SUCCESSFUL LOCAL ANESTHESIA FOR RESTORATIVE DENTISTRY AND ENDODONTICS by 
Local Anaesthesia in Dentistry by
This book, richly illustrated in full colour, is a comprehensive guide to the use of local anaesthesia in dentistry that will meet the needs of both students and dental practitioners. It provides the reader with ample background information on the origin of pain and the pharmacology of anaesthetics, and describes the anatomy of the trigeminal nerve in detail. Subsequent chapters cover key are as such as general practical aspects, local anesthaesia in the upper and the lower jaw, the use of local anaesthetics in children, local and systematic complications, and the prevention of side effects. Patients at particular risk of adverse effects are identified and attention drawn to significant legal aspects. This second edition has been completely revised, with more attention to safety, environment, and sterility. Additional injection techniques have been included, and a new chapter is devoted to microprocessor-assisted administration of anaesthetics. Throughout, care has been taken to ensure that the information is clearly presented and the text is easy to read.
Local Anesthesia in Dentistry by
Local Anesthesia in Dentistry Distills the current body of knowledge in local anesthesia into a single, easy-to-use volume Local Anesthesia in Dentistry: A Locoregional Approach provides comprehensive coverage of all aspects of local anesthetics, including anatomic considerations, pharmacology, armamentarium, injection techniques, indications, contraindications, complications, novel anesthetics formulations, and more. In-depth chapters offer clear criteria and guidelines for patient care, supported by hundreds of evidence-based references. Alongside this, standalone appendixes are hosted on the book's companion website. In these appendixes, the authors have distilled a wide body of research, summarizing the findings of the seminal studies in the field, including historical landmark studies and clinical trial data to support practical aspects of locoregional anesthesia discussed in the textbook. This easy-to-use volume: Provides students and professionals with a one-stop resource on local anesthesia in dentistry Offers critical evaluations of research and literature on each topic and subtopic Addresses all common local anesthetic techniques, including basic injection, mandibular and maxillary anesthesia, and local anesthesia in children Features practical quantitative data and step-by-step information on situations encountered in daily practice Designed to support all levels of dental professionals, Local Anesthesia in Dentistry: A Locoregional Approach is written by two highly experienced practitioners, making this authoritative resource a must-have for dentists, dental nurses, dental technicians, hygienists, specialists, students, and researchers. It is also a valuable reference for other healthcare providers looking to support future study.
GUIDE TO DENTAL SEDATION by
Sedation is practiced in all areas of dentistry, and clinicians who want to offer sedation to their patients must have a thorough understanding of how to administer sedation safely and effectively. This concise guide bridges the gap between classroom instruction and the actual application of various methods of sedation. The considerations for each dental specialty are covered, with special focus on pediatric and special needs patients. Chapters summarize the medications used in sedation, including dosages, warnings, and reversal agents, and sections on nitrous oxide discuss how to administer it without harm to the provider. Minimizing pain and anxiety for patients is as important a goal in dentistry as providing a functional and esthetic smile, and this concise reference book provides best practices to achieve it.
Anatomy for Dental Medicine by
Anatomy for Dental Medicine, Latin Nomenclature, combines award-winning, full-color illustrations, explanatory text, and summary tables to guide the reader through the complex anatomy of the head and neck as well as other body regions relevant to dental medicine. Each region is arranged in a user-friendly format beginning with the skeletal framework. The musculature is then added, followed by the neurovasculature, and finally, topographic anatomy shows all structures in situ. Key features: All labels and anatomic terminology are in Latin nomenclature Over 1,200 clear, detailed, full-color illustrations Expanded captions elucidate key concepts and contain relevant clinical correlations Over 150 tables for quick access to key information Includes embryology and "rest of body" anatomy Expanded neuroanatomy chapter Sectional anatomy chapter that includes radiographic images to facilitate clinical understanding Appendix covering the anatomy for local anesthesia with step-by-step instructions for these important procedures Appendices with review questions and answers, both factual and clinical-vignette style Anatomy for Dental Medicine, Latin Nomenclature, includes access to WinkingSkull.com PLUS, the interactive online study aid, with all full-color illustrations and radiographs from this volume and the review questions and answers in an interactive format. Review or test your anatomy knowledge with timed self-tests using the labels on-and-off function on the illustrations, with access to instant results.
Essentials of Dental Anatomy and Oral Histology by
Along with previous chapters of oral histology, detailed morphology of both deciduous and permanent sets of dentition, development of occlusion, basic method of tooth carving, vasculature and innervations of orofacial regions and maxillary sinus are the new inclusions of this text. This book contains considerable number of colored photographs, original photomicrographs, illustrations, tables and diagrams, believing strongly that anatomical and histological textbooks must present information in a visual format. The text book is written with a view to present the subject to the undergraduate students and it is a humble attempt to fill the niche for the students of dentistry with the current information about the development, structure and function of teeth and associated structures.
Mineralized Tissues in Oral and Craniofacial Science by
Mineralized Tissues in Oral and Craniofacial Science is a major comprehensive update on knowledge in the field of mineralized tissues in the oral and craniofacial region. Drs. McCauley and Somerman assembled an international team of researchers and clinicians, offering a global perspective on the current knowledge in this field. Basic and clinical correlates reinforce the significance of research to clinical diagnoses and therapies, written in a manner that lends easily to their use for case study teaching venues. Section 1 features the many aspects of bone in the craniofacial region, including embryology, cell biology, and stem cell biology. Section 2 focuses on teeth-tooth development, dentin, enamel, cementum, and tooth regeneration. Section 3 discusses the interaction between bones and teeth, including those associated with inflammatory processes, periodontal ligaments, biomechanics, and other impact factors-such as nutrition, metabolic bone diseases and therapeutic modalities. The novel approach of linking the basic principles of the cell and molecular biology of hard tissues to clinical correlates will appeal to readers at all levels of their research careers, both students and faculty; faculty interested in a comprehensive text for reference; and clinicians interested in the biologic aspects of bones and teeth.
Clinical Oral Anatomy by
This superbly illustrated book presents the most current and comprehensive review of oral anatomy for clinicians and researchers alike. In 26 chapters, the reader is taken on a unique anatomical journey, starting with the oral fissure, continuing via the maxilla and mandible to the tongue and floor of the mouth, and concluding with the temporomandibular joint and masticatory muscles. Each chapter offers a detailed description of the relevant anatomical structures and their spatial relationships, provides quantitative morphological assessments, and explains the relevance of the region for clinical dentistry. All dental health care professionals require a sound knowledge of anatomy for the purposes of diagnostics, treatment planning, and therapeutic intervention. A full understanding of the relationship between anatomy and clinical practice is the ultimate objective, and this book will enable the reader to achieve such understanding as the basis for provision of the best possible treatment for each individual patient as well as recognition and comprehension of unexpected clinical findings.
Gray's Anatomy for Students Flash Cards by
Based on the phenomenal artwork found in the 3rd edition of Gray's Anatomy for Students, this set of 350 flashcards is the perfect review companion to help you test your anatomical knowledge for course exams or the USMLE Step 1! It's portable, it's concise, it's simply the best way to study anatomy. in a flash! Conveniently access all of the need-to-know anatomy information! Each card presents beautiful 4-color artwork or a radiologic image of a particular structure/area of the body, with numbered leader lines indicating anatomical structures; labels to the structures are listed by number on the reverse, in addition to relevant functions, clinical correlations, and more. Fully grasp the practical applications of anatomy with "In the Clinic" discussions on most cards, which relate structures to corresponding clinical disorders; a page reference to the companion textbook (Gray's Anatomy for Students, 3rd Edition) facilitates access to further information. Carry selected groups of flashcards wherever your studying takes you with the aid of pre-punched holes and a convenient binding ring. Access a clear, visual review of key concepts with wiring diagrams that detail the innervation of nerves to organs and other body parts, as well as muscle cards covering functions and attachments. Study efficiently while being confident in your mastery of the most important anatomical concepts! Flashcards have been thoroughly revised to reflect the updates made to the companion text, Gray's Anatomy for Students, 3rd Edition. Understand the clinical relevance of your anatomical knowledge with brand-new clinical imaging cards added to the set.
Pocket Anatomy and Physiology by
Access all of the A&P information you need - whenever and wherever you need it! In class or in practice, all of the A & P information you need is at your fingertips in this handy, easy-to-understand pocket guide. Crystal-clear, full-color illustrations with concise labels put all the need-to-know A&P information at your fingertips. Whether you're looking for a cross section of the cardiac conducting system, a postoperative view of a total hip replacement, or any other perspective on the human body - you'll find it here. See what students and practitioners are saying online about previous edition... "Must for A&P students! I am officially addicted to this pocket guide." "Absolutely amazing! This thing is a lifesaver! It captures the important details and summarizes it for easy comprehension. The images are very detailed and the quality is fantastic. It is worth every penny." "Great size for my needs as a clinical practitioner. Love that it's laminated, easy to use headings, clear pictures; has everything I need and so portable, I can take it anywhere."
Wheeler's Dental Anatomy, Physiology and Occlusion by
Applying dental anatomy to the practice of dentistry, Wheeler's Dental Anatomy, Physiology, and Occlusion, 10th Edition provides illustrated coverage of dentitions, pulp formation, the sequence of eruptions, and clinical considerations. The market leader, this text is used as a reference in creating examination questions for the dental anatomy and occlusion section of the NBDE Part I. This edition expands its focus on clinical applications and includes dozens of online 360-degree and 3-D tooth animations. Written by expert educator and lecturer Dr. Stanley Nelson, Wheeler's Dental Anatomy provides a solid foundation in this core subject for the practice of dentistry. Over 900 full-color images include detailed, well-labeled anatomical illustrations as well as clinical photographs Practical appendices include Review of Tooth Morphology with a concise review of tooth development from in utero to adolescence to adulthood, and Tooth Traits of the Permanent Dentition with tables for each tooth providing detailed information such as tooth notation, dimensions, position of proximal contacts, heights, and curvatures. 360-degree virtual reality animations on the Evolve companion website demonstrate 26 tooth views from multiple directions, while 27 3-D animations demonstrate dental structure and mandibular movement, helping you refine your skills in tooth identification and examination. 64 detachable flash cards show tooth traits and many illustrations from the book, making it easy to prepare for tests as well as for the NBDE and NBDHE. 32 labeling exercises on Evolve challenge you to identify tooth structures and facial anatomy with drag-and-drop labels. NEW Clinical Applications of Dental Anatomy, Physiology and Occlusion chapter includes practical applications and case studies, including instructions on root planing and scaling, extraction techniques and forces, relationship of fillings to pulp form and enamel form, and occlusal adjustment of premature occlusal contacts and arch form in relationship to bite splint designs, all preparing you for the NBDE's new focus on clinical applications. NEW photos, illustrations, and research keep you up to date with the latest dental information. Three NEW animations on the Evolve companion website demonstrate occlusal adjustments.
Dental Anatomy by
Loaded with meticulously detailed, beautifully illustrated structures of the human dental anatomy and the surrounding systems that support its function, clearly and concisely labeled for easy identification. Illustrations by award-winning and best-selling medical illustrator Vincent Perez, whose life mission is cataloging the beauty and detail of our complicated body systems for the medical professional, the formative student and the inquisitive layperson. Suggested uses: o Dental Students & Hygienists - handy and incredibly thorough reference that is compact and easily reviewed on a daily basis o Dentists - what any professional office needs for reference while consulting patients, also leave guides in offices to look over while patients wait o Parents - can show kids where their adult teeth are hiding when losing teeth, plus to emphasize the importance of taking care of their mouth and teeth o Patient - use guide to locate sources of pain for reporting to your dentist
Illustrated Dental Embryology, Histology, and Anatomy by
Featuring detailed illustrations and full-color photographs, Illustrated Dental Embryology, Histology, and Anatomy, 3rd Edition, provides a complete look at dental anatomy, combined with dental embryology and histology and a review of dental structures. A clear, reader-friendly writing style helps you understand both basic science and clinical applications, putting the material into the context of everyday dental practice. Going beyond an introduction to anatomy, this book also covers developmental and cellular information in depth. Color photomicrographs make it easy to discern microscopic structures. Expert authors Mary Bath-Balogh and Margaret Fehrenbach provide an essential background in oral biology for dental hygiene and dental assisting students, including excellent preparation for the National Board Dental Hygiene Examination (NBDHE). Comprehensive coverage includes all the content needed for an introduction to the developmental, histological, and anatomical foundations of oral health. High-quality anatomical illustrations and full-color clinical and microscopic photographs enhance your understanding. An approachable writing style makes it easy to grasp and learn to apply the material. A logical organization separates the book into four units for easier understanding: (1) an introduction to dental structures, (2) dental embryology, (3) dental histology, and (4) dental anatomy. Summary tables and boxes provide quick, easy-to-read summaries of concepts and procedures and serve as useful review and study tools. Clinical Considerations boxes relate abstract-seeming biological concepts to everyday clinical practice. Learning outcomes at the beginning of each chapter clearly identify the information you are expected to absorb. Key terms open each chapter, accompanied by phonetic pronunciations, and are highlighted within the text A glossary provides a quick and handy way to look up terminology. A bibliography lists resource citations for further research and study. Student resources on the companion Evolve website enhance learning with practice quizzes including rationales and page-number references, case studies, a histology matching game, review/assessment questions, tooth identification exercises, and WebLinks to related sites. Updated and expanded evidence-based coverage includes topics such as caries risk, fetal alcohol syndrome, periodontal disease, thyroid hormones and disease, stem cells and dental pulp, and developmental defects associated with specific diseases and conditions. NEW color illustrations and photomicrographs add detail and enhance comprehension. NEW practice exercises on the companion Evolve website include quizzes containing 200 self-test questions with instant feedback to help you prepare for examinations.
Oral Anatomy, Histology and Embryology by
The latest edition of the now classic Oral Anatomy, Histology and Embryology continues to provide readers with all the information required to ensure a full understanding of these important subject areas as they relate to current dental practice. Maintaining the clear writing style and popular atlas-style format that characterized the phenomenal success of earlier editions, Oral Anatomy, Histology and Embryology, fifth edition, has been fully updated throughout with the latest research findings on a variety of essential topics. Containing a wealth of new illustrations, many of them previously unpublished, chapters now also come with helpful Overviews to summarize the topic and place it into wider context while l Learning Objectives help students focus on key areas. The latest edition also comes with an ONLINE PROGRAMME CONTAINING A WIDE SELECTION OF MCQs AND ADDITIONAL LEARNING ACTIVITIES DESIGNED TO HELP READERS TEST AND REINFORCE THEIR KNOWLEDGE. Oral Anatomy, Histology and Embryology will be ideal for all undergraduate and postgraduate dental students, especially candidates for the ORE and MJDF, and MFDS examinations. Written by dentists for dentists - authors who know exactly what students need for safe clinical practice! Contains full coverage of topics such as tooth eruption, tooth support, the effects of aging on teeth and associated soft tissues, periodontal regeneration, and the use of isotope analysis Includes sectional anatomy and functional anatomy (covering mastication, swallowing, speech, taste and olfaction, thermoreception) Many chapters include Clinical Considerations which explore associated pathological findings as well as other topics of consideration such as the use of local anaesthesia, temporomandibular joint disorders and malocclusion Explores bone structure and remodelling - including potential bone atrophy following tooth extraction, its relevance to orthodontic treatment and implantology, trauma and malignancy Rich with over 1300 images including schematic artworks, radiological images, electron-micrographs, cadaveric and clinical photographs, all specially selected to make learning and recall as easy as possible Contains a new photography collection and updated artwork program Overviews at the start of each chapter help summarize the topic and put it into wider context Learning Objectives at the end of chapters to help readers focus on essential knowledge requirements Chapters covering functional anatomy, enamel, alveolar bone, the temporomandibular, salivary glands, amelogenesis and dentinogenesis have been substantially reworked Tooth morphology photographs have been enlarged and new images included for pulp morphology Now comes with a helpful online program containing a selection of MCQs and other online learning exercises which allow the reader to test and reinforce their knowledge!
An Illustrated Guide to Oral Histology by
An Illustrated Guide to Oral Histology Learn more about the histological presentation of diseased and normal oral tissues with this high definition illustrated dental reference An Illustrated Guide to Oral Histology delivers a collection of high-definition histological and pathological images, presenting both diseased and normal oral tissues. The book provides over 200 high-magnification histomicrographs of oral tissues, as well as definitions and explanations of key identifying histological and pathological features of oral tissues. Readers will also benefit from explanations of the clinical significance of particular features, numerous images of ground sections, haemotoxylin- and eosin-stained sections, and electron images. It also includes core topics such as: An introduction to tooth development, including the bud, cap, early bell, and late bell stages A thorough exploration of enamel, dentin, cementum and dental pulp A discussion of the periodontal ligament, including alveolar crest fibers, horizontal, oblique, apical, and inter-radicular fibers, transseptal fibers, and gingival fibers A guide to alveolar bone, oral mucosa, and salivary glands Perfect for postgraduate dental students, An Illustrated Guide to Oral Histology will also be useful to undergraduate dental students, and those looking to improve their understanding of the microscopic structure of dental tissues and their pathologies.
WOELFEL'S DENTAL ANATOMY by
The book's detailed coverage of dental anatomy and terminology prepares students for success on national board exams, while up-to-date information on the application of tooth morphology to dental practice prepares them for success in their future careers. Updated throughout with the latest scientific and technological advances, the Ninth Edition features expanded content, new tooth identification labeling exercises, additional board-style learning exercises, and a substantially updated full color art and design program.
Behavioral Dentistry by
Behavioral Dentistry, Second Edition, surveys the vast and absorbing topic of the role of behavioral science in the study and clinical practice of dentistry. An understanding of social sciences has long been a central part of dental education, and essential for developing a clinician's appreciation of human behavior as it affects efficient dental treatment. This book gathers together contributions from leading experts in each of the major subspecialties of behavioral dentistry. Its aim is not merely to provide the student and clinician with a comprehensive review of the impressive literature or discussion of the theoretical background to the subject, but also with a practical guide to adapting the latest techniques and protocols and applying them to day-to-day clinical practice. This second edition of Behavioral Dentistry discusses biobehavioral processes, including the psychobiology of inflammation and pain, oral health and quality of life, saliva health, and hypnosis in dentistry. The book goes on to examine anxiety, fear, and dental and chronic orofacial pain, and then reviews techniques for designing and managing behavior change. It concludes with a section on professional practice, including care of special needs, geriatric, and diabetic patients, and interpersonal communication in dental education.
The Fearful Dental Patient by
The Fearful Dental Patient: A Guide to Understanding and Managing helps dental professionals understand the basics of fear, anxiety and phobias and the role these emotions play in creating negative behavior within the dental environment. The text contains a variety of modalities that help identify dental fear and phobia, as well as chair-side techniques and practical advice aimed at improving patient cooperation and ensuring treatment compliance. Chapter topics include the basic origins of patient fear and anxiety, how to indentify dental anxiety and varied approaches to managing fearful patients of any age. Approaches discussed employ behavioral, pharmacological, sedation and even hypnotic techniques, specifying combinations where required. Chapters also include coverage of a wide range of patients, including those with psychiatric comorbidities and special healthcare needs. The entire dental team will greatly benefit from the proven methods and practical guidance presented to better understand and treat fearful dental patients.
Rethinking Patient Safety by
The vast majority of healthcare is provided safely and effectively. However, just like any high-risk industry, things can and do go wrong. There is a world of advice about how to keep people safe but this delivers little in terms of changed practice. Written by a leading expert in the field with over two decades of experience, Rethinking Patient Safetyprovides readers with a critical reflection upon what it might take to narrow the implementation gap between the evidence base about patient safety and actual practice. This book provides important examples for the many professionals who work in patient safety but are struggling to narrow the gap and make a difference in their current situation. It provides insights on practical actions that can be immediately implemented to improve the safety of patient care in healthcare and provides readers with a different way of thinking in terms of changing behavior and practices as well as processes and systems. Suzette Woodward shares lessons from the science of implementation, campaigning and social movement methods and offers the reader the story of a discovery. Her team has explored an approach which could profoundly affect the safety culture in healthcare; a methodology to help people talk to each other and their patients and to listen through facilitated safety conversations. This is their story.
Cognitive Behavioral Therapy for Dental Phobia and Anxiety by
The first book to describe evidence-based treatment of dental phobia using brief CBT, based on the pioneering single-session treatment for specific phobias developed by Lars-G#65533;ran #65533;st. Brings together research, experience and techniques from clinical psychology and dentistry to describe evidence-based treatment of dental phobia in clinical and dental contexts Chapters describe epidemiology, diagnosis and differential diagnosis, symptoms, clinical characteristics and consequences, and aetiology of dental phobia Also covers related issues including intra-oral injection phobia, dental treatment of fearful children, and the use of medication to supplement psychological treatment of fear
Social and Behavioral Science for Health Professionals by
Social and Behavioral Science for Health Professionals examines various social and behavioral factors that affect health and illness, with a particular focus on how these phenomena inform clinical practice. The book introduces interdisciplinary insights from fields like sociology, psychology, and epidemiology to elucidate important and often problematic features of patient care routinely confronting physicians, nurses, and other allied health practitioners. Each chapter provides clear learning objectives and is organized around core concepts to facilitate clinicians' abilities to think in new and expanded ways about health and illness, as well as patient and professional interactions. The content explores the implications of a shifting epidemiological landscape; the critical roles of social factors as fundamental causes of health and disease; health disparities; the medicalization process and resulting changes in diagnostic patterns and expectations of practitioners; understandings of the illness experience of patients; interpersonal and interprofessional collaboration; clinical bioethics and the social psychology of ethical decision-making; and the significance of health system design and health policy. As a result, the book represents an important resource for improving patient care, particularly at a time when health is more intricately linked to social and behavioral conditions than ever before. Special Features of Social and Behavioral Science for Health Professionals: -Presents a genuinely interdisciplinary approach to various social and behavioral aspects of health. -Emphasizes the clinical implications of various social and behavioral science insights for health, illness, and patient care. -Addresses multiple dimensions of health and disease, from social conditions to disease epidemiology to the social psychology of illness experience and interpersonal communication. -Each chapter provides clear learning objectives that emphasize critical content. -Responds to the changing expectations in medical, nursing, and allied health education, which increasingly require training in the social and behavioral aspects of health and illness. -The Instructor's Manual includes a detailed grid that maps each chapter to the core competencies of various health care fields including medicine, nursing, physician assistant, dentistry, and more. A sample course syllabus is also included. Specific health professions included in the core competencies grid are: oLCME (allopathic medicine) oAAMC (allopathic medicine) oAACOM (osteopathic medicine) oADEA (dentistry) oCODA (dentistry) oARC-PA (physician assistants) oAACN (nursing) oACPE (pharmacy) oCCE (chiropractic) -Focusky and PowerPoint(R) presentations are available for each chapter. Focusky is a software package that allows instructors to provide dynamic presentations in class, and the authors have provided one presentation for each chapter.
Wright's Behavior Management in Dentistry for Children by
Guiding patient behavior is as important as ever for the practicing dentist, and the behavior of pediatric patients is perhaps the most challenging to manage, especially in today’s modern society characterized by its diversity and unlimited access to information. The Third Edition of Wright’s Behavior Management in Dentistry for Children delivers an up-to-date discussion of modern techniques for managing the behavior of pediatric dental patients. The book addresses the influence of family and parenting styles on children’s behavior and the factors that determine how children behave in the dental office. Pharmacological and non-pharmacological management techniques are described in depth, as are techniques for dealing with special needs patients. Clinical case scenarios are described throughout the book, with practical application of the taught principles. The final part of the book covers the dental environment¯training office personnel to manage children’s behavior, practical considerations for behavior guidance, and the effects of the physical dental office environment. The new edition adds brand-new information on parent management, discussing the unique characteristics of modern parents and millennials and cultural competence utilizing techniques such as motivational interviewing and empathetic listening, amongst other methods. New sections include the use of hypnosis and magic to guide children through their dental treatment. Wright’s Behavior Management in Dentistry for Children remains the leading book on the management of children’s behavior in the dental context. Readers will also benefit from the inclusion of: A thorough introduction to understanding key moments in child development as well as their behavior in the dental office An examination of establishing a dental home and non-pharmacologic approaches to behavior management Treatment of children with disabilities in the dental setting and tips to parents for proper homecare Understanding the rapidly evolving societal influence on the contemporary family and its impact on treating the pediatric patient How to deal with the Internet: information, misinformation, and negative online reviews Wright’s Behavior Management in Dentistry for Children is an essential reference for pediatric dentists, general dentists, dental students, and dental hygienists who frequently encounter child patients in their dental offices.
Resilience and Well-Being for Dental Professionals by
Resilience and Well-being for Dental Professionals Essential reading for dental professionals and other healthcare workers wanting to build emotional resilience and positive mental health Dentistry is a high-stress profession with elevated rates of anxiety, depression, burnout, suicidal thoughts and self-harm. Chronic workplace stress is a growing concern as it can severely damage the mental health of dental professionals and negatively impact their ability to provide appropriate care. Psychological interventions have been shown to greatly benefit the well-being and emotional resilience of the medical and healthcare community, yet resources that provide preventative tools are limited. Resilience and Well-being for Dental Professionals, is designed not only to combat occupational hazards in Dentistry, such as burnout and compassion fatigue, but also to build resilience, engagement at work and nurture positive mental health through a variety of evidence-based tools. This invaluable guide helps readers utilise tools from the science of well-being (Positive Psychology, Mindfulness, Cognitive Behavioural Therapy and Acceptance and Commitment Therapy), to create happier, thriving careers. It includes: Tools from resilience interventions to help dental professionals implement preventative habits and take steps towards positive mental health Focus on self awareness in recognizing burnout early Positive psychology and well-being exercises, customised for dental professionals, to help you meld together research and application: from journaling and creative exercises to nature-based and activities at work Measure and track well-being using psychological scales Manage difficult emotions, practice mindfulness and self-compassion, develop a culture of kindness and gratitude at work, utilise a growth mindset when upskilling, harness positive leadership and use strengths, with patients and at home Create habits that stick through applying the psychology of goal setting, behaviour change, motivation psychology, work-life harmony and happiness Written by a Positive Psychologist, and Dentist, with more than 12 years' clinical dentistry experience within a stressful NHS environment, Resilience and Well-being for Dental Professionals is a must-have resource for all dental students, hygienists, therapists, dentists, dental nurses, dental technicians, specialists and allied healthcare workers.
Topics in Dental Biochemistry by
Over the last 20 years, biochemistry and molecular biology have undergone a revolution that has affected our understanding of the oral cavity. Topics in Dental Biochemistry is primarily designed for students of dentistry who need to relate biochemistry and molecular biology to dentally related topics in physiology, nutrition, anatomy, histology, microbiology, and immunology. The book will also be of value for dental professionals, scientists, and practitioners of medicine who are interested in hard and soft tissue structure and disease. It provides the necessary basic scientific background for a clearer understanding of bone, tooth, saliva, and surrounding soft tissue research and also for an appreciation of how dental caries and periodontal disease might be better diagnosed and controlled in the future. Dentistry was developed to treat dental caries, but since the early 20th century it has increasingly been treating periodontal, traumatic and genetic diseases affecting tooth structure and attachment. Fluoridation is discussed at length. Other methods for controlling dental caries and new or suggested methods for controlling oral hygiene and periodontal disease are also discussed.
Handbook of Adhesives and Surface Preparation by
Handbook of Adhesives and Surface Preparation provides a thoroughly practical survey of all aspects of adhesives technology from selection and surface preparation to industrial applications and health and environmental factors. The resulting handbook is a hard-working reference for a wide range of engineers and technicians working in the adhesives industry and a variety of industry sectors that make considerable use of adhesives. Particular attention is given to adhesives applications in the automotive, aerospace, medical, dental and electronics sectors. A handbook that truly focuses on the applied aspects of adhesives selection and applications: this is a book that won't gather dust on the shelf Provides practical techniques for rendering materials surfaces adherable Sector-based studies explore the specific issues for automotive and aerospace, medical, dental and electronics
Clinician's Guide to the Diagnosis and Management of Tooth Sensitivity by
Tooth sensitivity, or dentin hypersensitivity, has a high prevalence among the general population and is a very common cause of visits to the dentist. This concise, easy-to-read guide provides the clinician with the most important information required for the correct diagnosis and effective management of dentin hypersensitivity. After discussion of theories regarding the underlying mechanisms, predisposing medical and dental conditions are reviewed. The route to an accurate diagnosis, based on determination of the precise cause, is then explained. A range of potential treatment approaches and their applications are discussed, including dentin blocking agents, nerve desensitization, restorative approaches and periodontal surgery. Preventive, at-home and in-office treatment modalities are all described and future treatments are also considered. Helpful flowcharts are included that will facilitate decision making.​
Global Diagnosis : a new vision of dental diagnosis and treatment planning by 
Dental Caries by
This book is a well-illustrated and comprehensive guide to the etiology, clinical manifestations, diagnosis, clinical management and prevention of dental caries. Current challenging problems in the field are analyzed and the latest research findings, presented. After an introductory chapter on tooth development, the relationships of biofilm and saliva to dental caries and the significance of the balance between demineralization and remineralization for the development of carious lesions are discussed. Subsequent chapters address the state of the art in diagnosis and treatment, the implications of disease burden for prevention and the association between systemic diseases and dental caries. Dental Caries: Principles and Management is intended for dental school students, practicing dentists and researchers in dentistry.
Comprehensive Occlusal Concepts in Clinical Practice by
Comprehensive Occlusal Concepts in Clinical Practice aims to provide a clear and thorough guide to the understanding and application of occlusal concepts in the dental practice, enabling dentists to gain a straightforward understanding of widely recognized occlusal principles and practices to engender longevity, predictability, and professional confidence in everyday dental procedures. Comprehensive Occlusal Concepts in Clinical Practice also features a comprehensive review of occlusal and periodontal literature, establishes occlusal principles and practice protocols as routine, and aids in developing the reader s critical ability to know when and when not to perform occlusal therapy. This is a unique book in its scope, thoroughness, and practicality, making occlusal concepts easily understood, yet also demonstrating the specific skills needed to perform the details of a physiologic occlusal scheme.
Understanding Dental Caries by
​This book thoroughly explains the biological background of dental caries and the formation of carious lesions, providing the reader with a sound basis for understanding the role and effectiveness of different therapeutic and preventive measures. Detailed information is presented on pathogenesis, ultrastructure, and diagnosis. All aspects of the carious process are covered, including development of the initial carious lesion limited to the enamel, evolution of the enamel carious lesion toward a dentin carious lesion, superficial and deep dentin lesions, and cervical erosions. Strategies for prevention and dental tissue regeneration are elaborated and both conventional therapies and minimally invasive and non-invasive treatment approaches are discussed. A separate section is devoted to dental fluorosis and the use of fluoridation and remineralisation agents. This scientifically focused and clinically relevant book, written by acknowledged experts in the field, will appeal to dentists seeking to extend their knowledge as well as to researchers, dental students, and other dental professionals.
Avoiding and Treating Dental Complications by
Complications from dental procedures are inevitable and encountered by all dental professionals. Avoiding and Treating Dental Complications: Best Practices in Dentistry is designed to address proper management of these situations in everyday practice. Covers a range of dental issues and complications found in daily practice Written by experts in each specialty Features tables and charts for quick information Includes clinical photographs and radiographs
Manual of Clinical Procedures in Dentistry by
A definitive manual covering everything you need to know about the core procedures in dentistry The Manual of Clinical Procedures in Dentistry comprehensively explains the core procedures in dentistry, how to do them, and the rationale that underpins them. Full of useful and easy-to-access information, it acts as a compendium of practical procedures in primary dental care, supporting students and dental practitioners in their daily professional and academic lives. This manual is a complete, practical guide to the delivery of effective, state of the art oral healthcare--the 'what, when, and how' of clinical practice. It compiles chapters written by expert clinicians on topics such as dental imaging, the management of dental pain, conscious sedation, operative dentistry, implant dentistry, oral medicine and surgery, paediatric dentistry, periodontics, prosthodontics, special care dentistry, dental trauma, aesthetic dentistry, and much more. Provides step-by-step guidance on procedures in primary dental care Comprehensive coverage of all dental disciplines, from endodontics to orthodontics Compiled by two highly experienced editors with contributions from expert authors Covers essential non-clinical areas, such as communicating with patients, obtaining valid consent, audit procedures, and handling of complaints The Manual of Clinical Procedures in Dentistry is an invaluable text for dental students and new graduates, as well as a definitive guide for the whole dental team.
Sports Dentistry by
Sports Dentistry: Principles and Practice is a comprehensive resource that addresses all aspects of this burgeoning field of dentistry. Provides a comprehensive manual that covers the fundamental principles and practice of sports dentistry Addresses all aspects of sports dentistry, including treatment of injuries, preventative measures, oral health and marketing and practice management Offers information on providing dental facilities at sporting arenas Presents suggestions for treating young children and the specific issues they present Includes a companion website with illustrative case studies
Laser Dentistry by
Laser Dentistry: Current Clinical Applications by the World Federation for Laser Dentistry (WFLD) is a comprehensive guide the state of the art, principles and practices of laser dentistry. This collection of articles were compiled by Professor Aldo Brugnera Junior DDS, MS, PhD and Professor Samir Namour, DDS, MS, PhD, is written for all those interested in the clinical use of laser technology related to dentistry, research, development and biology, and medicine and surgery. Topics include: Laser, history and physics; Laser periodontics; Laser applications in implantology; Laser in oral soft tissue surgery; The laser management of oral leukoplakias; Treatment of bone necrosis caused by biphosphonates, Treatment of vascular malformations; The role of lasers in caries prevention; Dentinal adhesion and cavity preparation; The power of the bubble Erbium laser generated cavitation; Pre-emptive dental anaesthesia by Nd: YAG photobiomodulation; Non-invasive diagnostic methods using lasers; Clinical use of laser/LED phototherapies; Laser photobiomodulation (PBM) with low level laser therapy (LLLT) in esthetic dentistry; Laser phototherapy & oral mucositis; Lasers in dentin dehypersensitivity; Photobiomodulation therapy and dentoalveolar derived mesenchymal stem cells; Dental bleaching without gel; Hard tissue modification, cavity preparation and caries removal using erbium lasers; Laser safety; Optical fluorescence; World Federation for Laser Dentistry (WFLD) progress and history.
The Dental Reference Manual by
This book is designed to meet the needs of both dental students and dentists by providing succinct and quickly retrievable answers to common dental questions. Students will find both that it clearly presents the particulars which should be familiar to every dentist and that it enables them to see the big picture and contextualize information introduced to them in the future. Practicing dentists, on the other hand, will employ the book as a daily reference to source information on important topics, materials, techniques, and conditions. The book is neither discipline nor specialty specific. The first part is wide ranging and covers the essentials of dental practice while the second part addresses individual specialties and the third is devoted to emergency dental treatment. Whether as a handy resource in the student s backpack or as a readily available tool on the office desk, this reference manual fills an important gap in the dental literature.
Caries Excavation by
Currently there is no reason, in most cases of cavitated caries lesions, to remove affected tissue. This book presents evidence-based research on the topic and provides assessments of diagnostic devices. It offers new insights into how a dentine carious cavity can be managed by either tissue removal or restoration. Methods for preserving dental tissue are presented and ample evidence highlights the need to seal with a quality restorative material. An update on how to conduct a randomized clinical trial is followed by a chapter on agreed upon terminology for supporting improved communication among oral health professionals around the world. This is a must-read for general practitioners, restorative specialists, dental students, and oral hygienists/therapists.
FUNCTIONAL AESTHETIC DENTISTRY: HOW TO ACHIEVE PREDICTABLE AESTHETIC RESULTS USING PRINCIPLES... OF A STABLE OCCLUSION. by
This book provides all the information needed by the dentist in order to understand functional occlusion and describes a coherent method that, through application of principles of form and function, allows the delivery of predictable, natural, and long-lasting aesthetic results. After clear explanation of the concepts of functional aesthetics, functional occlusion, and the envelope of function, the 12 stages of a complete examination are carefully set out, with accompanying rationale. Similarly, full guidance is provided on acquisition of appropriate diagnostic records, comprising perfect impressions, facebow transfer, centric relation bite record, and digital photographs. Further, a method for correct determination of the incisal edge position is presented, with explanation of the importance of this position to aesthetics, function, and phonetics. A step-by-step description of the treatment planning process is then provided, followed by guidance on preparation design and fabrication of restorations. Readers will find the book to be an invaluable aid to attainment of consistent aesthetic results based on stable occlusion.
Modern operative dentistry: Principles for clinical practice by
This book provides the theoretical knowledge required by students when learning how to diagnose oral diseases, plan treatment, and perform various types of dental restoration. It is also useful for clinicians wishing to update their treatment skills and broaden their understanding operative dentistry.Adopting an evidence-based approach, and in accordance with the philosophy of minimally invasive dentistry, it explains in detail the use of both classic and new restorative materials in various clinical situations. It also discusses the principles of smile analysis, as well the technique for esthetic composite restorations on posterior and anterior teeth, including direct and indirect veneers. In addition to richly illustrated, step-by-step descriptions of procedures, it offers essential information on basic topics, such as dental instruments and equipment, nomenclature and general principles of tooth preparation, isolation of the operating field, matrix and wedge systems, light curing, and pulpal protection. Furthermore it addresses the diagnosis of dental caries and tooth sensitivity of non-carious origin, like dentin hypersensitivity, dental erosion and cracked tooth syndrome, together with their treatment options. Also explaining the fundamental ergonomic principles of clinical practice, the book enables undergraduate students to embark on a successful professional career.
Practical Procedures in the Management of Tooth Wear by
New to the Practical Procedures in... series, Practical Procedures in the Management of Tooth Wear demonstrates a wide range of up to date clinical techniques in the practical management of tooth wear. Presented in an accessible and user-friendly format, the book summarises the key points of each procedure, complete with clinical photographs. Chapters outline the principles and procedures for each technique, offer clinical tips and advice, and include full references. Topics include patient assessment and diagnosis, treatment planning for localised and generalised tooth wear, the partially dentate patient, tooth wear monitoring, management, and maintenance. Created by an internationally-recognised team with both clinical and academic expertise, this valuable resource: Presents comprehensive, evidence-based coverage of the management of tooth wear Examines the epidemiology and etiology of tooth wear Covers practical aspects such as record taking, aesthetic evaluation, prevention, clinical occlusion and active monitoring Includes access to high quality instructional videos to further supplement the text. Practical Procedures in the Management of Tooth Wear is a unique source of information for general dental practitioners, senior undergraduate dental students, and postgraduates preparing for higher qualifications and training.
PIT AND FISSURE SEALANTS by
This book provides wide-ranging information on current clinical and scientific knowledge on the various aspects of fissure sealing. Trends in the epidemiology of caries are first examined, followed by thorough description of the morphology of pits and fissures and types of sealant. The role of sealants in the prevention of caries is discussed. Diagnostic parameters are presented, along with step-by-step descriptions of clinical procedures for fissure sealing. Chapters are also included on alternative techniques of fissure sealing, sealing of carious fissures, and therapeutic fissure sealing. The final chapter in the book focuses on the cost effectiveness of the procedure.
Tooth surfaces with pits and fissures are particularly vulnerable to caries development. Sealants were developed to help manage these sites of the tooth and safeguard the surfaces from decay. This book has been written by acknowledged experts in the field. It will be of value for all dental professionals seeking to deepen their understanding of current knowledge on the science and the clinical application of pit and fissure sealants.
Clinical Dentistry Daily Reference Guide by
CLINICAL DENTISTRY DAILY REFERENCE GUIDE The first and only practical reference guide to clinical dentistry Clinical dentistry involves the practice of preventing, diagnosing, and treating patients' oral health conditions. Clinical Dentistry Daily Reference Guide is a one-stop resource loaded with critical information for day-to-day decision making regarding a myriad of clinical scenarios. This invaluable resource saves time by eliminating the need to search through websites, textbooks, and phone apps to find answers. This book offers step-by-step assistance on health history treatment modifications, oral cancer screening, radiographic interpretation, treatment planning, preventive dentistry, periodontics, operative dentistry, endodontics, oral surgery, toothaches, crown and bridge, dentures, partials, implant crowns, occlusal guards, pharmacology, pediatric dentistry, nitrous sedation, and more. This comprehensive guide: Provides quick access to information in an easy-to-read bulleted format Includes hundreds of high-quality clinical images, illustrations, and tables Answers real-life patient questions Contains procedural steps including post-operative instructions, lab prescriptions, troubleshooting, and clinical pearls Features alphabetized medical conditions and treatment modifications, evidence-based guidelines including the dental traumatology guidelines, tables of common medications converted to pediatric dosages, and more. Helps dentists gain confidence in their decision making Clinical Dentistry Daily Reference Guide is a must-have book for all dental students and practicing dentists, both new and seasoned. Other dental professionals that will benefit from this book include dental educators, expanded function dental assistants, and dental hygienists.
Dental Management of Sleep Disorders by
DENTAL MANAGEMENT OF SLEEP DISORDERS A clinically focused, updated, and expanded edition of the leading resource on the dental management of sleep disorders The newly revised Second Edition of Dental Management of Sleep Disorders delivers a focused and authoritative exploration of the dentist's role in managing patients with sleep problems, especially sleep-related breathing disorders and bruxism. Full discussions of the use of appliances, overviews of current treatment modalities, and investigations of the relationship between sleep disorders and dental and orofacial features accompany detailed chapters on oral appliance therapy, pharmacological, and behavioral management of symptoms. The book includes a variety of revealing case studies that examine the treatment of different sleep disorders, as well as: Thorough introductions to the societal impact of sleep disorders and human sleep architecture and functional anatomy of the airway Comprehensive explorations of the pathophysiology and classification of sleep disorders and sleep disorders in the pediatric population Practical discussions of medical disorders related to obstructive sleep apnea and the dental and orofacial consequences of sleep-related breathing disorders In-depth examinations of the role and interaction of the dentist with the sleep physician and sleep study center Offering practical advice for diagnosis and treatment, Dental Management of Sleep Disorders, Second Edition is a valuable resource for dental practitioners as well as students.
Molar incisor hypomineralization: aclinical guide to diagnosis and treatment by
This book is a wide-ranging reference on current clinical and scientific knowledge regarding the various aspects of molar incisor hypomineralization (MIH). Background information is first presented on the structural properties of hypomineralized enamel, the prevalence of MIH, and potential etiological factors. Subsequent chapters focus on key considerations in clinical practice. Diagnostic criteria, classifications, and treatment strategies are discussed and detailed attention is devoted to potential associations between MIH and caries, the occurrence of hypomineralized primary teeth, and the knowledge and experience of dentists concerning MIH. In the last part of the book, the different treatment options are systematically presented and reviewed, covering pain control, prophylaxis and desensitization, fissure sealing, direct and indirect restorations, and extraction therapy. The cost-effectiveness of the available procedures is also considered. The book is written by acknowledged international experts in the field and will be an ideal source of up-to-date information and guidance for both dental professionals and postgraduate students.
GUIDE TO GOOD OCCLUSAL PRACTICE by
This book considers occlusion within the different disciplines of clinical dentistry, taking into account the challenges specific to each, in order to develop guidelines of good occlusal practice (GGOP). The GGOP for each discipline has benefited from an authoritative contribution of a recognised specialist in that field. Readers will find full description of what constitutes good occlusal practice in, for example, simple and advanced restorative dentistry, removable prosthodontics, the restoration of the worn dentition and implantology. It is clearly explained why and how the GGOP differ in the various branches of dentistry, the key point being that it is the support for the occlusal surfaces that determines GGOP. One of the foundations of this work is that an occlusion can only be judged by the tissue reactions to it: there is no such thing as an intrinsically bad occlusion or malocclusion.
Today it remains the case that many dentists feel that occlusion represents an important gap in their knowledge; indeed, some qualify with little more than the belief that “occlusion is important”. Their vulnerability in this area of clinical practice is confirmed when early cases fail to go as well as hoped. In providing comprehensive guidance on good occlusal practice in different contexts, this book will be of value for a wide range of dental practitioners.
Clinical Fundamentals of Esthetic Posterior Restorations by
This book is dedicated to the fundamentals of esthetic restorations. Many dentists and students often ask for a coherent, clinical, and applied resource after my lectures or teaching. Therefore, the focus of this edition is to provide students, teachers, and practicing colleagues with a comprehensive and evidence-based resource for esthetic restorations and its related disciplines. In this edition, the patient is examined to detect any caries, and the possible pulp treatments are evaluated and the carious posterior teeth and occlusal abrasions treated. Moreover, the principles and applications of glass ionomer and various types of light cure equipment are explained. Although the techniques, materials, and treatment options continue to evolve, an understanding of these principles and the ability to apply them are critical to providing the outstanding esthetic dental treatment expected by patients. The primary purpose of this book is to improve the clinical practice of general dentists carrying out restorative and esthetic treatments. It is, in effect, a summary of the author's own experience, studies, and therapeutic findings, intended as a topic-by-topic reference guide for use by other dentists seeking to provide the best treatment for their patients.
Treatment dilemmas for vulnerable patients in oral health: clinical and ethical issues by
This book equips the reader with a sound understanding of the treatment of neglected and vulnerable patients in the dental office. It offers a comprehensive multidisciplinary approach to atraumatic carious treatment, minimal intervention dentistry, TMJ affections and nutritional consequences. Maintaining proper oral health includes managing of oral hygiene, healthy diet and seeking for a treatment when needed. Untreated dental disease can have a significant adverse impact on the health, wellbeing and quality of life. This book helps practitioners to understand and address the needs of dental neglected adults and children, and guide them through prevention procedures, diagnostics and treatment planning. Important techniques like physiologic impression for removable denture, single crown impression, digital planning and prosthodontic bridges are explained, and socio-demographic and economic changes in Oral Health are discussed. The comprehensive coverage of the topic and the evidence based references make this book a must have for dental practitioners.
OXFORD HANDBOOK OF CLINICAL DENTISTRY by
For almost thirty years, the tried, tested, and much-loved Oxford Handbook of Clinical Dentistry has been the indispensable guide to the dental world for dental students, trainees, practitioners, and nurses. Returning for its seventh edition it has been re-energized by new editors and a specialist contributor team, while still retaining its comprehensive, clear, and concise style.The Handbook has been completely updated and brings you a wealth of information to keep pace with fast-moving areas of dental practice. This new edition includes a brand new chapter on dental implants, the new classification for periodontal disease, the latest key guidelines, protocols, and guidance on therapeutics, dental materials, and digital dentistry, as well as expanded information on topics such as ethics, dental law, and practice management. Designed for daily use, this Handbook ensures you will have everything you need at your fingertips whether on the go, in clinical sessions, or for revision.
