EndNote: Getting Started

• EndNote libraries are made up of two parts: the .enl file and the .Data folder. These two parts must be kept together, both are needed for the library to work correctly.
   
• EndNote libraries should be kept on your computer's hard drive. Storing and editing libraries on a network drive can lead to corruption and performance issues.
   
• EndNote libraries should never be worked on in cloud-syncing folders such as DropBox, OneDrive, SharePoint, Box, Teams, SugarSync, etc. Syncing folders corrupt EndNote libraries over time. While you can use the service to keep a backup copy or share a compressed copy of your database file(s), we do not recommend opening and/or using the database from that location.  If you have your database files saved to SharePoint, Teams or any cloud storage, we recommend you copy the files to another location on your computer or remote drive before you open them.  See this Knowledge page for help.
   
• Uninstall your previous version of EndNote before installing a new version.
   
• References in EndNote libraries can be synchronized between desktop and laptop computers, the online library, and an iPad using EndNote Sync.
   
• EndNote Do's and Don'ts

Once you have installed EndNote, you can create your own personal library of references to articles, books and other materials you have collected during your research. You can then select and insert references from your library into a word document by means of a toolbar which the EndNote program adds to your Word program. EndNote will create an in-text citation for the reference and also create the bibliography at the end of the document. These entries can be configured to conform to any bibliographic style you choose.

Getting references into your personal library

• Type the references into your library manually
• Download the references from electronic databases such as Embase, PsycInfo, PubMed/Medline, Emcare, Web of Science etc
• Capture references for books from a library catalogue you have searched using EndNote (such as the WA Health Libraries catalogue)
   

Cite While You Write (CWYW): getting in-text citations and bibliographic references into your Word document

• Search your EndNote library for the reference by author or keyword from the EndNote toolbar in Word and insert it into your Word document
• Insert page numbers into an in-text citation using the EndNote toolbar in Word
• Suppress author and/or date in specific in-text references by using the EndNote toolbar in Word
• Make your bibliography conform to specific referencing styles such as APA, Harvard or Vancouver - or you can format references as endnotes or footnotes without ever retyping your references
  
  Cite While You Write: Insert Citation
  
  Cite While You Write: Insert Selected Citations
  
  Cite While You Write: Edit & Manage Citations
  
  Cite While You Write: Configure Bibliography