Handbook of Adhesives and Surface Preparation by
Handbook of Adhesives and Surface Preparation provides a thoroughly practical survey of all aspects of adhesives technology from selection and surface preparation to industrial applications and health and environmental factors. The resulting handbook is a hard-working reference for a wide range of engineers and technicians working in the adhesives industry and a variety of industry sectors that make considerable use of adhesives. Particular attention is given to adhesives applications in the automotive, aerospace, medical, dental and electronics sectors. A handbook that truly focuses on the applied aspects of adhesives selection and applications: this is a book that won't gather dust on the shelf Provides practical techniques for rendering materials surfaces adherable Sector-based studies explore the specific issues for automotive and aerospace, medical, dental and electronics
Clinician's Guide to the Diagnosis and Management of Tooth Sensitivity by
Tooth sensitivity, or dentin hypersensitivity, has a high prevalence among the general population and is a very common cause of visits to the dentist. This concise, easy-to-read guide provides the clinician with the most important information required for the correct diagnosis and effective management of dentin hypersensitivity. After discussion of theories regarding the underlying mechanisms, predisposing medical and dental conditions are reviewed. The route to an accurate diagnosis, based on determination of the precise cause, is then explained. A range of potential treatment approaches and their applications are discussed, including dentin blocking agents, nerve desensitization, restorative approaches and periodontal surgery. Preventive, at-home and in-office treatment modalities are all described and future treatments are also considered. Helpful flowcharts are included that will facilitate decision making.​
Global Diagnosis : a new vision of dental diagnosis and treatment planning by 
Dental Caries by
This book is a well-illustrated and comprehensive guide to the etiology, clinical manifestations, diagnosis, clinical management and prevention of dental caries. Current challenging problems in the field are analyzed and the latest research findings, presented. After an introductory chapter on tooth development, the relationships of biofilm and saliva to dental caries and the significance of the balance between demineralization and remineralization for the development of carious lesions are discussed. Subsequent chapters address the state of the art in diagnosis and treatment, the implications of disease burden for prevention and the association between systemic diseases and dental caries. Dental Caries: Principles and Management is intended for dental school students, practicing dentists and researchers in dentistry.
Comprehensive Occlusal Concepts in Clinical Practice by
Comprehensive Occlusal Concepts in Clinical Practice aims to provide a clear and thorough guide to the understanding and application of occlusal concepts in the dental practice, enabling dentists to gain a straightforward understanding of widely recognized occlusal principles and practices to engender longevity, predictability, and professional confidence in everyday dental procedures. Comprehensive Occlusal Concepts in Clinical Practice also features a comprehensive review of occlusal and periodontal literature, establishes occlusal principles and practice protocols as routine, and aids in developing the reader s critical ability to know when and when not to perform occlusal therapy. This is a unique book in its scope, thoroughness, and practicality, making occlusal concepts easily understood, yet also demonstrating the specific skills needed to perform the details of a physiologic occlusal scheme.
Understanding Dental Caries by
​This book thoroughly explains the biological background of dental caries and the formation of carious lesions, providing the reader with a sound basis for understanding the role and effectiveness of different therapeutic and preventive measures. Detailed information is presented on pathogenesis, ultrastructure, and diagnosis. All aspects of the carious process are covered, including development of the initial carious lesion limited to the enamel, evolution of the enamel carious lesion toward a dentin carious lesion, superficial and deep dentin lesions, and cervical erosions. Strategies for prevention and dental tissue regeneration are elaborated and both conventional therapies and minimally invasive and non-invasive treatment approaches are discussed. A separate section is devoted to dental fluorosis and the use of fluoridation and remineralisation agents. This scientifically focused and clinically relevant book, written by acknowledged experts in the field, will appeal to dentists seeking to extend their knowledge as well as to researchers, dental students, and other dental professionals.
Avoiding and Treating Dental Complications by
Complications from dental procedures are inevitable and encountered by all dental professionals. Avoiding and Treating Dental Complications: Best Practices in Dentistry is designed to address proper management of these situations in everyday practice. Covers a range of dental issues and complications found in daily practice Written by experts in each specialty Features tables and charts for quick information Includes clinical photographs and radiographs
Manual of Clinical Procedures in Dentistry by
A definitive manual covering everything you need to know about the core procedures in dentistry The Manual of Clinical Procedures in Dentistry comprehensively explains the core procedures in dentistry, how to do them, and the rationale that underpins them. Full of useful and easy-to-access information, it acts as a compendium of practical procedures in primary dental care, supporting students and dental practitioners in their daily professional and academic lives. This manual is a complete, practical guide to the delivery of effective, state of the art oral healthcare--the 'what, when, and how' of clinical practice. It compiles chapters written by expert clinicians on topics such as dental imaging, the management of dental pain, conscious sedation, operative dentistry, implant dentistry, oral medicine and surgery, paediatric dentistry, periodontics, prosthodontics, special care dentistry, dental trauma, aesthetic dentistry, and much more. Provides step-by-step guidance on procedures in primary dental care Comprehensive coverage of all dental disciplines, from endodontics to orthodontics Compiled by two highly experienced editors with contributions from expert authors Covers essential non-clinical areas, such as communicating with patients, obtaining valid consent, audit procedures, and handling of complaints The Manual of Clinical Procedures in Dentistry is an invaluable text for dental students and new graduates, as well as a definitive guide for the whole dental team.
Sports Dentistry by
Sports Dentistry: Principles and Practice is a comprehensive resource that addresses all aspects of this burgeoning field of dentistry. Provides a comprehensive manual that covers the fundamental principles and practice of sports dentistry Addresses all aspects of sports dentistry, including treatment of injuries, preventative measures, oral health and marketing and practice management Offers information on providing dental facilities at sporting arenas Presents suggestions for treating young children and the specific issues they present Includes a companion website with illustrative case studies
Laser Dentistry by
Laser Dentistry: Current Clinical Applications by the World Federation for Laser Dentistry (WFLD) is a comprehensive guide the state of the art, principles and practices of laser dentistry. This collection of articles were compiled by Professor Aldo Brugnera Junior DDS, MS, PhD and Professor Samir Namour, DDS, MS, PhD, is written for all those interested in the clinical use of laser technology related to dentistry, research, development and biology, and medicine and surgery. Topics include: Laser, history and physics; Laser periodontics; Laser applications in implantology; Laser in oral soft tissue surgery; The laser management of oral leukoplakias; Treatment of bone necrosis caused by biphosphonates, Treatment of vascular malformations; The role of lasers in caries prevention; Dentinal adhesion and cavity preparation; The power of the bubble Erbium laser generated cavitation; Pre-emptive dental anaesthesia by Nd: YAG photobiomodulation; Non-invasive diagnostic methods using lasers; Clinical use of laser/LED phototherapies; Laser photobiomodulation (PBM) with low level laser therapy (LLLT) in esthetic dentistry; Laser phototherapy & oral mucositis; Lasers in dentin dehypersensitivity; Photobiomodulation therapy and dentoalveolar derived mesenchymal stem cells; Dental bleaching without gel; Hard tissue modification, cavity preparation and caries removal using erbium lasers; Laser safety; Optical fluorescence; World Federation for Laser Dentistry (WFLD) progress and history.
The Dental Reference Manual by
This book is designed to meet the needs of both dental students and dentists by providing succinct and quickly retrievable answers to common dental questions. Students will find both that it clearly presents the particulars which should be familiar to every dentist and that it enables them to see the big picture and contextualize information introduced to them in the future. Practicing dentists, on the other hand, will employ the book as a daily reference to source information on important topics, materials, techniques, and conditions. The book is neither discipline nor specialty specific. The first part is wide ranging and covers the essentials of dental practice while the second part addresses individual specialties and the third is devoted to emergency dental treatment. Whether as a handy resource in the student s backpack or as a readily available tool on the office desk, this reference manual fills an important gap in the dental literature.
Caries Excavation by
Currently there is no reason, in most cases of cavitated caries lesions, to remove affected tissue. This book presents evidence-based research on the topic and provides assessments of diagnostic devices. It offers new insights into how a dentine carious cavity can be managed by either tissue removal or restoration. Methods for preserving dental tissue are presented and ample evidence highlights the need to seal with a quality restorative material. An update on how to conduct a randomized clinical trial is followed by a chapter on agreed upon terminology for supporting improved communication among oral health professionals around the world. This is a must-read for general practitioners, restorative specialists, dental students, and oral hygienists/therapists.
FUNCTIONAL AESTHETIC DENTISTRY: HOW TO ACHIEVE PREDICTABLE AESTHETIC RESULTS USING PRINCIPLES... OF A STABLE OCCLUSION. by
This book provides all the information needed by the dentist in order to understand functional occlusion and describes a coherent method that, through application of principles of form and function, allows the delivery of predictable, natural, and long-lasting aesthetic results. After clear explanation of the concepts of functional aesthetics, functional occlusion, and the envelope of function, the 12 stages of a complete examination are carefully set out, with accompanying rationale. Similarly, full guidance is provided on acquisition of appropriate diagnostic records, comprising perfect impressions, facebow transfer, centric relation bite record, and digital photographs. Further, a method for correct determination of the incisal edge position is presented, with explanation of the importance of this position to aesthetics, function, and phonetics. A step-by-step description of the treatment planning process is then provided, followed by guidance on preparation design and fabrication of restorations. Readers will find the book to be an invaluable aid to attainment of consistent aesthetic results based on stable occlusion.
Modern operative dentistry: Principles for clinical practice by
This book provides the theoretical knowledge required by students when learning how to diagnose oral diseases, plan treatment, and perform various types of dental restoration. It is also useful for clinicians wishing to update their treatment skills and broaden their understanding operative dentistry.Adopting an evidence-based approach, and in accordance with the philosophy of minimally invasive dentistry, it explains in detail the use of both classic and new restorative materials in various clinical situations. It also discusses the principles of smile analysis, as well the technique for esthetic composite restorations on posterior and anterior teeth, including direct and indirect veneers. In addition to richly illustrated, step-by-step descriptions of procedures, it offers essential information on basic topics, such as dental instruments and equipment, nomenclature and general principles of tooth preparation, isolation of the operating field, matrix and wedge systems, light curing, and pulpal protection. Furthermore it addresses the diagnosis of dental caries and tooth sensitivity of non-carious origin, like dentin hypersensitivity, dental erosion and cracked tooth syndrome, together with their treatment options. Also explaining the fundamental ergonomic principles of clinical practice, the book enables undergraduate students to embark on a successful professional career.
Practical Procedures in the Management of Tooth Wear by
New to the Practical Procedures in... series, Practical Procedures in the Management of Tooth Wear demonstrates a wide range of up to date clinical techniques in the practical management of tooth wear. Presented in an accessible and user-friendly format, the book summarises the key points of each procedure, complete with clinical photographs. Chapters outline the principles and procedures for each technique, offer clinical tips and advice, and include full references. Topics include patient assessment and diagnosis, treatment planning for localised and generalised tooth wear, the partially dentate patient, tooth wear monitoring, management, and maintenance. Created by an internationally-recognised team with both clinical and academic expertise, this valuable resource: Presents comprehensive, evidence-based coverage of the management of tooth wear Examines the epidemiology and etiology of tooth wear Covers practical aspects such as record taking, aesthetic evaluation, prevention, clinical occlusion and active monitoring Includes access to high quality instructional videos to further supplement the text. Practical Procedures in the Management of Tooth Wear is a unique source of information for general dental practitioners, senior undergraduate dental students, and postgraduates preparing for higher qualifications and training.
PIT AND FISSURE SEALANTS by
This book provides wide-ranging information on current clinical and scientific knowledge on the various aspects of fissure sealing. Trends in the epidemiology of caries are first examined, followed by thorough description of the morphology of pits and fissures and types of sealant. The role of sealants in the prevention of caries is discussed. Diagnostic parameters are presented, along with step-by-step descriptions of clinical procedures for fissure sealing. Chapters are also included on alternative techniques of fissure sealing, sealing of carious fissures, and therapeutic fissure sealing. The final chapter in the book focuses on the cost effectiveness of the procedure.
Tooth surfaces with pits and fissures are particularly vulnerable to caries development. Sealants were developed to help manage these sites of the tooth and safeguard the surfaces from decay. This book has been written by acknowledged experts in the field. It will be of value for all dental professionals seeking to deepen their understanding of current knowledge on the science and the clinical application of pit and fissure sealants.
Clinical Dentistry Daily Reference Guide by
CLINICAL DENTISTRY DAILY REFERENCE GUIDE The first and only practical reference guide to clinical dentistry Clinical dentistry involves the practice of preventing, diagnosing, and treating patients' oral health conditions. Clinical Dentistry Daily Reference Guide is a one-stop resource loaded with critical information for day-to-day decision making regarding a myriad of clinical scenarios. This invaluable resource saves time by eliminating the need to search through websites, textbooks, and phone apps to find answers. This book offers step-by-step assistance on health history treatment modifications, oral cancer screening, radiographic interpretation, treatment planning, preventive dentistry, periodontics, operative dentistry, endodontics, oral surgery, toothaches, crown and bridge, dentures, partials, implant crowns, occlusal guards, pharmacology, pediatric dentistry, nitrous sedation, and more. This comprehensive guide: Provides quick access to information in an easy-to-read bulleted format Includes hundreds of high-quality clinical images, illustrations, and tables Answers real-life patient questions Contains procedural steps including post-operative instructions, lab prescriptions, troubleshooting, and clinical pearls Features alphabetized medical conditions and treatment modifications, evidence-based guidelines including the dental traumatology guidelines, tables of common medications converted to pediatric dosages, and more. Helps dentists gain confidence in their decision making Clinical Dentistry Daily Reference Guide is a must-have book for all dental students and practicing dentists, both new and seasoned. Other dental professionals that will benefit from this book include dental educators, expanded function dental assistants, and dental hygienists.
Dental Management of Sleep Disorders by
DENTAL MANAGEMENT OF SLEEP DISORDERS A clinically focused, updated, and expanded edition of the leading resource on the dental management of sleep disorders The newly revised Second Edition of Dental Management of Sleep Disorders delivers a focused and authoritative exploration of the dentist's role in managing patients with sleep problems, especially sleep-related breathing disorders and bruxism. Full discussions of the use of appliances, overviews of current treatment modalities, and investigations of the relationship between sleep disorders and dental and orofacial features accompany detailed chapters on oral appliance therapy, pharmacological, and behavioral management of symptoms. The book includes a variety of revealing case studies that examine the treatment of different sleep disorders, as well as: Thorough introductions to the societal impact of sleep disorders and human sleep architecture and functional anatomy of the airway Comprehensive explorations of the pathophysiology and classification of sleep disorders and sleep disorders in the pediatric population Practical discussions of medical disorders related to obstructive sleep apnea and the dental and orofacial consequences of sleep-related breathing disorders In-depth examinations of the role and interaction of the dentist with the sleep physician and sleep study center Offering practical advice for diagnosis and treatment, Dental Management of Sleep Disorders, Second Edition is a valuable resource for dental practitioners as well as students.
Molar incisor hypomineralization: aclinical guide to diagnosis and treatment by
This book is a wide-ranging reference on current clinical and scientific knowledge regarding the various aspects of molar incisor hypomineralization (MIH). Background information is first presented on the structural properties of hypomineralized enamel, the prevalence of MIH, and potential etiological factors. Subsequent chapters focus on key considerations in clinical practice. Diagnostic criteria, classifications, and treatment strategies are discussed and detailed attention is devoted to potential associations between MIH and caries, the occurrence of hypomineralized primary teeth, and the knowledge and experience of dentists concerning MIH. In the last part of the book, the different treatment options are systematically presented and reviewed, covering pain control, prophylaxis and desensitization, fissure sealing, direct and indirect restorations, and extraction therapy. The cost-effectiveness of the available procedures is also considered. The book is written by acknowledged international experts in the field and will be an ideal source of up-to-date information and guidance for both dental professionals and postgraduate students.
GUIDE TO GOOD OCCLUSAL PRACTICE by
This book considers occlusion within the different disciplines of clinical dentistry, taking into account the challenges specific to each, in order to develop guidelines of good occlusal practice (GGOP). The GGOP for each discipline has benefited from an authoritative contribution of a recognised specialist in that field. Readers will find full description of what constitutes good occlusal practice in, for example, simple and advanced restorative dentistry, removable prosthodontics, the restoration of the worn dentition and implantology. It is clearly explained why and how the GGOP differ in the various branches of dentistry, the key point being that it is the support for the occlusal surfaces that determines GGOP. One of the foundations of this work is that an occlusion can only be judged by the tissue reactions to it: there is no such thing as an intrinsically bad occlusion or malocclusion.
Today it remains the case that many dentists feel that occlusion represents an important gap in their knowledge; indeed, some qualify with little more than the belief that “occlusion is important”. Their vulnerability in this area of clinical practice is confirmed when early cases fail to go as well as hoped. In providing comprehensive guidance on good occlusal practice in different contexts, this book will be of value for a wide range of dental practitioners.
Clinical Fundamentals of Esthetic Posterior Restorations by
This book is dedicated to the fundamentals of esthetic restorations. Many dentists and students often ask for a coherent, clinical, and applied resource after my lectures or teaching. Therefore, the focus of this edition is to provide students, teachers, and practicing colleagues with a comprehensive and evidence-based resource for esthetic restorations and its related disciplines. In this edition, the patient is examined to detect any caries, and the possible pulp treatments are evaluated and the carious posterior teeth and occlusal abrasions treated. Moreover, the principles and applications of glass ionomer and various types of light cure equipment are explained. Although the techniques, materials, and treatment options continue to evolve, an understanding of these principles and the ability to apply them are critical to providing the outstanding esthetic dental treatment expected by patients. The primary purpose of this book is to improve the clinical practice of general dentists carrying out restorative and esthetic treatments. It is, in effect, a summary of the author's own experience, studies, and therapeutic findings, intended as a topic-by-topic reference guide for use by other dentists seeking to provide the best treatment for their patients.
Treatment dilemmas for vulnerable patients in oral health: clinical and ethical issues by
This book equips the reader with a sound understanding of the treatment of neglected and vulnerable patients in the dental office. It offers a comprehensive multidisciplinary approach to atraumatic carious treatment, minimal intervention dentistry, TMJ affections and nutritional consequences. Maintaining proper oral health includes managing of oral hygiene, healthy diet and seeking for a treatment when needed. Untreated dental disease can have a significant adverse impact on the health, wellbeing and quality of life. This book helps practitioners to understand and address the needs of dental neglected adults and children, and guide them through prevention procedures, diagnostics and treatment planning. Important techniques like physiologic impression for removable denture, single crown impression, digital planning and prosthodontic bridges are explained, and socio-demographic and economic changes in Oral Health are discussed. The comprehensive coverage of the topic and the evidence based references make this book a must have for dental practitioners.
OXFORD HANDBOOK OF CLINICAL DENTISTRY by
For almost thirty years, the tried, tested, and much-loved Oxford Handbook of Clinical Dentistry has been the indispensable guide to the dental world for dental students, trainees, practitioners, and nurses. Returning for its seventh edition it has been re-energized by new editors and a specialist contributor team, while still retaining its comprehensive, clear, and concise style.The Handbook has been completely updated and brings you a wealth of information to keep pace with fast-moving areas of dental practice. This new edition includes a brand new chapter on dental implants, the new classification for periodontal disease, the latest key guidelines, protocols, and guidance on therapeutics, dental materials, and digital dentistry, as well as expanded information on topics such as ethics, dental law, and practice management. Designed for daily use, this Handbook ensures you will have everything you need at your fingertips whether on the go, in clinical sessions, or for revision.
Dental Caries by
Authoritative and comprehensive resource on the disease process and clinical management of dental caries. Dental Caries: The Disease and Its Clinical Management, 4th Edition maintains the same focus on high-level coverage of the disease etiology and process, clinical assessment and prognosis and wider public health issues connected with dental caries management, including an enhanced focus on caries control. Fully updated throughout, the chapters that discuss theory emphasize how the knowledge can be applied in both the clinic and in the public health domain to improve oral health. The new edition also includes up-to-date and validated diagnostic and management options for caries whilst ensuring that the tools provided allow practitioners to serve the needs of different socio-economic populations. All sections are complimented by high-quality color photographs, clear line drawings and references for further study. With contributions from international experts in research and clinical practice, Dental Caries includes information on: Acquisition and establishment of the oral microbiome, metabolism of the microbiome in caries, and the essential role of saliva for dental caries and erosion Initiation and progression of dental caries in dental hard tissues and the relationship between sugar, diets, and dental caries The caries control concept and consequences for minimally invasive management of caries Caries control in children, adults, and the elderly, including root surface caries and oral health care in the elderly Implication of caries control for the dental profession, including best practices for assessment of lesion activity, prognosis and risk for developing dental caries Dental Caries, Fourth Edition is an unrivaled guide to tooth decay, and a must-have resource for undergraduate and postgraduate students in dental public health, paediatric and restorative dentistry as well as all practitioners looking to develop their clinical skills.
Practical applications in dental occlusion: analog to digital by
Occlusion is often boiled down to the “tap, tap, and grind” of articulating paper marks dentists perform daily. Appointments are littered with fillings, single crowns, bridges, or more extensive fixed prosthodontics work. And for 90% of those appointments, occlusion can be largely ignored until it’s time to get out the articulating paper at the end of the appointment. Tap, tap, and grind. Drill the red marks. However, sometimes the patient’s current bite won’t allow the necessary treatment, and a new occlusion must be built and transferred to the lab. But how? Should the patient determine the maxillomandibular position (ie, show where they feel comfortable), or should scientific principles be applied to find the physiologic maxillomandibular relationship? How do you capture the new occlusion for the lab? That’s where this book comes in―to teach you a simplified concept of occlusion that can help you perform predictable and successful treatment. The book is divided into two parts: Part 1 outlines guiding principles and a simplified model of occlusion, and Part 2 features specific situations you will come across as you diagnose, treatment plan, and treat your patients’ cases. Author Michael Radu breaks everything down and offers explanatory analogies to help you conceptualize the principles of occlusion in a way you can understand and apply to daily practice for the benefit of your patients. Contents: 1. Why Do We Need Occlusion? 2. Practical Principles of Occlusion 3. The Occlusion Formula 4. There Are Only Two Bites 5. Clinical Techniques and Principles of Interocclusal Recordings 6. Techniques for Examination and Treatment Planning 7. Techniques for Interocclusal Registration of an Existing Occlusion 8. Techniques for Interocclusal Registration for a New Occlusion 9. Techniques for Equilibration of the Occlusion 10. Techniques for Recording the Envelope of Function 11. Techniques for Communicating with the Laboratory 12. Analog Versus Digital Techniques for Interocclusal Registration
Direct restorations: clinical steps for working protocols by
This book is a practical guide to direct restorative treatments, offering multiple examples of alternative techniques for the quick and predictable resolution of cases. It gives an overview of all stages of patient management including technical support, ergonomics, working technique, and workflow of the treatment stages. Up-to-date guidance is provided on tools, materials, diagnosis, and planning protocols as well as on pre-restorative procedures. Layering and morphology modelling techniques of the anterior and posterior teeth are covered in detail and methods for direct proximal wall restoration are explained. Readers will find guidance on restorative techniques for cervical lesions, injection moulding, occlusal adaptation, and the management of failures. The book is a valuable companion explaining all the stages needed to achieving good, predictable, and long-term prognostic results in an efficient manner with respect to clinical principles proven and validated by academic studies.
