Dental Health Services Library: eBooks; Endodontia

Endodontic Pain by Paul A. Rosenberg Endodontic pain is a complex symptom that poses unique challenges for the dentist. This book is a concise, well-structured guide to the assessment and treatment of patients who present with endodontic pain, in which step-by-step descriptions are complemented by informative images and flow charts. The advantages, disadvantages, and significance of specific diagnostic and treatment procedures are clearly described, as is a pharmacotherapeutic approach to the prevention and treatment of pain. In addition, the causes and biological basis of endodontic pain are explained and guidance is provided on further strategies for pain prevention. The crisp narrative, efficient design and visual detail are notable features of this book that will make it an ideal chairside resource for the clinician and a dependable reference for the student.

Problem Solving in Endodontics by James L. Gutmann; Paul E. Lovdahl Problem Solving in Endodontics, 5th Edition, by James L. Gutmann and Paul Lovdahl, offers updated techniques and an evidence-based approach to the most common procedures performed at chairside. Ideal for both endodontists and general dentists, this thoroughly revised reference combines the precision of quality endodontic care with achievable and pain-free outcomes for the patient. Each chapter has been carefully designed so that you'll quickly grasp the anatomy, the instruments needed, and what procedures should be performed -- all supplemented by boxed clinical case examples and tips. Going beyond problem solving, it also addresses the major issues in diagnostic, anatomic, restorative, periodontic, traumatic, and surgical aspects of tooth retention. Provides chairside guidance for the endodontic procedures most commonly performed by endodontists and general dentists. Entire text has expanded concepts that are verified in new drawings and clinically relevant cases. Integrates new technologies and materials into every chapter that when applied result in predictable and optimal outcomes. Establishes clear parameters for the retention of teeth. Correlates optimal patient outcomes with an evidence-based approach. Reflects the practical expertise of renowned endodontics authority and past President of the AAE, Dr. James Gutmann, and endodontics specialist, Dr. Paul Lovdahl. Every chapter has been completely rewritten, and concepts have been integrated for quick recognition, understanding and application to common, everyday challenges. The Surgery section has been expanded with new case studies, and more in-depth coverage of indications and applications for surgeries, such as crown-lengthening technique, periradicular surgery to manage perforations and resorptive defects, and other endodontically-related problems. The approach of this text is to teach the clinician how to recognize and analyze the problems encountered and to synthesize the data for realistic and successful outcomes. To help you make the best clinical decisions, this edition contains new chapters and new sections on diagnosis and treatment planning that presents crucial information on Radiographic Images, Differential Diagnosis of Bony Defects, Diagnosis of Treatment Failure, and Diagnosis of Non-odontogenic Pain. Retains a succinct, user-friendly format with a new design that includes hundreds of NEW high-quality clinical photos and art. Offers broader coverage of tooth trauma with established treatment planning outcomes. ALL references are updated and annotated in the text. Provides a practical, problem-solving approach with new chapters on: radiographic technique and interpretation; impact of pulp disease on the periodontium and vice versa; treatment failure and tooth retention; how to differentiate problems of pulp/periodontium from those that are non-odontogenic in nature; vital pulp therapy; and more.

The Dental Pulp by Michel Goldberg (Editor) This book provides a detailed update on our knowledge of dental pulp and regenerative approaches to therapy. It is divided into three parts. The pulp components are first described, covering pulp cells, extracellular matrix, vascularization and innervation as well as pulp development and aging. The second part is devoted to pulp pathology and includes descriptions of the differences between reactionary and reparative dentin, the genetic alterations leading to dentinogenesis imperfecta and dentin dysplasia, the pulp reaction to dental materials, adverse impacts of bisphenol A and the effects of fluorosis, dioxin and other toxic agents. The final part of the book focuses on pulp repair and regeneration. It includes descriptions of various in vitro and in vivo (animal) experimental approaches, definition of the pulp stem cells with special focus on the stem cell niches, discussion of the regeneration of a living pulp and information on new strategies that induce pulp mineralization.

Clinical Cases in Endodontics by Takashi Komabayashi A problem-based text that presents a wide range of real cases in endodontics Clinical Cases in Endodontics presents actual clinical cases, accompanied by academic commentary, that question and educate the reader about essential topics in endodontic therapy. It begins with sets of cases illustrating the most common diagnoses and the steps involved in preparing a treatment plan. Subsequent chapters continue in this style, presenting exemplary cases as the basis of discussing various treatment options, including nonsurgical root canal treatment, re-treatment, periapical surgery, internal and external resorption, emergencies and trauma, and treating incompletely developed apices.  The progression from common to increasingly challenging clinical cases enables readers to build their skills, aiding the ability to think critically and independently. The Clinical Cases series is designed to recognize the centrality of clinical cases to the profession by providing actual cases with an academic backbone. Clinical Cases in Endodontics applies both theory and practice to real-life cases in a clinically relevant format. This unique approach supports the trend in case-based and problem-based learning, thoroughly covering the full range of endodontic treatment. Unique case-based format supports problem-based learning Promotes independent learning through self-assessment and critical thinking Covers all essential topics within endodontics Presents numerous illustrations and photographs throughout to depict the concepts described Clinical Cases in Endodontics is an ideal resource for students mastering endodontic treatment, residents preparing for board examinations, and clinicians wanting to learn the most recent evidence-based treatment protocols.

Disinfection of Root Canal Systems by Nestor Cohenca Clean root canal systems are essential for successful endodontic treatment. With contributions from leading endodontists from around the world, Dr. Nestor Cohenca here presents the etiology of endodontic disease caused by the endodontic biofilm and all therapies available to predictably disinfect the root canal system, thus increasing successful endodontic outcomes. Disinfection of Root Canal Systems: The Treatment of Apical Periodontitis is an evidence-based manual that describes root canal anatomy, the endodontic biofilm, and the role of disinfection before presenting the most up-to-date methods of irrigation and disinfection. Individual chapters are devoted to each method, such as positive pressure irrigation, apical negative pressure irrigation, sonic activation, photodynamic therapy, laser technology, and ozonization and electrochemical activation. Clinical photographs throughout show proper irrigation and disinfection techniques.

Endodontics: Principles and Practice by Torabinejad, Mahmoud ENDODONTICS: PRINCIPLES AND PRACTICE, 4th Edition is an essential scientific and clinical building block for understanding the etiology and treatment of teeth with pulpal and periapical diseases. You'll easily understand and learn procedures through step-by-step explanations accompanied by full-color illustrations.

Common Complications in Endodontics by Priyanka Jain (Editor)

Endodontology at a Glance by Alix Davies; Federico Foschi; Shanon Patel A practical and colourful introductory guide, Endodontology at a Glance covers all the essential topics (diagnosis, endodontic therapy, pain management and outcome of treatment) as well as the recent developments that comprise the field of endodontology. Written by experts in the field, the book explores the causes and sequelae of endodontic disease and offers suggestions for taking an effective patient history. New addition to the At a Glance series covering a core area of dentistry Review style makes for the ideal revision companion Includes access to a companion website with MCQs for self-assessment and downloadable images for use in teaching  

The Principles of Endodontics by Shanon Patel (Editor); Justin J. Barnes (Editor) The Principles of Endodontics, Third Edition is a contemporary and easy-to-read guide on why and how to carry out safe and effective endodontic treatment. Fully revised and updated, the third edition applies endodontic theory to clinical practice in a pragmatic and user-friendly way.This comprehensive guide covers the core areas of endodontics, from embryology of the dentine-pulp complex to restoration of the endodontically treated tooth. The new edition includes advice on how to solve problems that can occur during treatment, and new self-assessment questions. Fully revised,the "How to" sections provide current step-by-step guidance. With added colour photographs and line drawings, the book reflects the latest available material and equipment, and highlights interesting clinical cases.The Principles of Endodontics, Third Edition is the essential text for undergraduates and a useful reference for recent graduates as well as established clinicians who want to refresh their knowledge to continue their professional development.

Endodontic Materials in Clinical Practice by Josette Camilleri (Editor) Endodontic Materials in Clinical Practice Endodontic Materials in Clinical Practice delivers a much-needed comprehensive and clinically oriented reference to the materials used in endodontic practice. It provides complete details on the properties of the materials required for specific techniques in order to help in the selection of the appropriate materials and improve patient outcomes. Comprehensive in scope and filled with helpful illustrations, the book covers endodontic materials used from the pulp to the root-end. In addition, the text considers the location and technique for each of the materials presented. Designed to be a practical and accessible reference, the book is organised by specific clinical procedure. Presents an illustrated guide to all materials used in endodontic practice Focuses on the clinical application for each material Explains why specific materials are used Includes information on how to select the correct material Considers locations and techniques in making material decisions Written for specialist endodontists and residents, dental material specialists, post-graduate students, general dentists, and dentistry students, Endodontic Materials in Clinical Practice is an essential resource for selecting the right materials for specific techniques.

Clinical Atlas of Retreatment in Endodontics by Viresh Chopra (Editor) CLINICAL ATLAS OF RETREATMENT IN ENDODONTICS Explore a comprehensive pictorial guide to the retreatment of root canals and failed endodontic cases with step-by-step advice on retreatment management Clinical Atlas of Retreatment in Endodontics delivers an image-based reference to the management of failed root canal cases. It provides evidence-based strategies and detailed clinical explanations to manage and retreat previous endodontically failed cases. It contains concrete evidence-based and practical techniques accompanied by full-colour, self-explanatory clinical photographs taking the reader through a journey of successful management of the failed clinical cases. Using a variety of clinical cases, the book demonstrates why and how endodontic failures occur, how to prevent them, and how to manage them in clinical practice. It also emphasises on evaluating the restorability and prognosis of the tooth in order to make a proper case selection for providing retreatment. This book also discusses the various factors that can help the clinician to make a case for nonsurgical or surgical retreatment. Readers will benefit from the inclusion of clinical cases that provide: A thorough introduction to perforation repair, with a clinical case that includes the repair of pulpal floor perforation caused due to excessive cutting of the floor of the pulp chamber An explanation of various factors for instrument separation, supported with a case that includes the removal of a fractured instrument Practical discussions of instrument retrieval, with a case that includes a fractured instrument at the apical third of mandibular molar A step wise pictorial description for guided root canal therapy Selective root canal treatment as a treatment option for retreatment of failed endodontic cases A detailed clinical description for how to explore and modify the endodontic access cavity for locating extra/missed canals Perfect for endodontists, endodontic residents, and general dentists, Clinical Atlas of Retreatment in Endodontics is also useful for undergraduate dental students and private practitioners who wish to improve their understanding of endodontic retreatment and are looking for a one-stop reference on the subject.

TREATMENT OF ENDODONTIC INFECTIONS by JOSE F. SIQUEIRA JR; ISABELA N. ROCAS Apical periodontitis is one of the most common inflammatory diseases that affect humans and is caused by microbial infection of the dental root canal system. A thorough understanding of the etiology and pathogenesis of apical periodontitis is essential for high-quality endodontic practice based on a solid scientific foundation. The first section of this book deals with microbiologic and pathophysiologic aspects of the different manifestations of apical periodontitis, while the second section describes the best evidence for predictable treatment and prevention of the disease. Clinical techniques and protocols to treat endodontic infections are described in detail. This new edition boasts a team of renowned authorities in the field that contribute state-of-the-art evidence about the biology and practice of the endodontic treatment of teeth with infected root canals. The content is supplemented with numerous full-color illustrations and radiographs. This book is a definitive guide to those involved with the prevention and treatment of endodontic infections.

Conservative Treatment of Pulp Tissue: Indications, Materials and Techniques by Francine Benetti Faria (Editor) Dental pulp is a loose, vascularized connective tissue located within the walls of dentin. This tissue plays an important role in tooth longevity, whose functions are formative, sensitive, nourishing and defensive. Pulp exposure can be caused by several factors, such as a carious lesion or tooth fracture, leading to inflammation of the pulp tissue, which can result in necrosis if intervention is not performed quickly. Conservative treatments may be indicated when removal of the carious lesion results in pulp exposure in a young primary or permanent tooth, with normal pulp or reversible pulpitis, or after accidental pulp exposure.This book addresses the physiology and pathology of pulp tissue in order to communicate the importance, indications, and techniques of conservative treatments to be performed, especially in young patients, as well as the most suitable biomaterials.

PRECLINICAL ENDODONTICS;VISUAL GUIDE by CARLOS FERRARI This manual is a guide to laboratorial endodontics, for consultation by academics and dentists as support material for undergraduate and specialization courses in endodontics. Chapter 1. Armamentarium Chapter 2. Anatomy and access Chapter 3. Endodontic preparation Chapter 4. Obturation

Management of endodontic complications: from diagnosis to prognosis by Torabinejad, Mahmoud; Sabeti, Mohammad Endodontic treatment generally has high success and survival rates, but like any discipline, complications can occur at any time—during diagnosis and treatment planning, access preparation, cleaning and shaping, obturation and restoration, as well as nonsurgical or surgical treatment. Ideally, the best way to manage potential errors is to have strategies in place to prevent them and eliminate risks, but equally importantly, clinicians must be able to diagnose and manage errors when they do occur. Based on decades of experience performing root canal treatment, these endodontic leaders explain their systematic approach for gathering pertinent medical and dental information, performing necessary tests, and analyzing the information to make informed decisions. This book guides readers through common errors and risk factors, recommendations for preventing mishaps, and methods to manage these challenges so clinicians can ultimately achieve results that provide long-term comfort, function, and esthetics for the patient. From diagnosis to prognosis, this book has you covered at any stage of endodontic treatment.

Vital Pulp Treatment by Henry F. Duncan (Editor); Ikhlas A. El-Karim (Editor) Vital Pulp Treatment A comprehensive reference work covering all aspects of vital pulp treatments in clinical practice Vital Pulp Treatment offers a comprehensive overview of existing and developing vital pulp therapies, the science that underpins them as well as their clinical applications. Preserving dental pulp tissue is critical to oral health and vital pulp treatments are designed to maintain, repair, and regenerate this tissue. With a focus on clinical practice, this book begins with the diagnosis and causes of pulpitis before elaborating on the application of vital pulp treatment after trauma, caries, or dental procedures. Later chapters cover a variety of extent treatment modalities including caries removal, pulpotomy, direct or indirect pulp capping and regenerative endodontic therapies. Vital Pulp Treatment readers will also find: Clinical photographs to support and highlight key parts of the text Detailed discussion of topics including pulp diagnostics, deep caries, and pulp exposure management, as well as controversial and clinically relevant discussions Dedicated treatment of each therapeutic modality with a summary of the state of the art in each case Outcome measures and follow-up guidelines Rooted in evidence-based dentistry and robust scientific research, Vital Pulp Treatment is ideal for dentists, endodontists, restorative dentists, and dental students looking for information on this critical component of modern minimally-invasive dentistry.

Endodontics review by Blicher, Brooke; Pryles, Rebekah Lucier; Lin, Jarshen The field of endodontics has seen significant developments since the first edition of this book was published in 2016. Evidence-based standards evolve as the literature changes, and practitioners must adapt their clinical practice accordingly. The second edition of this study guide―known in some circles as "The Orange Book"―has been updated based on new peer-reviewed journal articles, position statements, and guidelines, and revisions are reflected in the current treatment protocols for pulpal and periapical diseases as well as traumatic dental injuries, cracked and fractured teeth, and resorptive dental injury. ies. Each chapter concludes with an extensive bibliography of the scientific literature for further reference. Whether this book is supplementing your predoctoral or postdoctoral endodontics curriculum or guiding your self-study in general dental or specialty practice, know you will be at the forefront of the field.

CLINICAL ENDODONTICS by Blicher, Brooke; Pryles, Rebekah Lucier; Lin, Jarshen This straightforward clinical manual covers everything dentists need to know about basic endodontics. The essentials of endodontic examination and diagnosis, pharmacology, surgical and nonsurgical treatment, vital pulp therapy, emergency treatment, complication management, and more are all reviewed here. The quick guide accompanying the main text is an invaluable reference tool, providing step-by-step instructions for performing procedures and lists of required materials to ensure a well-stocked clinic.