Dental Health Services Library: eBooks; Morphology, Oral Health & Hygiene, Oral Manifestations, Oral Medicine, Orthodontia

Dental Morphology for Anthropology : An Illustrated Manual by Edgar, Heather J.H

Dental Anatomy and Morphology by Hilton Riquieri US

Innovations in Preventive Dentistry by Splieth, Christian Prevention is better than healing ... or treatment. Thus, preventive dentistry is a cross-sectional challenge for all fields in dentistry, and one that has already achieved great success, as shown by the caries decline in many countries. The walls between prevention and treatment have recently fallen in caries and periodontal disease, as well as in orthodontics, where guidance of function and space maintenance are a combination of prevention and treatment. This book discusses new developments and innovations in preventive dentistry, from primary "real" prevention to secondary prevention by inactivating initial lesions, and on to tertiary prevention to avoid subsequent progression and complications of manifest oral disease. This evidence base is then translated into clinical dental practice. The book addresses everyone interested or involved in dentistry, including students, the whole dental practice team, educators, health scientists, and policy makers, who want to gain insight into these up-to-date clinical practices and future developments. It intends to make an impact on teaching and all fields of clinical dentistry – not by giving cookbook recipes, but by pointing out the rationale behind the changes in our routines.

Sjogren's syndrome and oral health: disease characteristics and management of oral manifestations by Cha, Seunghee This book provides a thorough update on Sjögren’s syndrome (SS) and its adverse impacts on oral health. The opening section focuses on the clinical and laboratory characteristics of SS and its current management. Here, readers will find information on diagnostic criteria, pharmacotherapy, dental management, and the importance of saliva in oral health and SS. Attention then turns to the immunopathogenesis of SS, which includes the mechanisms of secretory dysfunction, myoepithelial cell functions in salivary gland physiology and disease, dysregulated innate and adaptive immunity, and B-cell expansion and neoplasia. The final section details important advances in SS diagnosis and therapy. The differential diagnoses of recurrent glandular swelling, glandular irrigation and sialendoscopy, and salivary gland ultrasound for SS in children are explained, along with the pharmacological management for SS, clinical care for dry eyes, and gene therapy. This book will be of interest to not only dental practitioners and researchers but also rheumatologists and pathologists.

XEROSTOMIA: AN INTERDISCIPLINARY TO MANAGING DRY MOUTH by GINSBERG, SARAH M Xerostomia: An Interdisciplinary Approach to Managing Dry Mouth provides an overview of xerostomia for physicians, dentists, nurses, speech-language pathologists, and otolaryngologists who encounter the condition in their practice. Xerostomia is a common condition, yet only one in seven cases are referred to a speech-language pathologist or otolaryngologist for treatment. Featuring contributions from speech-language pathologists, otolaryngologists, dentists, oral pathologists, and nurses, the text’s interdisciplinary approach and evidence-based framework provide practitioners with an awareness and understanding of xerostomia that will improve interprofessional coordination and enhance patient care. With an accompanying website including patient education resources, Xerostomia addresses the following topics: An otolaryngologist’s view of xerostomia, including causes, symptoms, evaluation, and treatment; Patient perspectives of living with xerostomia, including quality of life measures and new research findings; Effect of xerostomia on dental and oral health; Voice disorders associated with xerostomia; Impact of xerostomia on swallowing; The science of saliva, including composition and production; and Pharmacological management of xerostomia. Xerostomia: An Interdisciplinary Approach to Managing Dry Mouth provides indispensable information for general practitioners, internists, dentists, nurses, otolaryngologists, speech-language pathologists, and speech-language pathology students, as well as any health care practitioners who encounter patients with xerostomia.

Nutrition and oral health by McKenna, Gerry This book explores in depth the relationships between nutrition and oral health. Oral health is an integral part of general health across the life course, and this book examines nutritional and oral health considerations from childhood through to old age, with particular attention focused on the consequences of demographic changes. Current knowledge on the consequences of poor diet for the development and integrity of the oral cavity, tooth loss, and the progression of oral diseases is thoroughly reviewed. Likewise, the importance of maintenance of a disease-free and functional dentition for nutritional well-being at all stages of life is explained. Evidence regarding the impact of oral rehabilitation on nutritional status is evaluated, and strategies for changing dietary behaviour in order to promote oral health are described. Nutrition and Oral Health will be an ideal source of information for all who are seeking a clearly written update on the subject

Oral Health and Systemic Disease by Rose Holmes Covering specific mouth and dental conditions such as ulcers, halitosis and tooth grinding, this book recognises the link between these conditions and systemic diseases. It provides a review of some aspects of the basic anatomy and physiology of the mouth and teeth, such as biofilms, quorum sensing and cavitations, alongside information from current research. The book also includes discussion of the impact of natural ageing processes, satiety and taste perception as these associate with oral (and systemic) health. Discussing associations to systemic diseases such as cardiovascular disease, diabetes and adverse pregnancy outcomes, the book offers scientifically evidenced protocol possibilities and a balanced viewpoint. With practical guidance and theory, Oral Health and Systemic Disease is the go-to resource for nutritional therapists and functional medicine practitioners who want to deepen their knowledge of mouth and dental health issues.

Sexually Transmissible Oral Diseases by S. R. Prabhu (Editor); Nicholas Van Wagoner (Associate Editor); Jeff Hill (Associate Editor); Shailendra Sawleshwarkar (Associate Editor)

Craniofacial and Dental Developmental Defects by J. Timothy Wright (Editor) This book provides the practitioner with a framework for establishing a diagnosis and developing a suitable treatment plan in patients presenting with a range of developmental defects of the teeth. The conditions covered include failure of tooth eruption, hypodontia, premature tooth exfoliation, defects of enamel development, and defects of dentin development, with full consideration of both syndromic and non-syndromic defects. In each case the phenotype and genotype are first described, followed by diagnostic information, including the availability of genetic testing, and treatment options. Summarizing tables are used to highlight the key diagnostic features, and helpful illustrated case presentations are included. Cleft palate is also addressed, with details on etiology, phenotypes, treatment timing and approaches, and dental management. The closing chapter provides stimulating reflections on potential future directions in the diagnosis and treatment of these disorders.

Oral Cancer, An Issue of Dental Clinics of North America, E-Book by Stoopler, Eric T.; Sollecito, Thomas P.

Diseases and Conditions in Dentistry by Keyvan Moharamzadeh Diseases and Conditions in Dentistry: An Evidence-Based Reference is the ideal, one-stop guide for dentistry clinicians to keep at their side.  Provides a quick reference for the busy clinician covering diseases and conditions in endodontics, periodontics, prosthodontics and restorative dentistry Offers identically formatted chapters following the same clear and concise layout with detailed clinical cases and evidence-based discussions Features a companion website with additional clinical photographs, radiographs, and case notes  

Cawson's Essentials of Oral Pathology and Oral Medicine by Edward W. Odell Retaining the friendly and accessible approach that strongly characterised the success of previous editions, Cawson's Essentials of Oral Pathology and Oral Medicine, ninth edition continues to support a new generation of students as they develop an understanding of oral pathology and oral medicine, together with the systemic diseases that are relevant to the practice of dentistry. Prepared by an expert of international renown, the latest edition of this popular volume has been reorganized and fully updated throughout to accurately reflect the learning needs of today's student. Containing a rich array of photographs, artworks and helpful flow diagrams, the book also contains self-assessment to enable the learner to gauge his or her knowledge base within the framework of current undergraduate curricula. Cawson's Essentials of Oral Pathology and Oral Medicine, ninth edition will be ideal for undergraduate dental students worldwide and those in post-graduate training Brand new edition of the first textbook to integrate oral medicine, pathology and surgery in a practical, student-orientated fashion! Friendly, accessible writing style provides ready access to essential information Ample use of flow charts guide the student thorough the process of differential diagnosis for a range of conditions Evidenced-based throughout to help facilitate safe clinical practice Presents the latest national and international guidelines Helpful self-assessment provides an indication of the level of understanding and problem solving abilities expected at an undergraduate level Useful summary charts aid subject revision and understanding Expanded to meet the higher-level of understanding and application of knowledge required of students today Contains trusted PubMed ID references and websites to ensure relevance and immediacy Updated design - with helpful colour coding - aids reader engagement and retention of facts Improved illustration program helps clarify complex physiological processes and other challenging concepts

E-Health Care in Dentistry and Oral Medicine by Nicolas Giraudeau (Editor) This clinically oriented book presents the state of the art in e-health care within dentistry and oral medicine ("e-oral health") with the aim of acquainting dentists and other oral health care professionals with its uses and advantages, especially with regard to diagnosis. It will assist all who wish to learn about teledentistry protocols and the e-oral health branch or to implement e-oral health solutions and procedures in clinical practice. The book opens by discussing general aspects of e-oral health, including tools, networks, and the very important ethical considerations. The use and specific benefits of e-oral health technologies in the diagnosis of different conditions, orthodontic assessment, implantology evaluation, and caries prevention are then fully explained. Finally, examples are provided of the ways in which teledentistry functions in different countries on different continents. e-Oral health is a burgeoning field that encompasses teledentistry as well as other uses of information and communication technologies for oral health care purposes. This book will be an ideal guide for not only dentists but also dental hygienists, dental nurses, and other professionals.

Textbook of oral cancer: prevention, diagnosis and management by Warnakulasuriya, Saman; Greenspan, John S. (Editors) This comprehensive multidisciplinary book examines all aspects of cancers of the mouth and oropharynx with the aim of equipping advanced students and practitioners in the early stages of specialist training with an up-to-date guide and reference. A multinational team of authors – all experts in the field of oral oncology – provide illuminating contributions on the full range of relevant topics: epidemiology, risk factors, clinical features, staging and prognostic factors, pathology, diagnostic techniques, disease prevention, surgery, radiotherapy, and chemotherapy. Molecular biology, molecular targeted therapies for advanced cases, and future diagnostic and prognostic applications of new technologies also receive careful attention. In providing a wealth of essential information and guidance in a practical format, the book will be a superb asset for senior graduate students in dentistry and specialist trainees in head and neck oncology. It will also be of high value for the many physicians, surgeons, pathologists, dentists, and specialists involved in the prevention, diagnosis, and management of squamous cell carcinomas of the oral cavity and oropharynx.

Clinical Guide to Oral Diseases by Dimitris Malamos; Crispian Scully A quick reference and revision guide on the most common oral and perioral diseases seen in clinical practice Clinical Guide to Oral Diseases is a concise reference on the common diseases encountered in daily practice. Presenting a large selection of clinical cases, this user-friendly resource covers a range of oral and perioral lesions located in hard and soft tissues of the mouth and neck, as well as oral manifestations of various systemic diseases. Nearly 300 high-quality color images complement succinct descriptions of clinical cases seen in both community and hospital care settings. Divided into three parts, the text first covers oral lesions classified by their color, appearance, and symptomatology such as bleeding, disturbances of saliva, taste, and orofacial pain. Part two describes the most common oral lesions by location, including those in the buccal mucosae, floor of mouth, gingivae and jaws, lips, neck, palate, salivary glands, tongue, and teeth. The third part encompasses oral lesions that are normal variations or those common to specific age groups or associated with various clinical phenomena. Provides nearly 300 high-quality clinical photos and relevant questions to help lead readers to the proper diagnosis of common oral diseases Contains concise tables relevant to each chapter with a list of common oral lesions and conditions Offers MCQs of varying levels of difficulty to help readers test their knowledge in Oral Medicine Includes clinical flow charts according to the location and duration of oral lesions Incorporates the ICD-10 Codes of oral lesions and diseases Clinical Guide to Oral Diseases is a valuable reference for general dental and medical practitioners, undergraduate dental students, and postgraduate trainees in oral and maxillofacial surgery, oral medicine, oral pathology, periodontology as well as general pathology, dermatology or head and neck oncology.

Burket's Oral Medicine by Michael Glick (Editor); Martin S. Greenberg (Editor); Peter B. Lockhart (Editor); Stephen J. Challacombe (Editor) This thoroughly revised Thirteenth Edition of Burket's Oral Medicine reflects the scope of modern Oral Medicine with updated content written by 80 contributing oral medicine and medical experts from across the globe. The text emphasizes the diagnosis and management of diseases of the mouth and maxillofacial region as well as safe dental management for patients with complex medical disorders such as cardiovascular disease, cancer, infectious diseases, bleeding disorders, renal diseases, and many more. In addition to comprehensively expanded chapters on oral mucosal diseases, including those on ulcers, blisters, red, white and pigmented lesions, readers will also find detailed discussions on: orofacial pain, temporomandibular disorders, headache and salivary gland disease; oral and oropharyngeal cancers, including the management of oral complications of cancer therapy; genetics, laboratory medicine and transplantation medicine; pediatric and geriatric oral medicine; psychiatry and psychology; clinical research; and interpreting the biomedical literature The Thirteenth Edition of Burket's Oral Medicine is an authoritative reference valuable to students, residents, oral medicine specialists, teachers, and researchers as well as dental and medical specialists.

Clinical decision-making in oral medicine: a concise guide to diagnosis and treatment by Santos-Silva, Alan Roger; Lopes, Marcio Ajudarte; Scarini, Joao Figueira; Vargas, Pablo Agustin; Paes de Almeida, Oslei Accurately diagnosing the myriad of diseases that can affect the mouth, guiding patients correctly, and offering treatment with competence is a permanent challenge for dental surgeons and health professionals. Often, the diagnosis of these diseases is neglected or wrongly performed. This concise book guides health professionals in clinical decision making in oral diseases, assisting them not only on the diagnosis and treatment of oral and maxillofacial diseases, but also in terms of value and benefit of who treats the condition and, above all, who will be treated. The work provides guidelines formulated by a compilation of specific protocols of conduct, focusing on the scientific evidence and enriched by the authors’ critical analyses. The book is divided into eight main sections that include twenty-eight chapters. Most of them have no more than 5 pages and follow the same format to standardize their use. Each chapter begins with a summary of the topic, a brief description of the main disease that fall into this diagnostic category, and their main definitions. Then, the clinical characteristics, ways of making the diagnosis, and a protocol for treatment for each lesion are presented. Additionally, the experienced authors interestingly discuss their perceptions on how to give bad news in the Oral Medicine setting; and the last section is especially dedicated to the dental management of medically complex patients or with little-known diseases, such as Burning Mouth Syndrome and COVID-19. More than 140 high resolution clinical images illustrate the book.

Pathological Basis of Oral and Maxillofacial Diseases by S. R. Prabhu (Editor); Syed Ali Khurram (Editor); Omar Kujan (Editor); Merva Soluk Tekkesin (Editor) A comprehensive guide for integrating pathology into a clinical setting. Pathological Basis of Oral and Maxillofacial Diseases presents the basic principles involved in disease mechanisms in an easy-to-understand way. By integrating recent advances in molecular, immunologic, and genetic understanding of oral disease, the book helps readers enhance their knowledge and its application in a clinical setting. This book is divided into nine sections, covering key topics such as inflammation, genetic diseases, and neoplasia, with contributions from over 50 international authors. Diagrams, clinical, radiographic, and histopathology images and tables supplement the text, and the editors have ensured a consistent approach throughout. Topics covered in Pathological Basis of Oral and Maxillofacial Diseases include: The influences of nutrition and the environment Cellular structure and function, causes and mechanisms of cellular pathology. Immunity and host defence mechanisms, immune dysfunctions affecting the oro-facial complex. Inflammation and inflammatory diseases of the oro-facial complex Human microbiome, with reference to dysbiosis in dental caries and periodontal diseases Oral manifestations of systemic diseases and the oral-systemic link and its impact on general and oral health Oral potentially malignant and malignant disorders that are a major threat to global public health. Bridging the gap in dental training programs from basic medical science in the initial years to clinical practice, Pathological Basis of Oral and Maxillofacial Diseases is an essential reference for dental students, trainees and practitioners seeking to grasp the pathological basis of disease and apply that knowledge to the oral and maxillofacial regions.

Orthodontics by Daljit S. Gill; Farhad B. Naini This latest addition to the Dental Update books series provides a clear and thorough guide to contemporary orthodontic principles and practice. Written as a highly practical clinical manual, it covers patient assessment, diagnosis and treatment planning of both standard class malocclusions and specific entities such as impacted teeth, digit sucking habits and asymmetries, as well as appliance techniques, complex and multidisciplinary care, and retention. Orthodontics: Principles and Practice is written by a range of international specialists in the field. It is an essential guide to the subject for dentists seeking to improve their knowledge of orthodontics, as well as dentistry students and trainee orthodontists. Key features Covers the full process of orthodontic treatment from initial patient assessment to post-treatment stability Provides up to date, evidence based and clinically relevant information Presented in a clear practical format for use as a clinical manual Written by international orthodontic specialists Highly illustrated in full colour throughout

Integrated Clinical Orthodontics by Vinod Krishnan; Ze'ev Davidovitch (Editor) Integrated Clinical Orthodontics provides an important new resource on the clinical interactions between the practice of orthodontics and other areas of clinical dentistry and medicine. Having at its heart the paradigm of patient-centred care, the book not only integrates the knowledge, skills, and experience of all the disciplines of dentistry and medicine, but also eases the work of orthodontists in arriving at an accurate diagnosis and a comprehensive treatment plan. Presented in a highly visual and practical format, Integrated Clinical Orthodontics uses clinical case presentations to illustrate the rationale and application of the integrated approach to a variety of clinical scenarios. Integrated Clinical Orthodontics covers areas of complexity in clinical orthodontics, specifically the role of the orthodontist as a member of a multidisciplinary team. The book outlines and details the management of congenital orofacial deformities, sleep disorders, esthetic smile creation and temporomandibular joint problems, and additionally and importantly includes specific protocols for effective communication with experts in other specialties.

Orthodontics by Lee W. Graber (Editor); Robert L. Vanarsdall (Editor); Katherine W. L. Vig (Editor) A leading orthodontics reference, Orthodontics: Current Principles and Techniques, 5th Edition provides the latest information from the best experts in the field. It reflects today's emerging techniques, including new information on esthetics, genetics, cone-beam and other three-dimensional technologies, and evidence-based treatment. Coverage of diagnosis and treatment ranges from basic to highly complex situations, all in a concise, extensively illustrated format. Also included with this edition is a companion website that includes an electronic version of all chapters, supplemental content in select chapters, and a complete image collection to help with research and presentations. Written by Lee W. Graber, Robert L. Vanarsdall Jr., and Katherine W. L. Vig, along with a team of expert contributors, this is your go-to book for the practical orthodontic information you can use every day. Comprehensive coverage includes foundational theory and the latest on materials and techniques used in today's practice. Full-color photographs make it easy to see and distinguish the subtle differences that are necessary to mastering treatment planning. More than 2,500 images include a mixture of radiographs, clinical photos, and anatomic or schematic line drawings, showing examples of treatments, techniques, and outcomes. Detailed case studies guide you through the decision-making process, showing the consequences of various treatment techniques over time. Extensive references cite the latest in orthodontic research, so it's easy to follow up on evidence-based information. Authoritative research is provided by a team of three experienced, renowned authors/editors along with a team of worldwide experts. Cutting-edge content includes the latest concepts and techniques in orthodontics, including new coverage of temporary anchorage devices, self-ligating bracket biomechanics, clear aligner treatments, technological advances in imaging, and lasers. Improved organization separates topics into six parts and 29 chapters, enhancing both learning and research. Chapter outlines serve as a handy reference tool for practitioners and researchers. New lead author Dr. Lee Graber adds a fresh perspective to the experience of authors Drs. Robert Vanarsdall Jr., and Katherine W. L. Vig. Access to a companion website includes an electronic version of all chapters, plus case studies, a complete image collection, and supplemental content.

Hypodontia by John A. Hobkirk; G. Steven Bassi; Daljit S. Gill; Jane R. Goodman; Kenneth W. Hemmings; Steven P. Jones; Amanda L. O'Donnell Hypodontia: A Team Approach to Management provides specialist clinicians with a practical reference to the multidisciplinary management of patients with this condition. The book synthesises current information and best practice from specialties involved in the treatment of hypodontia into one comprehensive volume, emphasising a problem-based approach throughout. This volume is structured over three sections. Part One offers background information on the epidemiology and aetiology of hypodontia, its inheritance patterns and syndromic associations, as well as describing the clinical features of the condition and outlining the importance of a multidisciplinary approach to patient care. Part Two addresses key issues in hypodontia management, namely challenges posed by excessive or inadequate space within and between the dental arches, specific occlusal considerations, and problems related to the supporting tissues. Part Three considers treatment of hypodontia within the framework of three broad stages of dental development: the primary/early fixed dentition, the late mixed dentition/early permanent dentition, and finally the established dentition. Hypodontia: A Team Approach to Management draws on the best available evidence and opinion to provide a complete, in-depth practical resource for dental specialists dealing with this complex condition. Complete multidisciplinary resource on hypodontia Authored by a team with over 30 years of clinical and research experience in the treatment of hypodontia Extensive reference lists Features comprehensive section on age-related approaches to treatment Many clinical illustrations in full colour

A World View of Bioculturally Modified Teeth by Scott E. Burnett (Editor); Joel D. Irish (Editor) "Brings together studies from diverse time periods and geographic regions to deliver a comprehensive biocultural treatment of dental modification. The volume amply documents the diversity of ways humans modify their teeth and the variety of reasons they may do so."--Debbie Guatelli-Steinberg, author of What Teeth Reveal about Human Evolution Tooth modification is the longest-lasting type of body modification and the most widespread in the archaeological record. It has been practiced throughout many time periods and on every occupied continent and conveys information about individual people, their societies, and their relationships to others. This necessary volume presents the wide spectrum of intentional dental modification in humans across the globe over the past 16,000 years. These essays draw on research from the Americas, Africa, Asia, Oceania, and Europe. Through archaeological studies, historical and ethnographic sources, and observations of contemporary people, contributors examine instances of tooth filing, notching, inlays, dyeing, and removal. They discuss how to distinguish between these purposeful modifications of teeth and normal wear and tear or disease while demonstrating what patterns of tooth modification can reveal about people and their cultures in the past and present. A volume in the series Bioarchaeological Interpretations of the Human Past: Local, Regional, and Global Perspectives, edited by Clark Spencer Larsen

Clinical Problem Solving in Orthodontics and Paediatric Dentistry E-Book by Millett, Declan T.; Day, Peter; Campbell, Caroline; Hosey, Marie Thérèse

Pediatric Orthodontics by George Litsas Pediatric Orthodontics: Theory and Practice provides readers (practicing dentists, medical residents, pediatric specialists) with the knowledge to manage cases in regular pediatric orthodontic practice by presenting answers to specific problems related to diagnosis, clinical findings and treatment methods. It is also an essential supplement for the post-graduate student's dental curriculum. The book's problem based format allows readers to test and improve their knowledge about relevant topics which include craniofacial growth, facial aesthetics, musculoskeletal structure, occlusal guidance, maxillary transverse discrepancy, dental anomalies, tooth impaction, and, class II and class III malocclusions.

Orthodontics for Dental Hygienists and Dental Therapists by Tina Raked Covers essential orthodontic theory for dental hygienists and dental therapists  Clear, comprehensive, and easy to read, Orthodontics for Dental Hygienists and Dental Therapists outlines orthodontic theory and explains clinical techniques, without assuming prior knowledge. By learning the orthodontic mechanics and fundamentals, dental hygiene and therapy students can become valuable team members in an orthodontic practice. Written in a student-friendly style, the text begins by outlining craniofacial growth and tooth development, orthodontic assessment, and biomechanics and anchorage, before introducing fixed and removable appliances, class I, II and III treatment principles, and cleft palate treatment, and ending with a chapter on adult orthodontics.  Student-friendly guide to essential orthodontic theory and clinical techniques for dental hygienists, dental therapists, and oral health therapists Superbly illustrated with explanations on terminologies, orthodontic appliances, instruments, and procedures Features multiple choice questions at the end of each chapter and interactive self-assessment questions on a companion website to help you test your knowledge The ideal overall introduction to orthodontics, Orthodontics for Dental Hygienists and Dental Therapists is an indispensable companion for those wishing to pursue a career in orthodontic practices after graduation.