Everything You Need to Know about the Uluru Statement from the Heart by
We leave base camp and start our trek across this vast country. We invite you to walk with us in a movement of the Australian people for a better future.On 26 May 2017, after a historic process of consultation, the Uluru Statement from the Heart was read out. This clear and urgent call for reform to the community from Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples asked for a First Nations Voice to Parliament protected in the Constitution and a process of agreement-making and truth-telling. Voice. Treaty. Truth.What was the journey to this point? What do Australians need to know about the Uluru Statement from the Heart? And how can these reforms be achieved?Everything You Need to Know about the Uluru Statement from the Heart, written by Megan Davis and George Williams, two of Australia's best-known constitutional experts, is essential reading on how our Constitution was drafted, what the 1967 referendum achieved, and the lead-up and response to the Uluru Statement. Importantly, it explains how the Uluru Statement offers change that will benefit the whole nation.
Oxford Handbook of Dental Nursing by
The Oxford Handbook of Dental Nursing serves as a practical, easily accessible, informative, and up-to-date quick reference guide that a dental nurse can use throughout their career, from the initial training stage to qualification and beyond. It enables users to find relevant informationquickly, and will support dental nurses in their everyday work and provide easy access to information they may require in clinical sessions. As well as the basics it highlights the core competencies and contains further information which is of use to qualified dental nurses working in general dentalpractice, in the NHS or private sector, dental hospitals, and community dental services. The book is aimed primarily at dental nurses and will also be valuable to dental surgeons, tutors, and assessors to facilitate the learning and development of their students.
General and Oral Pathology for Dental Hygiene Practice by
Be prepared to provide the very best care to your patients! Develop the foundation in pathology you need to recognize the signs and symptoms of the oral conditions and the manifestations of systemic diseases you'll encounter in clinical practice. Step by step, you'll learn about the etiology of each disease or condition, how to recognize it, what the diagnostic process is, how the disease progresses, and what the treatment options are. Concise text and full-color photographs, complemented by animations of pathological processes online at DavisPlus, show you exactly what you need to know. Interactive case studies and critical-thinking exercises prepare you to make the correct patient care decisions.
Local Anesthesia for the Dental Hygienist by
Prepare for practice with the only book on local anesthesia written specifically for dental hygienists! Local Anesthesia for the Dental Hygienist, 2nd Edition, provides complete instructions for the safe and effective administration of local anesthesia. Written by noted dental hygiene educator Demetra Logothetis, the first edition won a 2012 PROSE Honorable Mention award. This edition adds a new chapter on children and adolescent patients, plus new coverage of anesthetic agents and advanced techniques. With colorful and detailed illustrations showing dental anatomy and hundreds of clinical photos of injection techniques, as well as discussions of the Human Needs Paradigm to promote patient-centered care, this reference prepares you for success on board exams and confidence in practice. Clear, approachable writing style makes it easier to learn proper techniques and gain confidence, acknowledging not only the patient's fear of injection but also the fears of the inexperienced clinician. An outstanding art program features more than 500 full-color photographs and illustrations. Technique and Procedures boxes provide illustrated, step-by-step instructions for performing specific procedures, including indications, contraindications, nerves and teeth affected, operator and patient positioning, insertion point, penetration, amount of anesthetic, and working time. Color-coded anesthesia boxes match the color scheme developed and used by the ADA (American Dental Association) and help in choosing the best agent for the type of anesthesia required, providing images, selection tips, precautions, and maximum dosing information. Review questions at the end of each chapter provide the opportunity to assess your understanding, and the Evolve companion website provides a 55-question mock examination and chapter practice quizzes. Case studies make it easier to apply concepts to the clinical setting and to develop problem-solving skills. Dental Hygiene Considerations boxes summarize key points and tips for optimal care. Key terms are highlighted within the text and defined in the glossary. Learning objectives begin each chapter and set goals for what you will accomplish; they also help you study for examinations. A focus on the Human Needs Theory relates the administration of local anesthesia and dental hygiene care to the eight human needs. Summary tables and boxes help you review and study concepts, procedures, and techniques. Expert author Demetra Logothetis is a dental hygiene educator with 20 years of experience teaching local anesthesia and pain control. End-of-chapter resources include lists of current, evidence-based literature for further research or study. NEW! Local Anesthesia for the Child and Adolescent chapter focuses on the delivery techniques and administration protocol needed for pediatric and adolescent patients. NEW! Advanced local anesthetic techniques include the Vazirani-Akinosi mandibular block, intraseptal injections, and pre-puncture technique for the C-CLAD. NEW! Coverage of dynamic and emerging topics include newer anesthetic agents, buffering of anesthetics, determination of drug dosages, armamentarium and syringe preparation, maxillary and mandibular injection techniques and fulcrums, and information on electronic devices and new equipment. NEW clinical photos show basic and advanced injection techniques for maxillary and mandibular anesthesia, and new illustrations depict dental anatomy.
Nursing & health survival guide: dental nursing by
With this pocket-size reference book, you can quickly check vital information from dental terminology to medical emergency procedures. All you need to know on Abbreviations Dental Terminology Communication Local Anaesthetic Black's Classification Angle's Classification Pulp Testing And much much more...
Improving Access to Oral Health Care for Vulnerable and Underserved Populations by
Access to oral health care is essential to promoting and maintaining overall health and well-being, yet only half of the population visits a dentist each year. Poor and minority children are less likely to have access to oral health care than are their nonpoor and nonminority peers. Older adults, people who live in rural areas, and disabled individuals, uniformly confront access barriers, regardless of their financial resources. The consequences of these disparities in access to oral health care can lead to a number of conditions including malnutrition, childhood speech problems, infections, diabetes, heart disease, and premature births. Improving Access to Oral Health Care for Vulnerable and Underserved Populations examines the scope and consequences of inadequate access to oral health services in the United States and recommends ways to combat the economic, structural, geographic, and cultural factors that prevent access to regular, quality care. The report suggests changing funding and reimbursement for dental care; expanding the oral health work force by training doctors, nurses, and other nondental professionals to recognize risk for oral diseases; and revamping regulatory, educational, and administrative practices. It also recommends changes to incorporate oral health care into overall health care. These recommendations support the creation of a diverse workforce that is competent, compensated, and authorized to serve vulnerable and underserved populations across the life cycle. The recommendations provided in Improving Access to Oral Health Care for Vulnerable and Underserved Populations will help direct the efforts of federal, state, and local government agencies; policy makers; health professionals in all fields; private and public health organizations; licensing and accreditation bodies; educational institutions; health care researchers; and philanthropic and advocacy organizations.
Dental Nurse Survival Guide by
This highly practical text aims to provide the newly qualified dental nurse with with a basic guide to dental nursing issues. The Dental Nurse Survival Guide adopts the same Q&A format that has proven so successful with the best selling Staff Nur...
Clinical Textbook of Dental Hygiene and Therapy by
Fully revised and updated to reflect changes in clinical practice, legislation and regulation, this groundbreaking textbook intertwines the subjects of dental hygiene and dental therapy to provide a comprehensive resource for students of these courses, as well as those studying new degree programmes in oral health science. The Clinical Textbook of Dental Hygiene and Therapy is designed as a dedicated companion text for these disciplines and should enable students to streamline their primary reading. Following course developments and an expansion in the remits of both hygienists and therapists, this book is written not only for students, but also as a revision aid for those already in practice. Interactive questions on a companion website allow the reader to test their knowledge and understanding. The opening section of the book is dedicated to relevant oral sciences: anatomy; histology; embryology; oral medicine and pathology. The clinical section contains fourteen chapters which provide coverage of the core syllabus for dental hygiene and therapy. The final section is dedicated to primary dental care services and law, ethics and professionalism. FEATURES * Provides unique combined coverage of the subjects of dental hygiene and dental therapy * Emphasises the clinical domain and reflects role expansion * Highly illustrated in full colour throughout * Includes expert contributions from dental hygienists, therapists, and dentists * Dedicated companion website at www.wiley.com/go/noble/dentalhygiene
Dental Public Health by
A guide designed for use by GPs, practice managers and practice staff, to help them understand the NHS pension scheme and take advantage of the benefits it offers to those in general practice.
DH Notes by
A DAVIS'S NOTES BOOK! The perfect chairside reference ... in class, clinic, and practice This unique, pocket-sized guide gives your instant access to commonly used clinical practices and procedures integral to comprehensive patient care. Carry it with you wherever you go for quick reference at a moment's notice. And, its write-on/wipe-off, waterproof pages let you disinfect it according to infection control standards. It's also perfect for preparing for tests and board exams. See what students are saying about the 1st Edition... Every dental hygiene student needs this chairside guide "This chairside guide is so helpful and thorough. I am in my second semester of hygiene school preparing to see patients for the first time and this manual will help me through those times of need. I highly recommend this book. I think the team that created this guide are genius and understand the challenges of this field, and truly want those who utilize this guide to be knowledgeable and successful."--A. Diggs Great Investment! "I'm starting to finish up dental hygiene school and I wish I had this little book from the beginning! It' s a great reference for clinic and for boards and I can definitely see myself using it in private practice."--Michael Burner A huge help! "This book is fantastic! I'm so glad I purchased it! It has everything I need! Great book for any DH student!"--Amanda Landers
Dental Assistants and Hygienists by
If you are interested in a career in the dental assistants and hygienists (the allied health field, as it is often called), you've come to the right book. So what exactly do these people do on the job, day in and day out? What kind of skills and educational background do you need to succeed in these fields? How much can you expect to make, and what are the pros and cons of these various fields? Do these career paths have a bright future? Is this even the right career path for you? How do you avoid burnout and deal with stress? This book can help you answer these questions and more. Dental Assistants and Hygienists includes interviews with professionals in the field, covers three main areas of this field that have proven to be stable, lucrative, and growing professions. -Dental assistants -Dental hygienists -Dental technicians
Dental Hygienists by
Dentistry is one of the most in-demand professional areas in the country. Often referred to as the nurses of the dental world, dental hygienists find themselves spending more time with patients educating them on oral health. While dentists are in high demand, dental hygienists are in even higher demand, expected to grow as a profession by nearly 20 percent in the next decade. This rewarding field comprising more than 200,000 professionals nationwide is finding itself poised to take on more responsibilities in the dental office. What does a dental hygienist do? What does it take to become a dental hygienist? Have dental hygienists always worked with dentists? Readers will stand in a dental hygienist's shoes as they navigate through salary information, the history of the profession, and the way of the dental hygiene future. Every book in the Careers in Healthcare series gives readers the necessary tools to evaluate pursuing a career in the healthcare profession. Unique to this series are firsthand interviews with professionals aimed to give readers an upfront and close perspective into the daily lives of those currently working in the field. Each title in this series includes color photos throughout, and back matter including: an index and further reading lists for books and internet resources. Key Icons appear throughout the books in this series in an effort to encourage library readers to build knowledge, gain awareness, explore possibilities and expand their viewpoints through our content rich non-fiction books. Key Icons in this series are as follows: Words to Understand are shown at the front of each chapter with definitions. These words are set in boldfaced type in that chapter, so that readers are able to reference back to the definitions--building their vocabulary and enhancing their reading comprehe
Clinical Cases in Dental Hygiene by
Clinical Cases in Dental Hygiene is an indispensable resource to understanding both the theory and practice of dental hygiene, illustrated by real-life cases in a clinically relevant format. Offers a unique case-based format that supports problem-based learning Promotes independent learning through self-assessment and critical thinking Includes a wealth of relevant cases for understanding dental procedures and management of patients Covers all essential topics within the scope of dental hygiene
Applied Pharmacology for the Dental Hygienist by
Easy to read and easy to follow, this practical text provides an understanding of the basic principles of pharmacology. It covers the most common drugs that you will encounter in clinical practice -the drugs a patient may already be taking and the drugs prescribed by the dentist. A logical and consistent organization makes it easy to look up drug group indications, pharmacokinetics, pharmacologic effects, adverse reactions, drug interactions, and dosages. Ensure patient safety with this essential reference! Comprehensive coverage provides an in-depth understanding of the most commonly used drugs, how they work, and how they affect patients' oral health and dental treatment options. A dental focus addresses the drug interactions of clinical interest in dentistry, with explanations as to why certain drugs are used or contraindicated in a dental treatment plan. A logical format organizes chapters into four parts: 1) general pharmacologic principles, 2) drugs used in dentistry, 3) drugs that may alter dental treatment, and 4) special situations. Clinical Skills Assessment offers review questions at the end of each chapter, helping you assess your knowledge of the material. Dental Hygiene Considerations boxes show how principles of pharmacology apply specifically to dental hygienists. Note boxes highlight important concepts, indications, contraindications, memory tools, warnings, and more. Key terms are bolded and in color within each chapter and defined in a handy glossary. Summary tables and boxes serve as useful review and study tools with quick, easy-to-read summaries of key concepts. Learning objectives at the beginning of each chapter set goals for what you will accomplish and provide a useful study guide for examinations. A bibliography in each chapter lists resource citations for additional research and study of dental-related topics. Quick-reference appendixes include resources such as the top 200 drugs, medical acronyms, and information on herbal and dietary supplements. A drug index provides easy look-up of specific drugs and types of drugs. NEW! Updated coverage reflects the latest changes and advances relating to dental treatment, such as adverse drug reactions, antibiotic prophylaxis, osteonecrosis of the jaw, cardiovascular and cholesterol guidelines, oral anticoagulant drugs, and type 2 diabetes. NEW! Full-color design includes additional illustrations showing basic principles and internal processes, along with photographs of oral conditions and side effects.
Dental Hygiene by
Emphasizing evidence-based research and clinical competencies, Dental Hygiene: Theory and Practice, 4th Edition, provides easy-to-understand coverage of the dental hygienist's roles and responsibilities in today's practice. It offers a clear approach to science and theory, a step-by-step guide to core dental hygiene procedures, and realistic scenarios to help you develop skills in decision-making. New chapters and content focus on evidence-based practice, palliative care, professional issues, and the electronic health record. Written by Michele Leonardi Darby, Margaret M. Walsh, and a veritable Who's Who of expert contributors, Dental Hygiene follows the Human Needs Conceptual Model with a focus on client-centered care that takes the entire person into consideration. UNIQUE! Human Needs Conceptual Model framework follows Maslow's human needs theory, helping hygienists treat the whole patient - not just specific diseases. Comprehensive coverage addresses the need-to-know issues in dental hygiene - from the rationale behind the need for dental hygiene care through assessment, diagnosis, care planning, implementation, pain and anxiety control, the care of individuals with special needs, and practice management. Step-by-step procedure boxes list the equipment required and the steps involved in performing key procedures. Rationales for the steps are provided in printable PDFs online. Critical Thinking exercises and Scenario boxes encourage application and problem solving, and help prepare students for the case-based portion of the NBDHE. Client Education boxes list teaching points that the dental hygienist may use to educate clients on at-home daily oral health care. High-quality and robust art program includes full-color illustrations and clinical photographs as well as radiographs to show anatomy, complex clinical procedures, and modern equipment. Legal, Ethical, and Safety Issues boxes address issues related to risk prevention and management. Expert authors Michele Darby and Margaret Walsh lead a team of international contributors consisting of leading dental hygiene instructors, researchers, and practitioners. NEW chapters on evidence-based practice, the development of a professional portfolio, and palliative care provide research-based findings and practical application of topics of interest in modern dental hygiene care. NEW content addresses the latest research and best practices in attaining clinical competency, including nutrition and community health guidelines, nonsurgical periodontal therapy, digital imaging, local anesthesia administration, pharmacology, infection control, and the use of the electronic health record (EHR) within dental hygiene practice. NEW photographs and illustrations show new guidelines and equipment, as well as emerging issues and trends. NEW! Companion product includes more than 50 dental hygiene procedures videos in areas such as periodontal instrumentation, local anesthesia administration, dental materials manipulation, common preventive care, and more. Sold separately.
Wilkins' Clinical Practice of the Dental Hygienist by
Each new print copy includes Navigate 2 Preferred Access that unlocks a comprehensive and interactive eBook, Navigate 2 TestPrep, student practice activities and assessments, a full suite of instructor resources, and learning analytics reporting tools. Staying true to Esther Wilkins' pioneering vision that made her best-selling text the "Bible" for dental hygienists, Wilkins' Clinical Practice of the Dental Hygienist, Thirteenth Edition progresses through crucial topics in dental hygiene in a straightforward format to ensure students develop the knowledge and skills they need for successful, evidence-based practice in today's rapidly changing oral health care environment. This cornerstone text, used in almost every dental hygiene education program in the country, has been meticulously updated by previous co-authors, Linda Boyd and Charlotte Wyche, and new co-author Lisa Mallonee to even better meet the needs of today's students and faculty, while reflecting the current state of practice in dental hygiene. Maintaining the hallmark outline format, the Thirteenth Edition continues to offer the breadth and depth necessary not only for foundation courses but for use throughout the entire dental hygiene curriculum.
Care of Head and Neck Cancer Patients for Dental Hygienists and Dental Therapists by
Care of Head and Neck Cancer Patients for Dental Hygienistsand Dental Therapists An accessible advisory guide for dental professionals to the area of care for head and neck cancer patients Care of Head and Neck Cancer Patients for Dental Hygienists and Dental Therapists is an advisory guide that enables dental hygienists, dental therapists, and other health care professionals to appreciate the journey undertaken by head and neck cancer patients. Focusing on the before, during, and after treatments, the book covers common head and neck cancer treatments such as surgery, radiotherapy, chemotherapy and innovative new therapies. It also discusses treatment complications such as halitosis, osteoradionecrosis, and radiation dermatitis. Some of the other sample topics discussed by the well-qualified authors include: An introduction to substance misuse and oral health and the early detection of mouth cancer The role of a dietitian in the care of head and neck cancer patients Proton beam therapy and transoral robotic surgery Physiotherapy for someone diagnosed with a head/neck cancer Lifestyle factors in oral cancer and pain management in head and neck cancer patients Care of Head and Neck Cancer Patients for Dental Hygienists and Dental Therapists is an immensely valuable resource for dental hygienists, dental therapists, and other health care professionals who work in primary and secondary care.
Patient assessment tutorials : a step-by-step guide for the Dental Hygienist by
This updated Fourth Edition of Jill Gehrig's highly visual, step-by-step guide takes dental hygienists-in-training through the process of patient assessment, emphasizing both the actual physical assessment and the human interaction involved.
The Fourth Edition includes four chapters on communication (including an all-new motivational interviewing chapter), as well as unique Human Element sections that include real-life experiences shared by patients, students, and clinicians.
Enhanced by case studies, student learning aids, videos, and a new audio glossary, Patient Assessment Tutorials provides students with everything they need to succeed in the course and their future careers as dental hygienists.
Dental Composites by
Dental composite resins are types of synthetic resins which are used in dentistry as restorative material or adhesives. Synthetic resins evolved as restorative materials since they were insoluble, aesthetic, and insensitive to dehydration and were inexpensive. It is easy to manipulate them as well. This book presents current research in the study of dental composites, including dental composites with nano-scaled fillers; the mechanical properties of resin composite core materials; the design and development of novel urethane dimethacrylate monomers in dental compositions; and the development of low-shrinkage dental composites.
Handbook of Adhesives and Surface Preparation by
Handbook of Adhesives and Surface Preparation provides a thoroughly practical survey of all aspects of adhesives technology from selection and surface preparation to industrial applications and health and environmental factors. The resulting handbook is a hard-working reference for a wide range of engineers and technicians working in the adhesives industry and a variety of industry sectors that make considerable use of adhesives. Particular attention is given to adhesives applications in the automotive, aerospace, medical, dental and electronics sectors. A handbook that truly focuses on the applied aspects of adhesives selection and applications: this is a book that won't gather dust on the shelf Provides practical techniques for rendering materials surfaces adherable Sector-based studies explore the specific issues for automotive and aerospace, medical, dental and electronics
Biocompatibility of Dental Biomaterials by
Biocompatibility of Dental Biomaterials details and examines the fundamentals of biocompatibililty, also including strategies to combat it. As biomaterials used in the mouth are subject to different problems than those associated with the general in vivo environment, this book examines these challenges, presenting the latest research and forward-thinking strategies. Explores the fundamentals of dental biomaterials and their compatibility Presents a thorough review of material specific issues
Materials, Chemicals and Methods for Dental Applications by
This book focuses on the materials used for dental applications looking at the fundamental issues and the developments that have taken place the past decade. While it provides a broad overview of dental materials, the chemicals that are used for the preparation and fabrication of dental materials are explained as well. Also, the desired properties of these materials are discussed and the relevance of the chemical, physical, and mechanical properties is elucidated. Methods for the characterization and classification, as well as clinical studies are reviewed here. In particular, materials for dental crowns, implants, toothpaste compositions, mouth rinses, as well as materials for toothbrushes and dental floss are discussed. For example, in toothpaste compositions, several classes of materials an chemcials are incorporated, such as abrasives, detergents, humectants, thickeners, sweeteners, coloring agents, bad breath reduction agents, flavoring agents, tartar control agents, and others. These chemicals, together with their structures, are detailed in the text.
MSCs and Innovative Biomaterials in Dentistry by
This authoritative reference presents the modern concepts of mesenchymal stem cells (MSCs) and biomaterials as they pertain to the dental field. The book is organized around three main topics: MSCs biology, advanced biomaterials, and clinical applications. The chapters present basic information on stem cell biology and physiology, modern biomaterials that improve bone tissue regeneration, the biomatrices like platelet-rich fibrin (PRF) used to functionalize the biomaterials surface, the strategic and safe intraoral seats of harvesting, the new sources for MSCs, as well as the future perspectives and new challenges in these exciting fields. The contributors are top scientists with a great deal of experience in regenerative dentistry and biomedical research. They offer an international perspective and are richly cross-disciplinary, representing academia, research, and industry. MSCs and Innovative Biomaterials in Dentistry is indispensable reading for students, researchers, and clinicians who need to stay up-to-date on the cutting-edge developments of tissue engineering and regenerative medicine applied to dental sciences.
Craig's Restorative Dental Materials by
Master the use of dental materials with this all-in-one guide to restorative materials and procedures! Craig's Restorative Dental Materials, 14th Edition covers everything you need to know to understand the science of selecting dental materials when designing and fabricating restorations. It begins with fundamentals and moves on to advanced skills in the manipulation of dental materials, providing insight on the latest advances and research along the way. From an expert author team led by Ronald Sakaguchi, this comprehensive resource is considered to be the standard in the field of dental restorations. Clear, design-focused approach provides an essential understanding of the fast-changing field of restorative dental materials. Comprehensive coverage ranges from fundamental concepts to advanced skills, detailing everything you need to know to select dental materials when designing and fabricating restorations. More than 300 full-color illustrations show clinical detail with clarity and realism. Logical organization arranges chapters by major clinical procedures. Practical examples show the fundamental properties and characteristics of materials and demonstrate how basic principles relate to clinical applications. New co-editor Jack L. Ferracane is recognized worldwide as an authority in dental materials science and restorative dentistry. NEW! Cutting-edge content describes the newest materials and the latest advances and research in dental biomaterials science. NEW! More clinical photos help you apply concepts to clinical practice.
Dental Biomaterials by
The contents of this book touch on the all major dental biomaterials: polymers, composites, ceramics and metals. The first part introduces the readers to the surface physicochemical and mechanical characterizations at the nanoscopic level, and the use of finite element analysis. The second part discusses dental adhesion, resin-based composites, polymerization contraction stress, impression materials and soft liners for total prosthesis. The third part deals with ceramics in restorative dentistry: zirconia and lithium disilicate, the fractography of dental ceramics, as well as bioglass for bone growth. The fourth part discusses the toxicity of mercury in dentistry, and the use of preventive materials for dental diseases. The concluding part identifies imminent techniques for dental biomaterials, such as additive manufacturing (3D printing), and bioprinting in dentistry.
Dental Materials by
Use this quick guide to learn the essentials of dental materials! Dental Materials: A Pocket Guide describes how to recognize, select, and mix the most widely used materials in modern dentistry. A flip-book format covers each dental material in two pages, with the first page showing photos of the material before and after mixing, and the facing page including step-by-step mixing and use instructions. This compact, spiral-bound guide is ideal for on-the-go study or chairside reference. Flip-book style is ideal for quick identification and quizzing, devoting two pages to each dental material - one with photos, and the other featuring its description - so you can choose to view only the image, only the description, or both. Hundreds of high-quality photographs help you recognize, identify, and select dental materials, showing materials in three ways: 1) as they appear within manufacturer packaging, 2) as they appear in their unmixed forms, and 3) as they appear at the completion of mixing. Need-to-know information includes the form in which the dental material is supplied, its composition, the armamentarium for use, and step-by-step directions on how to mix and use the material. Helpful hints or special considerations highlight specific terms, issues, properties, or clinical uses of the materials. Convenient, easy-to-follow organization groups chapters into the main categories of materials including restorative materials, impression materials, dental waxes, bonding agents, whitening agents, and others. Compact, pocket size with spiral binding is ideal for chairside use or on-the-go study. Equipment Commonly Used to Manipulate Materials chapter sets up a foundation of essential knowledge by describing the equipment needed for work in dental materials. Historical Dental Materials chapter covers older materials that may still have a place within many dental offices. Quick-reference appendices make it easier to look up metric conversion tables along with photos of commonly used brand-name products for each type of material.
Scenario Based MCQ in Dentistry by
Dentistry has constantly evolved over the years to keep abreast of the latest trends, techniques, and diagnostic procedures. Dental Schools have undergone a number of changes in an effort to arrive upon the ideal format for testing clinical knowledge in examinations. Multiple-choice questions (MCQs) have been the most common modality by which dental students were examined. Although MCQs enable the testing of a broad range of topics, as well as being cost effective, they have largely been abandoned in favour of scenario-based questions (SBQs). Traditional MCQs often abstract and measure only whether people recall facts in their short-term memory. Converting these questions to scenario-based questions can increase the level of difficulty, measure higher level thought and providing relevant context. The authors of Scenario Based MCQ in Dentistry have endeavoured to keep these facts in mind and provide a significant number of high-quality SBQs that comprehensively examine the dental curriculum. Most of the questions are scenario based. Each question not only provides an opportunity to apply clinical knowledge and correctly identify the single best answer to a question, but also to learn why the other answers are wrong, greatly increasing the clinical acumen and learning opportunity of the reader. Selection tests and competitive exams are hurdles that a candidate seeks to clear with ease. It all depends on meticulous preparation and the quality of resource materials available to the student. Considering the quantity of subject matter that needs to be covered, it becomes a herculean task unless the candidate chooses the right training tool. Reference texts are often too advanced and undergraduate texts are insufficiently updated or lacking in depth and detail. In this context, a lack of good revision aids can be frustrating. This book has been compiled with the selection tests in mind as a tool for rapid revision and analytical learning. It is useful for doctors, dental students, graduates, dental nurses, technicians, as well as specialists seeking professional excellence, or for those studying for the various licensing exams conducted by SCFHS, Saudi Board, HAAD, OMSB, SCHQ, DHCC, DHA, and MOH. This book aims to provide dental students with a useful source for exam preparation, as well as for supplementing the readers' knowledge so that they feel fully prepared for the various postgraduate entrance examinations.
