term care, home care, palliative care, and hospice. Lastly, the book addresses inequalities in the oral health of older minority populations, the disproportionate burden of oral disease and tooth loss, the contribution of these issues to further complications in comorbidities, the association of extended health literacy and periodontal disease, and the social and cultural conditions that might be altered or improved by healthcare programs and health policies.
Oral Health and Aging is a useful book written by an international group of experts and designed to educate geriatricians, primary care physicians, nurses, dentists, dental hygienists, speech and language pathologists, dietitians, and health policy advocates.
ORAL HEALTH AND DENTAL CARE IN THE AGEING POPULATION by
This book aims to provide the dental team with an improved understanding of management of the oral health needs of the ageing population, in whom increasing cognitive, medical and physical disabilities impact significantly on oral health and dental care needs. All significant aspects of caring for older people are covered. The nature and implications of changing demographics are explained and information provided on common medical co-morbidities and the impact of cognitive conditions, including dementia, on dental treatment. The changing pattern of dental disease in older people is clearly described, with explanation of the consequences of these changes for aspects of restorative dentistry, oral medicine, and oral surgery. Advice is given on considerations for dental treatment planning, including the importance of prevention and utilization of dental care professionals. Provision of care for older people under general anaesthesia or sedation and domiciliary care are also covered. The book is written by specialist practicing clinicians and delivers information in an accessible way with a person-centered approach.
Nutrition Education: Strategies for Improving Nutrition and Healthy Eating in Individuals and Communities by
Nutrition education may be defined as a combination of educational tactics accompanied by physical or environmental supports, the purpose of which is to encourage voluntary adoption of foods and other lifestyle behaviors that are beneficial to health. This book highlights the importance of nutrition education as an integral part of day-to-day life. The first part takes an in-depth look at what nutrition education is and how it can be used to influence various target populations. The second part explores the complexities of eating behavior, underscoring the importance of early childhood as a critical time for intervention. The final part focuses on nutrition education in medical schools, highlighting the latest educational technologies being used in curricula, as well as methods for bringing nutrition to the clinic. The insights presented in this book cover the basis of how nutrition interventions can be designed and delivered to improve food choices and, ultimately, an individual's health. The publication will be of great interest for educators, pediatricians, dietitians, public health, professionals, and policy makers.
Dental Public Health at a Glance by
Dental Public Health at a Glance presents a richly-illustrated introduction to dental and oral health issues in communities and populations. Each topic is presented in an easy-to-comprehend two-page spread with essential facts clearly summarized and accompanied by tables, illustrations and diagrams Comprehensive coverage of wide range of key concepts including: evidence-based dentistry, oral health promotion, the relationship of fluoride, diet, smoking, and alcohol to oral health, and considerations for a dental public health career Written by an expert in dental public health and offering illuminating insights into oral health at the population level A must-have introductory textbook and revision guide for dentistry and dental hygiene and therapy students
Infection Control in the Dental Office: A Global Perspective by
This book reviews the principles of infection control and the guidelines and standards of care in multiple countries, discussing them within the context of the practice of dentistry. The aim is to enable dental practitioners to ensure that the appropriate measures are adopted for each patient contact, thereby minimizing the risk of transmission of infection - a goal that is becoming ever more important given the threats posed by new or re-emerging infectious diseases and drug-resistant infections. Readers will find information and guidance on all aspects of infection control within the dental office: hand and respiratory hygiene, use of personal protective equipment, safe handling of sharps and safe injection practices, management of occupational exposures, maintenance of dental unit water quality, surface disinfection, and the cleaning and sterilization of dental instruments. Infection Control in the Dental Office will be an invaluable asset for all dental practitioners, including dentists, dental specialists, dental hygienists, and dental assistants.
Infection control in primary dental care: BDJ clinician's guides by
This book is an easy-to-use guide to all aspects of infection control and decontamination that will support the implementation of effective measures for risk reduction in dental practice. Among the topics addressed are the principles and practicalities of cleaning and sterilizing dental instruments, the role of personal protective equipment, the design and use of decontamination rooms, choice of dental equipment, environmental disinfection, and considerations relating to dental unit water lines. In addition, readers will find an informative and helpful section on the background history and basic science of infection control within dentistry. Infection Control in Primary Dental Care will be very useful for all members of the dental team, including dentists, dental nurses or assistants, dental hygienists, and therapists. The book is illustrated with photographs, diagrams, and tables to aid understanding and encourage good practice. The authors have a background in microbiology and dental practice and have extensive experience of providing advice and guidance to professional colleagues on infection control procedures.
ADA Practical Guide to Effective Infection Prevention and Control, Fifth Edition by
The ADA Practical Guide to Effective Infection Prevention and Control, Fifth Edition, outlines the importance of implementing comprehensive infection prevention and control practices in the dental office or other treatment setting. This revised edition features new chapters on Dental Water Quality and Special Considerations and Pandemic Preparedness and synthesizes the most current science-based recommendations for infection prevention and control in dental settings from the CDC and Federal agency rules and regulations, including OSHA, the FDA, and the EPA. This guide is divided into five chapters: Chapter 1: Fundamentals of Infection Prevention and Control Chapter 2: Disinfection and Sterilization Chapter 3: Dental Water Quality Chapter 4: Infection Control During Clinical Procedures Chapter 5: Special Considerations and Pandemic Preparedness This book also includes a self-assessment checklist of current infection control practices and review questions to reinforce important concepts. Includes CE.
INFECTION CONTROL IN THE DENTAL OFFICE IN THE ERA OF COVID-19 by
This book discusses the treatment of dental patients in the post-COVID pandemic years and the required compliance with recommended infection control practices to ensure the safe delivery of oral health care.
The COVID-19 pandemic has had the most dramatic impact on healthcare, inclusive of dentistry, in history. SARS-CoV-2, the virus that causes COVID-19, is a very dynamic virus and each new variant appears to be more transmissible than previous variants. More effective infection control strategies had to be developed to prevent transmission of COVID-19 in the dental office.
Readers will find guidance on the reduction of aerosol in the dental office, information on vaccines, vaccinations and the re-emergence of vaccine preventable diseases. Infection control during implant placement, oral surgical procedures, N2O administration and IV sedation is explained. In addition to SARS-CoV-2, the book provides information on other emerging respiratory diseases such as Influenza,Respiratory Syncytial Virus (RSV) and the emergence of Vaccine Preventable Diseases (Measles, Mumps, Rubella, Polio, HPV) that present significant risk of transmission if proper infection control practices are not followed. The indirect effects of the COVID-19 pandemic are discussed including a significant increase of STDs (syphilis, gonorrhea, chlamydia, herpes, HPV), new blood- borne infections such as HIV, HBV and HCV infections, as well as a significant increase of healthcare acquired infections and superbugs.
How to Succeed at E-Learning by
A basic guide to getting the best from e-learning for medical students, teachers and all healthcare professionals How to Succeed at e-Learning answers the needs of all healthcare professionals either starting or continuing their studies but not knowing where to begin with e-learning. It is a valuable guide for learners in undergraduate and postgraduate medicine as well as related health professionals and essential for teachers of medicine who are beginning to transfer from print to electronic teaching and need to understand effective methods of presentation.
Misch's contemporary implant dentistry by
Internationally known author, Randolph R. Resnik, DMD, MDS is a leading educator, clinician, author and researcher in the field of Oral Implantology and Prosthodontics.Surgical protocols provide the latest, most up-to-date literature and techniques that provide a proven system for comprehensive surgical treatment of dental implant patients.Thoroughly revised content includes current diagnostic pharmacologic and medical evaluation recommendations to furnish the reader with the latest literature-based information.Proven strategies and fundamentals for predictable implant outcomesLatest implant surgical techniques for socket grafting and ridge augmentation proceduresProven, evidence-based solutions for the treatment of peri-implant diseaseIncludes the use of dermal fillers and botox in oral implantologyUp-to-date information on advances in the field reflects the state-of-the-art dental implantology.
Basic Guide to Medical Emergencies in the Dental Practice by
The Basic Guide to Medical Emergencies in the Dental Practice is a must-have book for all dental care professionals and general dentists. Written in a clear and accessible style, this second edition has been fully revised and updated in line with the latest guidelines. Chapters cover such key topics as the ABCDE approach to patient assessment, resuscitation equipment, respiratory and cardiac disorders, paediatric emergencies, and legal and ethical issues. Readers will also find two brand new chapters on the principles of first aid, and drugs for medical emergencies. Follows Resuscitation Council (UK) Guidelines Companion website with self-assessment exercises, serving as revision as well as non-verifiable CPD credit Over 50% new images Student friendly colourful layout with learning outcomes
Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine by
The most trusted textbook in medicine -- featuring the acclaimed "Harrison's" DVD with 57 additional chapters and exclusive video and tutorials "Now presented in TWO VOLUMES" As reviwed by JAMA: "With the 18th edition, "Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine" retains its standing as a definitive clinical reference and remains an outstanding foundation for any physician or physician-in-training. In many regards, "Harrison's" remains synonymous not just with internal medicine but with medicine in general. The editors of the 18th edition have skillfully balanced tradition with the desire and need for innovation. The result is a book that remains as fundamental to current medical practice as the first edition was in 1949." --JAMA Extensively revised and expanded by the world's leading physicians, "Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, 18e" continues to set the standard as the pinnacle of current medical knowledge and practice, offering the definitive review of disease mechanisms and management. CURRENT All chapters have been completely updated to reflect the latest knowledge and evidence, and important new chapters have been added, including: "Systems Biology in Health and Disease," "The Human Microbiome," "The Biology of Aging," and "Neuropsychiatric Illnesses in War Veterans." CONNECTED "Harrison's" covers more global aspects of medicine than any other textbook, and features such chapters as "Global Issues in Medicine," by Jim Yong Kim, Paul Farmer, and Joseph Rhatigan, and new to the 18th edition, "Primary Care in Low and Middle Income Countries." COMPREHENSIVE No other resource delivers coverage of disease mechanisms and management like "Harrison's," including world-renowned chapters on HIV/AIDS, STEMI and non-STEMI myocardial infarction, cancer biology, multiple sclerosis, and diabetes. The "Harrison's" Multi-Media DVD-- Better Than Ever The "Harrison's" DVD has been expanded to include an extensive video demonstration of the neurological physical examination, and video tutorials on how to perform essential clinical procedures, including: Thoracentesis Abdominal Paracentesis Endotracheal Intubation Central Venous Catheter Placement 57 additional chapters and more than 2,000 images make the companion DVD an essential part of every physician's education, practice, and lifelong learning.The DVD also features PowerPoint presentations from fifty chapters to facilitate classroom lectures, and a free trial subscription to AccessMedicine.com (including Harrison's Online). "Harrison's 18e" is proud to present a tribute to longtime editor, Eugene Braunwald, MD for his outstanding and continuing contributions to medical knowledge and practice.
The ADA Practical Guide to Patients with Medical Conditions by 
The Dentist's Quick Guide to Medical Conditions by
With increasing numbers of dental patients being elderly or having medical conditions, it is important for the dentist to understand how these conditions may impact dental treatment. The Dentist's Quick Guide to Medical Conditions presents the relevant information dentists need--symptoms, diagnostic tests, medications prescribed, and dental management--for each disease and condition. Chapters will focus on each major bodily system, including respiratory, cardiovascular, hematologic, endocrine, gastrointestinal, immune, nervous, reproductive, and urinary, as well as chapters on the liver, kidneys, skin, and psychological conditions. Appendices list guidelines for antibiotic prophylaxis, additional conditions requiring antibiotics, and a quick list of diagnostic tests.
Little and Falace's dental management of the medically compromised patient by
Learn how to provide dental care to any patient, regardless of existing medical conditions. Little and Falace’s Dental Management of the Medically Compromised Patient, 9th Edition, has been thoroughly revised to give you the information you need to assess common problems, and make safe and healthy dental management decisions. The new addition includes expanded coverage of women’s health issues and introduces a process for developing a medical-risk source. Also, each chapter features vivid illustrations and well-organized tables to give you in-depth details and overall summaries to help you get to the root of your future patients’ needs.
